We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price.”
Review of Hotel Bartolomeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bartolomeo
Ranked #137 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Venice was our next stop post to Switzerland. We reached Venice in the evening and finding the hotel was a bit hard until we referred the directions provided on the hotel's site.The hotel is just 10 minutes walk from St. Mark's and just 3 minutes from Rialto's bridge where the ferry stops.

The room was big with an extra bed [apart from the double bed] and AC installed.The bathroom was small but neat. Our room was on the third floor and they do not have lifts , so climbing up with all the luggage was tough. However, I did see the hotel guy helping an old couple with the luggage to their room, so you could request for the same if needed :)

The breakfast was standard with some breads, juices, tea and yogurt.They entertained our request for early breakfast on the day of checkout which really helped.They do keep luggage for sometime after you checkout.

Our room had 2 windows looking out to the narrow alley which has the entrance. [I don't think any of the rooms have a canal view]. The tip is , do carry the direction diagram provided on hotel's website, it will be of real help.

Venice is beautiful. It pleasantly amuses you to see the city submerged in water and the ability of people to ornate it in their unique way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_UnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is a bit hard to find but mainly because you lose faith in venetian maps really quickly, if you stick with the Hotel's diagram and directions you will find this little gem. Location is perfect right at the Rialto and less than 10 minutes walk to St Mark's. some really great food close by (usual Venetian rules apply - keep out of the tourist areas for best value). we too were on 4th floor and with 4 cases to carry felt like an assault course, but staff happy to help.

Trick for breakfast seems to be get in early, breakfast room is quite small and soon fills up. We had three nights at Bartolomeo and would return and recommend without reservation

Room Tip: No lifts anyway, so just consider the luggage weight versus floor ratio and perhaps aim for floor sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Venice was our first stop on a two week Italy vacation. We flew into Venice and arrived jet lagged and disoriented, which made finding this hotel extremely difficult. However, once we arrived, this hotel was perfect for our needs. Affordable by Venetian standards, we paid a total of €220 for a two night stay.

Our room was larger than I expected it to be, and we had a private bathroom (ladies take note: this blow dryers are terrible and our converter did not work here). Our window opened up to a cozy Venetian alley way. In the morning, we could hear locals in their apartments making breakfast and getting the kids ready for school, which really added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a mare to find, but I have to say that once we did get checked in and found our bearings it is a gtreat location. We were on the 4th floor and with no lift it was a little hike with the bags , but hey if thats the only problem then this place is well worth the stay.
Very close to Rialto Bridge and also only a 10 min walk to St Marks Sq. You must venture out early and see the Venice Fish market in full swing, a great early morning wonder.
Great value and great location.

Room Tip: get a good set of directions to find the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here in May of 2011 and just booked again 2 rooms for September 2013. We just loved our rooms the last time so I contaced hotel and requested the same rooms. They were so accomodating when I called with my request, looks like they will be giving us the same rooms. Hotel is in a great location, very near the Rialto Bridge, about 200 meters yet away from the toursits. In addition if you so desire, A water taxi can pick you up a few feet from the hotel to take you to and from the airport or cruise terminal. Also there is free wifi which you can access from your room which is also a + and the breakfast they offer is a great way to start out the morning. When we decided to star our trip in Venice in September, the first place I thought of booking was out Hotel Bartolomeo...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 944mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was a very nice hotel to stay at, great location. Nice breakfast and very clean room. Too bad we had to pay for wifi. It was a bit difficult to locate at arrival as it is on a very small street(ask for guidance, if possible)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana_Vasiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A bit difficult to find, just off St Bartolomeos Square- thru a few little alleys- what isn't in Venice! Very friendly reception staff. The room was small, but clean + on the 4th floor - no lift either!! Breakfast basic- enough to see you thru til lunch! Fantastic location. Two minutes walk to the Rialto Bridge and a slow 15 min stroll to St Marks Square. Lots of cafes+ restaurants nearby. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank microsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#101 of 387 in Venice
843 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#111 of 387 in Venice
439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#123 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#120 of 387 in Venice
2,252 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Malibran
Hotel Malibran
#214 of 387 in Venice
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bartolomeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bartolomeo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 5494, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $72 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bartolomeo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bartolomeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartolomeo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing