We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service!”
Review of Centauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centauro Hotel
Ranked #124 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hotel is tricky to find, it is in a hallway corner but once you come in is cozy, good service, rooms have a wonderful view and the breakfast was great!
As for the stairs, everyone knows that in Europe the elevators are very limited, stairs are tight and if you have huge luggages it will be a little uncomfortable to get them up the stairs. No air condition, it really wasn't a problem for me, i went in February which it was cold enough.

The location is perfect, it is close to plaza san marco and walking distance to every other point if interest.
I will recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 798 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Yes, the stairs are tiring but that is the only downside (unless you are a tad fitter than me of course).
My wife loved our room, a very comfortable bed. The room was clean, tidy with excellent en suite. We had a door that opened onto a roof which is a sun trap.
The staff is very efficient and very helpful.
The lady organising the breakfast was excellent. Sometimes a guy (her boss I think) came in and quite aggressive. Some guests were surprised at him but the lady took all in her stride, she was good! The breakfast room is a lovely room with doors opening onto a small balcony over a canal. If you are lucky you can see gondolas passing beneath with one of them having a Pavarotti type singer, lovely voice (usually c. 9:45 a.m).
Take note of the directions to find the hotel, you will need them.All in all a great experience, a must stay-at hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This hot was nice but our room was very small with little space to put our suitcases. This meant we had to step over them when getting out of bed.

The staff were all very friendly apart from one young girl who could not bring herself to look up from her phone when we were trying to hand in our key as we went out for the night. Eventually she looked up and pointed at the counter in front of her to say just leave it on there...quite rude and not very secure to leave the keys lying around the place (there were several other keys left on there too so she must have done the same to others).

She was the exception as all other staff were very friendly but she has cost the place a star on my review. Others have also commented about a rude girl on reception so I think someone needs to have a talk to her.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LCC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our large room overlooking two little canals could have been delightful but it was somewhat shabby. The seating area outside the rooms on the top floor is photogenic, and looks nice online, but is a bit dreary in real life. There are a lot of stairs, and we were fortunate to have a hotel employee take our suitcases up for us. We were on our own when we checked out, however. As is often the case in European hotels, the is not really enough light to read in the room after it is dark outside. The en suite bathroom was clearly added at some point and the wall sticks out into the room, very close to the side of the bed. It does not feel particularly pleasant. Not even sure the room was very clean though it was not actually dirty.

It was very warm in Venice during our visit and the room was very warm, with no AC though I think there is a unit that may work in high season. Open windows did not help cool the room but did let in bugs. Mosquitoes? Overall, I found the Hotel Centauro barely okay, very expensive for the level of comfort offered, more in the two star than the three star category of hotels. The lobby is nicer than the rooms. The location is very convenient and appealing, a nice walk to the Accademia bridge and thus Dorsoduro, and an easy walk to the Rialto vaporetto stop.

Would not recommend for adult travelers accustomed to mid-level comfort. This hotel strikes me as being at the high end of pricing and low end of comfort/amenities for its category.

Room Tip: Another hotel? A cheaper room since neither size nor comfort justifies the more expensive choice. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayhill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Centauro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente, Vi ringraziamo per aver soggiornato presso il nostro Hotel, ma vogliamo farvi notare che, al momento della prenotazione è chiaramente scritto che l'Hotel non ha l'ascensore. Inoltre, se volevate avere una camera con vista sul canale avreste dovuto selezionare quella categoria e quindi pagare un prezzo differente. Per quanto riguarda la pulizia, troviamo la su opinione assolutamente infondata, poichè, come può leggere in tutte le recensioni, il nostro Hotel è tra i migliori per pulizia e cortesia di tutto lo staff. L'aria condizionata funziona sempre durante il periodo primaverile/estivo e se avevate bisogno di ulteriori dispositivi anti-zanzare (oltre a quelli che già sono in dotazione in tutte le camere) bastava rivolgersi al personale della reception che vi avrebbe dato subito tutto il necessario. Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel centauro for 3 nights and it was a very enjoyable stay. The entrance was a little hard to find first of all but it is in a quiet location away from any noise. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, continental is just what you need and it is set in a spacious room with a nice view across the canal. The room was big enough for two, very clean and had Venetian decor, air con was also very quiet. It is a 5 minute walk from Rialto bridge, get off at that water stop to easily find the hotel, also very close to St. Mark's square. Overall had a fantastic stay in Venice and would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The entrance was a little difficult to find initially but I love the location and inside is beautiful. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming and was very kind to recommend the glass factory. I did not go but the rest of my party went and the Hotel got you there for free and getting in the glass factory was free entrance as well. Getting back is your responsibility but everyone seemed to enjoy this. There is no elevator and there is need to go up stairs with luggage, however this is normal for most Hotels in Italy. The rooms are very spacious and we were upgraded to a canal view (which I highly recommend booking) as there were times when we would sit in window and just watch the gondolas go by and listen to the singing and accordions. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so clean and well maintained. Breakfast is a standard layout of meat, cheese, fruit and boiled eggs, however what I liked was the eating room was very big and I did not feel I had to rush so someone else could sit down. Venice is very expensive and overall I think this was reasonably priced for the stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room facing the canal, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very enjoyable stay in this hotel.
comfortable, clean accommodation and friendly, helpful staff. Situated within easy access to St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge but far enough away to be free of the crowds.
Will certainly use and recommend hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Catriona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#150 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#122 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#133 of 385 in Venice
821 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
758 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#190 of 385 in Venice
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centauro Hotel

Address: S.Marco, Campo Daniele Manin, 4297/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $68 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centauro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centauro Hotel Venice
Hotel Centauro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing