We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Centauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centauro Hotel
Ranked #121 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked a room with the canal view after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor. Walked all the way from the coach station ( look out and look up for the yellow signs to Rialto, fixed on the walls of buildings) and was able to do it in 30 mins. We were given room 20 which was decorated in the Venetian style, with a modern bathroom attached that was very clean. We did get this "odour" when we first opened the room-door, and soon realized that it was from the canal. We did hear the singing gondoliers, the early arrival of the delivery and waste disposal boats, and enjoyed looking out of the windows as they pass by. The hotel exceeded our expectations, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortynineplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 819 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first stop in our Italy Holiday and the Centauro Hotel was a very pleasant start.
The location was perfect, under 5 minute walk to Rialto Bridge and Vaporetto stop. It was 2 minutes to many restaurants and shops and 10 minutes to San Marco Square. The staff at the hotel was very nice, spoke and understood English well and were very accommodating. The lovely corner room was very large as far as European standards and the bathroom was spacious and updated. True, there is no elevator, which was only a bit of an inconvenience carrying our luggage up and down, however the charm and location of this hotel outweighed everything else.

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the 2nd floor. Although it was not a canal view, not sure if that was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Venice was our 2nd stop in our honeymoon back in November 2011; to be very honest, it took me some time to finalize our accommodation for Venice as most of the hotels are very expensive.

Finally, I saw this hotel coming up from a certain online booking site. I bit the bullet and book for this and just prayed that my wife will not kill me for booking a horrible hotel.

It turned out that this was one of the best places we have stayed during our 2wk honeymoon in Europe. The room is old but was maintained properly. The toilet is very clean as well, very important as this is one of the main things that my wife is really looking for.

The breakfast was good, eat all you can with a good selection of bread, cheese and ham.

Well worth our money!! Will stay here again if ever I find myself in Venice in the future.

Room Tip: If you have lots of bags, try to ask for a lower level room as there is no elevator in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the city and a stone's throw from the famous Scala Contarini del Bovolo. Very good buffet breakfast. A small, but quiet, clean and pleasantly furnished room.
I had booked a single room with a shared bathroom. However, when I arrived I was told that I had exclusive use of the facility and was duly given a key. The bathroom had a sink, shower and a bidet, but no loo. This, I discovered, was located at the other end of the corridor. A minor inconvenience (no pun intended), but by no means the end of the world.
I would certainly go back again, which, after all, is the ultimate mark of approval.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walks-in-Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just stayed for single night so the view is on that experience.As mentioned by others finding the locations was not hard for us. Rooms are nice clean and mattress too is good. Shower is real real tiny so expect to drop shampoo bottles n so on. Location is convenient too.Big plus is breakfast it is super and room has nice canal view. Also just outside the main door there is nice square to stroll around.Internet is free for first hour.

Over all had a pleasant experience with friendly staff.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VIBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here in March found he staff helpful and polite
Breakfast although continental plentyful, here again staff very friendly. Our room we found a little small as was the shower room but ok also pleasantly warm as the weather was mixed and at times cold and wet, we had snow whilst we were there.
Location could not have been much better for us as it was in between St Marco and the Rialto Bridge, it was also very good for the transfer from the airport via the Allilguna boat which dropped us off a few yards after Rialto which left us with an easy walk of around five to ten minuets.
No lifts at the hotel but there was a young man who carried our luggage.
If the chance arises we shall return here. BON VIAGGIO.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRAMPTON1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and the staff member on reception when we arrived was extremely helpful. The rooms are lovely with very small bathrooms and with the weather a bit cooler the showers were not very hot until the last day then they were great. The rooms are really clean and our view over the canal was lovely. We needed help to get washing done and the woman on reception the 2nd day gave us directions to find the laundry which we spent all morning searching for. Beware Venice is wonderful but navigating it can be very challenging so a clear good size map is very valuable. We tried to use ipad GPS but coverage is extremely patchy.

Anyway after wasting so much time we went back for help and asked the receptionist to organise something for us and all she could repeat is we don't offer that service. We also wanted to book a tour and show and she sent us out looking for ticket offices and wouldn't book it for us. Again we spent the rest of the afternoon looking for laundry (didn't find it) and ticket offices,very frustrated and a big wste of a day in beautiful Venice. First guy from reception was made aware of our issues and did try to put things right by offering their own washing facilities.

Breakfasts were nice enough and the location was well placed between Rialto and St Marks. Note get off at Rialo water stop on arrival as this is the closest.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0ZGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#128 of 387 in Venice
849 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#86 of 387 in Venice
1,428 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
#84 of 387 in Venice
745 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#141 of 387 in Venice
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centauro Hotel

Address: S.Marco, Campo Daniele Manin, 4297/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Venice
#138 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $79 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centauro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extremely high quality service in an ancient palace of the seventeenth century with Venetian style furnishings and located in the heart of the historic center of Venice, a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and all the most interesting places for art and culture. An unforgettable stay in an elegant, welcoming and typically Venetian environment, for a holiday dedicated to comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Centauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centauro Hotel Venice
Hotel Centauro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing