We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bartolomeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bartolomeo
Ranked #149 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found it easily following the hotel's website directions. This hotel was in the centre of everything and about 1-2 mins walk to the Rialto bridge. Venice is easy to navigate as there are signs on just about every corner telling you which way to the major sights. It was great to find a hotel in San Marco for this price.

We had a very clean and spacious triple room with wifi. The breakfast was included and was more than adequate, they will even make jugs of cappuccino and bring them to your table. There was a safe in the room which was appreciated, and the staff offered to carry our bags upstairs for us. The staff on duty during most of our stay were fantastic, and very helpful - even looking up alternative routes to the airport and planning our walk to the water bus stop in St. Marks's with the least amount of bridges for our luggage.

The only downside to this hotel was that the walls are paper thin (but hey, it's Europe) and that it can be a bit noisy from the bar / courtyard around the corner. The last thing is that the hairdryer is more like a vacuum cleaner. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maplepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    214
    62
    21
    5
See reviews for
98
228
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a really old building down a small calle... Walk past the public wc and the bar down the back ally to find entrance. Central location makes it ideal to soak in the atmosphere of the city. There is some noise from the bar and the floors are all marble so footsteps echo. However I did not go to venice to lie in bed and sleep so this didn't bother us. Hotel desk manned 24 hours although you sometimes need to ring the bell to get in. Staff were really helpful about how to get about. Also able to leave cases which was useful as we had a late flight on checkout. Breakfast was basic. Rolls, cheese, ham, cake, cereal, yoghurt, fruit with coffee... All bought in stuff but served the purpose. We stayed for 4 days. Room was fine and kept spotless. Bathroom was small but adequate. Location was the key plus sign. We caught the alilaguna straight from the airport to Rialto which was ideal for the hotel and cost 23E return. This takes about an hour. There were plenty of reasonably priced places to eat nearby. When I go back to venice I would stay at this hotel again. It offered us everything we wanted on this type of holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank janzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Me and my partner have just arrived home from staying at the Hotel Bartolomeo from the 23rd Oct to the 26th Oct, The hotel is a brilliant location just situated a 5 minute walk to the Famous Venice Bridge a 10 minute walk from St marcs square, It just a brilliant location for a Hidden gem, the Hotel is fairly hidden so you may need a walking map app to find it as there are many little side ally's/ streets to go down, but its fairly easy to get to and from once you find it!! we were in Room 15 which is up the first flight of stirs, the only thing I would say about our room is that its located directly opposite the kitchen, which the maids start using from 6am to set up for breakfast at 8am, now if your normally an early risers like we were its fine, but I would not stay in this room if you like your lay in's as it get very loud with all the plates/ cutlery and also they use a very loud coffee machine in the mornings which goes straight through the walls. But for us it was fine as we are early risers, and also the hotel is connected to a little bar right next door so you do also hear the delivery of the barrels/ beer in the morning. The room are quite basic but we also had breakfast included which s continental including pastries, juices and cakes. and always fresh coffee at each table, breakfast for us was fine, and it always filled us up, but if you like your full English or pancakes then you may possibly want to get breakfast out in the mornings. The hotel was always clean and tidy, the one thing we did forget about was the tax per night which is 2Euros each night which was 1euro per person, so defiantly remember to keep a few euros back depending on how many of you there are and also how many nights you are staying. The water taxi is the best way to get from the airport to Venice, you come straight out of the airport turn left and the harbour is a 5 minute walk to the dock, each boat has a different sign which lists all the different stops to get off at, the best stop to get off at for this hotel is the boat going to Rialto, they also announce on the boat when they are pulling into it, so your know where to get off and plus is right next to the Venice bridge so you will see it clearly with all the tourists! when your inside the airport just by the exit doors there's a massive counter that says "PUBLIC TRANSPORT TIKETS" and that's where you buy your tickets for the water taxi(boat) its either 27euros for one way or 57 euros for a 30 day ticket which we got, so that way you don't need to worry at buying another one for your return journey. But overall venice is juts fabulous and the hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all the best parts including all of the shops, restaurants and bars. would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

As we checked in and after carting our luggage up multiple stairs around Venice to get to the hotel, the hotel attendant rudely stated that the hotel is 2 stars and we can carry our own luggage up the stairs to our room. He then followed us ( 2 women with 25kg luggage each) up 2 flights of stairs, laughing. Moreover, the hotel is extremely noisy with staff laughing and talking at early hours of the morning, with no consideration for guests. Not impressed. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived late in Venice and we were very tired from travelling from France.upon arrival we were greeted by John Paul who works the night shift front desk.he quickly got us checked in and helped us with our luggage up 5 flights of stairs.Then spent time telling us where to go and gave us a map.He answered all our questions and checked the train schedule for us and helped me with the wifi set up.He was so happy and cheerful and so refreshing to get that kind of customer service after all the snotty waiters in Paris. He made our night in Venice a lot better then we expected.he is a great asset to the Hotel Bartolomeo!!

Room Tip: This is a hotel that is a great location,right beside the Rialto bridge. The rooms are very small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfleisch64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone was helpful, the place was clean enough, the location is excellent once you find it, but this is definitely a budget hotel at 4 star prices. There's no lift, breakfast is minimal, it's a very old place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JudithAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights! Extremely friendly and helpful staff! Bedroom simple but adequate for us. Great location and would definitely stay again!!! Hotel tricky to find at first - make sure you have the map!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#124 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#99 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#60 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#169 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bartolomeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bartolomeo

Property: Hotel Bartolomeo
Address: Sestiere San Marco 5494, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bartolomeo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bartolomeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartolomeo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing