We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foresteria Valdese Venezia
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Bad experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The ratio services offered/price is poor: no table in the room, no support for the suitcases (they were lying on the floor), no wardrobe, no hairdryer in the bathroom (you may get one at the reception desk), reception personnel without any customer focus and no smile, self-service breakfast, you should clean the table yourself, no daily room service, before check-out you should take away the bed sheets and fold them, the blankets as well. On top, this lack of normal hotel services was expensive! Never again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaetanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
41
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I looked forward to staying in this place as we've booked a canal view room but once we reached the reception, we're sorely disappointed. We're greeted with sour face from the worker. Even the next day she showed us only sour face. However with others, she smile ever so brightly. I'm thinking this is a bit of a discrimination.

We were given a 3rd floor room and although it is facing a canal it is un-viewable unless you stick your neck out very far from the window. I don't think this is categorized as canal view room. Besides that there's a very narrow staircase to our room which gave both of us ladies trouble as our luggage are pretty heavy. Had a really horrendous time dragging our luggage up and down.

We got lost coming to this place as there are many turns however once you reach the location, you'll like it as the area is pretty quiet. Breakfast is good too. Our room is nice and the bathroom and toilet is clean too.

However for the price paid for a canal room but without an actual 'canal view', I think it's pretty expensive and we felt cheated. Plus with the rude staff attitude, I will not be going there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chociq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with this hostel in August 2012. Everyone was so nice and helpful from questions (by email) during booking to the guy at the front desk the two nights we were there. This was actually our first experience in a hostel and we found it ideal for our family since a quad room is just a much better fit than a standard hotel room. The beds were very comfortable, the location was amazing, and the price was great (for Venice). Our room (camera 23) had three beds in a loft upstairs with one bed and our private bathroom downstairs. the building was interesting, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was sufficient. There was even a corner with books and toys which was fantastic for my kids (2 and 4). When we were there, there were maybe 2-3 young backpackers in their 20's, a few couples of older travelers (retirees), and several other families. We loved feeling like we were in a quiet corner of Venice but steps from the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slong100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from 6th May. For a start, Venice can be a most confusing city and as this was our first visit we had trouble finding the hotel. Once found however we were made to feel welcome and shown our room. The frescoes on the wall were a bit offputting but it was clean and the bathroom was also. The shower recess was bigger than most we had encountered. The breakfast next morning was adequate - cereals, rolls, fruit, conserves, yoghurt, toast (packaged), juice, tea and coffee. It is in a very good location as far as San Marco and Rialto and also the vaparetto to Murano are concerned. Also some good restaurants not too far away. Why I think it would be better for younger travellers is that it appears to cater for school groups and while the first group of older teenagers was very well behaved, the second group of much younger teenagers was not and became very noisy early in the morning (4.30am). The upside is that you do save a bit of money by not staying in a regular hotel and if you are prepared to tolerate school groups by all means stay there.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking a canal and a small bridge so there was some noise but it would be unavoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My first vistit to Forestie Valdese was magical-the location, the room and the friendly staff. This year I was disapointed at the poor service, staff were unhelpful and sometimes downright rude! The double room had poor ventilation and the bathroom had a dubious odour. The both the bed covers were stained. The location is still magical but there are other rooms available nearby. I wanted to let the hotel know that there were huge rats running across the landing in the evening but they weren't interested, maybe it was my english...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Only about 10 minutes walk to San Marco square or Rialto bridge. Hint: print out a map and highlight the route (from vaporetto stop "Rialto") before arriving. It will save you many headaches trying to navigate the confusing narrow streets with luggage.

30 euro per bed per night in a room which has 4 single beds and its own ensuite bathroom including soap and shampoo in handy sachets. Room window opened onto the canal, motor powered boats start around 6am so keep the shutter closed if you're a light sleeper.

Breakfast included bread rolls, cereals, coffee/hot choc, yoghurt and juices.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Cannot overstate how great an experience my girlfriend and I had at Foresteria Valdese. Nowhere else in Venice will you find the combination of budget value and prime location. Not only is the location perfect for hitting some of Venice's top attractions, like San Marco, the actual location of Foresteria Valdese - across a mini-bridge at the intersection of small alleyways - seems very intimate.

Make sure to leave time at the end of an evening to come back and sample a cheese/meat tray and the house red at the wine bar, Enoteca Mascareta. They're extremely easy going, helpful, and the best part: you can take your glasses of wine out on to the street and sit on one of the steps of the bridge next door to the Foresteria.

By paying the extra few euro for the kitchenette room, we were able to make a meal using fresh ingredients from the Rialto Market: shrimp, artichokes, etc. Just prepare to use a hot plate rather than a stove!

Overall, we could not have asked for a better, more romantic base of operations for the weekend in Venice.

My only warning: just make sure you are up to weaving your way all the way from the train station to the Foresteria! It can be easy if you are good at maneuvering on the vaporettos, not to mention, getting to anywhere good in Venice will require a trek like this, anyway!

Room Tip: My girlfriend and I chose the kitchenette room, originally because that was the only available room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fightingwithavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#6 of 219 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#30 of 219 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Castello
B&B San Marco
B&B San Marco
#12 of 219 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#158 of 219 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Cannaregio
Veniceluxury
Veniceluxury
#103 of 219 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#125 of 219 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Valdese Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Property: Foresteria Valdese Venezia
Address: Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresteria Valdese is one of the guest houses of the Waldensian and Methodist Church in Italy. We are a non-profit making guest house: our mission is to create value to our customers and the income is used to fund and sustain social projects in Italy and in the world for youth and elderly people. The house is just few minutes away from St. Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge. It offers to its guests a warm and welcoming environment in a typical eighteenth century palace and it is a perfect starting point to visit such a magic city as Venice is. The Foresteria offers bed and breakfast accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. No AC, we have fans in the rooms. Some rooms are with canal view and some are decorated with frescoes. We have bedrooms for 2/3/4 people and family rooms for 6/8/9 people. They all have either ensuite or private bathrooms. Breakfast hall is also available for your own picnic, you can use 2 fridges and 1 microwave. Concert hall is also available for conferences. Every 5 days we change the linen. Some rooms have TV, and there is a TV in 2nd floor near the children corner. Hairdryer and other accessories are available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foresteria Valdese Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Valdese Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing