We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located”
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Canaletto
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This nice little hotel is very well located for exploring the local attractions.

Very nice and clean, even have a breakfast room which helped us a lot.Very close to a local supermarket hid away..you will have to look for it to find it! Everything much cheaper here than at the vendors and cafes.

Comfortable rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location, excellent instructions by email from hotel on how to get there from Train station. Tiny room, couldn't walk past each other side by side, no lift, carry own bags up stairs, perhaps not for people who can't do stairs. There is a "chair" lift up the stairs. Keep in mind this building was built a long, long, time ago. Fast wifi but not free. Simple breakfast in dining room. Lots of places to eat very close to the hotel. Bed very comfortable. Clean, tidy serviceable. We were only there 2 nights, so this was perfectly suitable as we were out all day, only back to sleep. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Booked water taxi for trip to airport and showed us to pickup point.
Sharon and Geoff, Perth Australia

Room Tip: Not really suitable for people who aren't very mobile or are obese, rooms are small, small bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice value...location best found if you get off at the St. Mark's Stop. The Rialto
stop takes you on a roundabout way through "seedy" alleys, which will eventually lead you to the hotel. Breakfast was okay, nice selection but no fruit anywhere to be seen. Stumped my toe a few toes on the wrought iron beds. Poor lighting in room. Rialto is a lively but very dirty area, unlike the St. Mark's area, which is clean and welcoming. If you're taking the water taxi to the train make sure you go to the St. Mark's stop, since you it won't be crowded and you'll get a seat. The Rialto stop is inundated with people getting on. Venice is very very hot and make sure you take a water bottle everywhere with you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELFREAKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Canaletto, Venice, although it was beyond our usual backpacking budget, because the town was booked out at the time! Happily, it turned out to be a wonderful experience and a chance to enjoy some unaccustomed luxury. The staff are extremely helpful and multi-lingual! Our room was gorgeous, done in old Venetian style, very pretty (obviously some reviewers didn't get that it is a historic building and that the style was appropriate). The bathroom was so luxurious.....breakfast was very good, all you could want. The location is very convenient, close to all attractions.
We had to leave very early in the morning and were amazed that the staff member on duty had prepared a packed breakfast for us!! What service!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclair1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with the family. The location is very convenient but away enough to allow for a quiet nights rest. The price is somewhat high for what you get from a service standpoint. The rooms are very small and decor dated (not in a pleasant way). The service from the from desk staff is inconsistent depending on who you speak to.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgcbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night but the location was perfect. It was central to all the main tourist attractions so we loved how close it was to everything. The room was a bit small and the decor was old fashioned but it was very quiet and clean. We will stay here again when we go back to Venice.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor, which worked out wonderfully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed a week at the Canaletto and were delighted with the experience there. We found it relatively easily from St Mark's square using the instructions supplied by the hotel. The day-time reception staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a little small but that's to be expected in Venice. It was very tastefully furnished with all the conveniences that made our stay enjoyable. The room was very clean and the daily standard of housekeeping was excellent. We really enjoyed breakfast each morning, sitting outside the hotel where there were a few tables laid out for breakfast. Really good selection meant that you could try different things each day. We stayed at another 3 star hotel nearby in Venice a few years ago. The stay there was average compared to the Canaletto. Would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,082 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#123 of 385 in Venice
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#131 of 385 in Venice
943 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#125 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $70 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing