We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoes in the room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Malibran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malibran
Ranked #222 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Mosquitoes in the room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The wife and I stayed at Hotel Malibran during our three-day stay in Venice last September. Here's the low down:

The Good:
1.Awesome location. It's relatively near Rialto but hidden in a courtyard so you don't get to hear the noise of the mob. It's a quiet area.
2. The breakfast choices were cold cuts, bread, juice, cereals, tea and coffee. You also get to have breakfast in the courtyard, which was so cool.
3. The people behind the counter were nice and very helpful.

The Bad:
1. Mosquitoes. Not just one. In fairness to them, the hotel provided a device that you plug in to an outlet to keep them at bay, but then you would have to give up a very scarce resource where you can charge your gadgets.
2. No free power outlets (available only to TV and Ref)
3. Tiny bathroom. Not small; tiny.
4. No separation between the shower area and the rest of the bathroom so the floor tends to get all wet.
5. Tacky rooms. The color is gloomy mint green. The bed headboard seems dirty and desperately needs repainting. (admittedly, this is bordering on nitpicking).
6. Weak Aircon (Room 303)
7. 15" CRT TV. What the heck!
8. Pay-per-use internet... but there's a nearby open wifi connection that you can connect to.

Will I come back? Based on my experience, maybe not. The tacky rooms I can deal with, but the mosquitos and the lack of power outlets is something they should address first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jovanpuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    177
    124
    43
    41
See reviews for
96
211
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Firstly I'd like to comments on everyone else's comments; It's Venice, Venice is old, what do you all expect? A 5 star resort? No in Venice you must realise that everything is old and vintage, once you have that in your head you can't get disapointed, the old hotels just add to the charm of Venice.

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. We upgraded our room and it was quite spacious. Yes it looks old, but that is Venice. Our room was kept clean and tidy and overlooked the courtyard.

The location is the best bit, it's in a really quiet area, and really close to the Rialto bridge where all the waterbuses arrive and depart from. There is also a jazz bar called Bacaro Jazz close to the hotel, drop in for a drink, they area really friendly there.

Also why is everyone wingeing about having to walk in Venice? That is the best bit about Venice! Besides it is only a 5-10 min walk to the Saint Marco main square from the hotel. If you have time catch a water bus to Burano Island as it is so beautiful. All in all the hotel is average to good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel I orignally booked gave away my room; so I had to be walked to this hotel. Room was ridculously small. The rooms in the other travelers' pictures looked enormous compared to mine. The bathroom was basically a drain for a shower that I could have sat in the toilet to bath. Water got all over the place. Extremely noisy at night even with window closed. Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We got to Venice quite late at night, and it took us just over an hour to find this hotel (around midnight). If you want to get there quicker from the main modes of transport, have a GPS device handy. The hotel is located close to the Rialto bridge, but is a bit of a walk from most attractions and transport. The exact spot of the hotel is pretty vibrant, so you won't get bored. The surroundings are great for people watching.

The only downer is the room interior. It was stuffy and felt like I was in a tomb. I understand all about the Venetian style, but this was freakishly old furniture (and garish). We didn't make for good antiques/props in what felt like a museum vibe. The bed was not comfortable, and the bathroom was just puny!

The breakfast was typically European. A nice place if your budget is tight. Don't expect anything contemporary though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Friendly efficient hotel, clean, in a nice area near the Rialto Bridge. Good food, Wide choice for breackfast, lunches at a reasonable price and good dinners to end on.
Not a modern building, but very adequate rooms.
Staff friendly and efficient, mostly English speaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

For our budget this was good - not too expensive and as we were only there for one night great to be in such a central location. We were in the 'new' part of the hotel and while basic it had everything that we needed. Staff were very friendly and happily stored our bags the next way and gave advice about our train. Breakfast was pretty good - decent selection and very plentiful. Would stay again if it was a good price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megs_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was booked using airmiles, so entirely my choice over many. I thought it would be difficult to find but was sooo easy; Marco Polo - bus and vaporetto to Rialto and 5 minute walk, good directions given. Small hotel with character, staff were helpful allowed us to leave luggage with them, rooms available at 2pm. The room was large, traditional furniture (charming), bathroom small and dark: shower over small bath, shower head kept swinging around, so avoided touching shower head, tried to run bath but it trickled out. Sink was slightly cracked and no plug present. The walls and floor were brown cork tiles (not shower). There wasn't much natural light so had to have ceiling light on during the day, which didn't really matter as we were out most of the day. Room and hallways need decorated, a touch grubby. The restaurant was wonderful and the waiting on staff friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, we ate there 3 nights. Breakfast was great, plentiful for those with big appetites (no need for lunch). Eat in or outside, downside of outside dining were the smokers. Airconditioning worked.

Room Tip: I asked what superior rooms were like, they told me we were in one, the difference being the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatCOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#347 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#345 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#228 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#223 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Locanda Leon Bianco
#205 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malibran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malibran

Property: Hotel Malibran
Address: Corte Millon Cannaregio, 5864, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malibran 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malibran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibran Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing