We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great independent hotel - full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Ranked #27 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a great hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Venice. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. We weren't too sure what to expect and to be honest the photos on Expedia don't do justice to what a beautiful little spot this is. I'd booked a standard room but we ended up with a slight canal view over the river (an unexpected bonus!) the furnishings in the room were all very unique (it was like sleeping in a clean and trendy antique shop - much more exciting that you're average big chain hotel with identical furniture throughout the room).

Comfy beds. Good shower / bath. Good location for getting around Venice. Breakfast selection was small but did the job perfectly.

I've stayed in Venice before and compared to other hotels would say this is by far the best value - we can't wait to visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: Room number 7 - has a slight canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 464 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My mom and I stayed for two nights at Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli and had a great experience. The staff were all very nice and attentive. The breakfast selection in the mornings was minimal but enough to hold you over until lunch time. It was super convenient to use the hotel's dock and have a private water taxi take you to and from the airport. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The street view is mysterious and hides a pleasant surprise. The hotel Locanda ai Santi Apostoli is found on the upper floors of an ancient palace (google palazzo Michiel Venezia) which has waterfront access and beautiful views of the Grand Canal, including Rialto and Ca' Pesaro.
The hotel is a family business and staff are kind and helpful.
The décor is homely and clean and the breakfast more than adequate.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimfroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a hotel with a bit of character. Small with helpful and friendly staff on the third floor of an old building and right beside the Grand Canal. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and more than adequate for our needs. The continental breakfast was good. We were fortunate to be there at the time of the Regatta and the view of this on the Grand Canal from the hotel balcony was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central location.

Room Tip: You can choose a more expensive room overlooking the Grand Canal but as we spent most of the day exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Loved the hotel. It was centrally situated, but quiet. The room was comfortable and clean and staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. I would put it at more than 3 * - we have stayed in worse 4 star hotels. It was small and felt homely and pleasant.
The only neagtive was that we had difficulty finding it as it was on the third floor of a building, without an obvious frontage. We had to ask in two other hotels and took an hour to find it. Make sure you have good directions and a map before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is located in an ancient palace on the Grand Canal of Venice. We arrived with the public vaporetto and the "bus station" was really near which made the hotel easy to find. The room was great, and the living room of the hotel was very charming, with its beautiful view on the Rialto bridge and the Grand Canal. San Marco's place is at 15 minutes walk. The location of the hotel is great because there is less tourists in the area than in the very center. Staff was really helpful and kind !
We will return and recommend this place. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efeenotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved our stay at Locanda ai Santi Apostoli in Venice. We stayed in the Family room, which was really two big rooms with a queen sized bed, a tv and a fridge in each room. The washroom had plenty of towels, which was important to four women travelling together! The breakfast was great and the receptionists were very helpful with instructions, directions, holding our luggage etc. You can easily walk to the attractions and there are lots of shops and restaurants nearby. There is a small grocery store about a fifteen minute walk away, where you can buy drinks to keep in the fridges in the room. Although expensive by Canadian standards, this hotel was half the price of others that I checked in Venice. My only negative comments are that the water temperature fluctuates quite a bit in the shower, which might be an issue if you have young children and we never received the 10 % discount for staying 4 days because of a computer error. The mangement was nice enough to wire the money to us in Canada, but we lost $20 through the banking fees.

Take the # 1 Vaporetti (boat) when you arrive and it is only a five minute walk (with no stairs) to the hotel. We bought a pass on the boat for 24 hours and then just walked around after that. There are lots of small stairs to climb over the canals, but my mom is 80 years old and she managed well. My daughter and niece bought the Rolling Venice pass from the building at the bottom of the stairs at the train station, so their 3 day passes for the vaporetti were really inexpensive. The girls took the boat to the beach at Lido and loved their day there. Prebook the "secret Itinerary" tour at the palace before you leave home if you don't want to miss it. The hotel is a 20 - 25 minute walk to the train station if you decide to take a day trip to Verona to see the colliseum or Romeo and Juliette's balcony. It's easiest and cheapest to book the train from the kiosks at the train station. If you want to see the opera in Verona, you will have to stay over because you can't catch a train back to Venice that night. You can take a private water-taxi straight from the hotel to the airport when you leave Venice or take the vaporetti if you want a cheaper option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanddollar2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#15 of 479 in Venice
599 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#16 of 479 in Venice
786 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#14 of 479 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 479 in Venice
1,126 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Corte Antica
Residenza Corte Antica
#1 of 479 in Venice
445 reviews
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#33 of 479 in Venice
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli

Address: Cannaregio 4391/A - Strada Nuova, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $138 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing