We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay no complaints :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Basilea
Ranked #352 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay no complaints :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews we were worried but all turned out well in the end, from reading other reviews I think the issue is with the sister hotel. The reception lady was lovely and always made is smile, the hotel was very old and 'classic' but 100% clean! I didn't see any dirt or dust throughout the stay. The room was warm and small, and although it was a twin room the two beds were pushed together to make a double and it was in no way uncomfortable. Breakfast was limited but for the price we didn't mind. City tax was €8 for the two nights stay. Hotel was located a short walk for everything so great location! Would be happy to go back. Although wifi would have been nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kickasskingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciations about our hotel. We always endeavour to ensure you the best service we can. Looking forward to welcoming you the next time.
Kind regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    88
    41
    72
See reviews for
41
159
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple from australia who for the first time was venchering to venice. As we are younger than the average hotel-goer our expecations are not very high. Hotel basilea is a short (odd) walk from the station of venice. As soon as we arrived the hotel staff (1 lady) instanstly directed us to another hotel all the way back into the city centre.... Is this a good start? We had booked our stay on hostelworld
And at the time of the booking it had nothing mentioned about being transferred to another hotel. The lady at the other hotel denied that this happened then she lied to us about our breakfast which we had pay for. The hotel that we had been moved to was also in our opinion of a much lower standard and as we classified it, a 'matchbox'. I cannot reccomend hotel basilea nor can i say to avoid it. This is just how we were treated.

Helpful?
2 Thank lucachizz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiene. Here we want to explain what is really happened: in your reservation was written that, in case of technical problems (like the restoration of the Hotel), the same reservation might be transferred to a sister hotel; we suggest our customers to read carefully all the informations before to make the booking. In fact, maybe, you were attracted by the very favorable price and so you not read all the informations which were well specified. At last, you had not a actual stay at the Hotel Basilea, so your review is not founded: you stayed at a sister hotel associated to the Basilea. We pray you to stay at the Hotel and to take advantage of the services before to give a judgement on the Hotel.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Compton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we was expecting something quite nice, seen as it was a 3 star hotel and the pictures on the internet looked impressive. But to our disapointment when we walked through the doors it was like a 1 star hotel, the hotel receptionist was very rude and smarmy he didnt even show us to our room not only that but he decided to charge us £30 city tax when we had already paid for everything online and it was not mentioned anywhere in the small print. When we got in our hotel room the floors where damp, we had asked for a double bed but to our discust we found 2 single beds pushed together to make a double. When we woke up in the morning we BOTH had these weird red rashes on our skin whiched caused much concern!! There was a tv in there but did not work, Also there was only 1 working plug socket in the whole room and no knobs on the draws. Then to add insult to injury we was under the impression we was going to have a shower but instead we got a bath and a shower head attached to the bath. As we got in bed we also noticed that the chandilere that was right above the bed was dangling by a wire from the celling about our heads!!! Very Dangerous by the looks of it. The walls were s thin we could even hear when people was running the bath next door and hurd nearly every word that they was saying. When we went down to complain we just got fobbed off be him saying that we only have single beds incase bigger parties stay. room service was out of the question and the breakfast was appaulling, and the vending machines they did have were both broke. All in all the hotel was horrendous but we didnt let it spoil out holiday venice is a beautifull place. And as for the location it was ok but on the description on there website it said only 10mins walk to St. Marks Square deffinatly not more like 1 hour walk! We will deffinatly be coming back but NOT to this hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay out of the Anexx
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Customer,
We read with disappointment your negative review. We would like to inform you and all the readers of Tripadvisor that the Hotel Basilea has benefited of a major renovation, to solve also the problems raised by you and to improve in other aspects.
As you should have known, the city tax is paid by all the guests of the Venetian hotels, and it's a tax levied by the city of Venice, that shall levy through the hotel.
The rest of your comment is inconceivable, evidently influenced by the intention to show the hotel in a bad light, also with using slanderous imaginated particulars (for example, "red rushes"...).
We are ready and willing to accept the right and correct observations, but not this kind of malevolent and tendentious attacks.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Eastern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Short distance from S. Lucia railwaystation and had possibility to storage your lugagge after checking out. Not so far from Rialto bridge or San Marco square, good walking distances. We stayed in Venice two days and didn't need any waterbuses or -taxis.

The room was a bit worn out but quiet and decent. The furniture were old-fashioned but quite characteristic. Breakfast was okay - even eggs, cereals and muesli were available. The receptionist was kind and helpful and could speak english properly.

We stayed there only one night but could have been stayed few more. It was okay and good value for your money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on what appears to have been an enjoyable stay for you. We read with pleasure your appreciations concerning our location, our breakfast and our staff. Besides, we have made a great restoration of the Hotel, so we are waiting for you during your next Venetian stay, also to show you the results.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
293 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

right on the canal side, very close to train station and the water buses to major sites, within easy walking distance of st marks square. we stayed 2 nights, 1 night in the hotel and the 2nd night they lost our booking and so had to move to the annex. main hotel room was a twin room and very well maintained, shower was a bit crazy! i would not recomend a room in the annex, we stayed end of october the room was cold and heating could not be put on "due to budget cuts" according to the receptionist. ensuite bathroom, very small bath with a strange step in it, with a shower head you had to hold as didn't stay upright.the room and bathroom were both generally worn and tired looking. annex is only across the street from main hotel. breakfast had a good selection of cereal, pastries etc, usual european style breakfast.overall a good stay but would avoid a room in the annex. good value for money. do not go when there is high waters as hotel location means you have to wade through the water to the main train station, also get woken by the flood siren at 6am!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you underline the comfortable location of the hotel, well linked to transports and main ways, but in a quiet area.
As you noticed, there's a clear difference between the Hotel Basilea (the central building where is the reception) and the dependancy (the building on street's other side): the first one belongs to three stars category, while the second has a classification of two stars category (and it explains also the style difference of the rooms assigned).
We are please that you liked the breakfast, in particular the selection of pastries.
Then, we want to clarify that the heating is switched off at a certain hour of night, and comes switched on just a few hours later, so the customers go to sleep and find, at their awakening, the room warm.
With regard to flooding: the Hotel Basilea hasn't real problems with it; however, the purchase of wellies permits tourists, generally, to move easier around Venice (especially during the Winter months).
Finally, we apologize for your booking disadvantage: maybe, the next time, you may send an email to ascertain that the reservation is occured.
We send you Kind regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

One night stay prior to embarking on an Adriatic Cruise that left from Venice. We stayed in the room that was pictured on ebookers.com. It was exactly as shown so no surprises. It was clean and comfortable although a bit worn looking. The room was at the end of a long hallway with an opening window into an enclosed courtyard -- very quiet the entire night.The fellow at the desk was friendly and helpful with directions; a challenge all by itself for those of you who have tried to traverse the maze of streets in Venice. The breakfast was served in a comfortable dining room with windows overlooking a canal. It was a typical continental breakfast with plenty of choice served with delicious Italian coffee. The location was TOPS! An easy 10 minute walk to San Marcos; 5 minutes to the train station and People Mover and 2 minutes to the Grand Canal.
We took the bus from theVenice Airport to the bus terminal (30 mins.) and next pulled our luggage to the Hotel. Be prepared to haul your luggage over 2 sets of bridges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for one night with friends.our room was a loft room 140 which was quiet but small. Our friends in 136 had a nicer room but much less sleep. WiFi is only next to lobby, and 3 Euro per 30 minutes. Great location for the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#328 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#335 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#161 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#325 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#269 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#184 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Property: Hotel Basilea
Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing