We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area to be in.”
Review of Hotel Bartolomeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bartolomeo
Ranked #159 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Like virtually everybody else I thought I was going to have a problem finding the hotel. Having printed off maps and done a bit of research (ie-near public toilets) I went straight to it from the Rialto bridge. Hotel is quaint and friendly. We were on the second floor and thankful we were not any higher. A lot of luggage could be a problem. Breakfast was good but we had to wait 10mins or so one morning for a table to come free. This is to be expected from time to time in a small but full hotel. Location is perfect and restaurants all around. For people with a budget in mind considering Venice's cost this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bartolomeo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 439 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel is in a great central location (and easy to find if you have done your research first !!)
Only 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and 10 minutes through the maze of streets to San Marco.
Surounded by shops and restaurants yet tucked away up a quiet, peaceful little street.
Check in and out was quick and easy with very friendly, helpful staff. We were on the top (4th) floor with a view across the rooftops towards San Marco. Room had two windows so lots of natural light. It was quite basic but clean and comfy enough, with a very nice bathroom.
Don't stand on one leg as you will lose your balance !! (the floor slopes from windows inwards!)
as do most of the buildings in Venice.
Breakfast was just ok (filled a gap, but on morning three we gave it a miss and waited for an early lunch.)
There is a very nice restaurant next door to the hotel, we ate there on two evenings out of three, good pizzas, reasonable prices on both food and wine with very friendly staff. Most tourists would not know that this restaurant existed as it's so well hidden, glad that we discovered it !
Would definately stay at the hotel Bartolomeo again, it was good value for such a centrally located hotel in an expensive city!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a hike up to the 4th floor the climb is worth it as there are only about 3 roo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIGNMAN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is adequate. Other than location and value, it would not score high reviews, but those count, and make it a good choice.

Count us in the group that could not find this hotel without first asking a few locals where it was. It is really well hidden. The funny thing is once you know where it is, it is really easy to find, and very close to everything. Like 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and all the action that surrounds it. The area of the hotel is very busy with restaurants and stores. Maybe a 10 minute walk to St Marc's square, but as this is Venice, we might not have taken the shortest route to get there.

I would say the biggest drawback of this hotel is the lack of elevator if you are on the 3rd floor up. We were on the 3rd floor, and even without luggage, it ends up being painful after all the walking you do all day. Thankfully we were given the advice of leaving most of our stuff in the car, and only bring the necessary for 2 days into Venice. Garage San Marco took good care of our car and what was in it, and we never regretted that decision.

The room itself is average at best. You are there for location and for budget, otherwise if you need luxury, you should go elsewhere. That being said, i fount it to be adequate in all departments, although not great.

Breakfast was adequate also, but you would not be looking forward to your next breakfast. Free food to get you to lunch is what it is.

Reception staff was very helpful and nice.

Internet is quite a deal as you pay for a certain amount of time that can be broken up. For $4 we easily got our two days of internet connexion as really you dont need it that much as you are never in the room.

I would go back, and would not hesitate to send my family or friends there, as long as they understand that the main attraction here is location.

Room Tip: choose a low floor if you are not in great shape
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms are clean, breakfast included, bathroom modern. Located only 5-10 minute walk from San Marco and 3-5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge, it's a great loation in central Venice. No elevator, so you will have to carry your bags up multiple flights, and the A/C is marginal if that is an issue for you. Wi-Fi availalble for small fee (4 Euro for 12 hours of access).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a night at the Bartolomeo in Venice and were pleasantly surprised. For what we payed we were perfectly happy with the room and the location was excellent. Just a 10 min walk to St Marks square. The service was top notch. The receptionists all being very helpful and knowledgeable. The only let down being the rather awful breakfast but the fact we even had any for the money was a surprise in itself! A great little find.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arrived at the hotel without the dramas other reviewers have mentioned, we didn't think it was too hard to find. Walking past the public toilet block was a little weird, but that's ok. We got there way too early for check in, so put our bags in the luggage storage and were asked to come back in half an hour. Our room was on the first floor, at the end of the breakfast room corridor, which didn't disturb us. Room was beautifully air conditioned, such a relief from the August sun! Bathroom was massive and clean, although there wasn't much hot water! Breakfast was fine, nothing to complain about, I guess you might get bored if you are there a week, but we were only there three nights and it suited us fine. Juice, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, bread, cheese and some sweet treats, more than adequate. Staff we friendly, helpful, and spoke great English! Location is fantastic, so close to Ponte Rialto and as simple as Venice can be in terms of navigating the streets. Amazing gelato place close by, Gelateria Suso. If you want a great value hotel in Venice, look at this, we really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotti310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed during a nice weekend. Very good location, few steps away from Rialto and the Vaporetto stops. Clean triple room, reasonable aircon, but very good (and surprising) size of the room! The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good with a range of choice. The hotel is overlooking a very quiet calle. I would reccomed for sure and hope to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#102 of 385 in Venice
428 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
1,136 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 385 in Venice
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#100 of 385 in Venice
487 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 385 in Venice
426 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#142 of 385 in Venice
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bartolomeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bartolomeo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 5494, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $89 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bartolomeo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bartolomeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartolomeo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing