We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
25
86
69
46
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
86
69
46
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomthe actual hoteldouble bedcroissantspanshairdryerkitchenettesquaretouristcrowd
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 267 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in Momolo room, which is a 15 min walk from the hotel, you can't do it if you have luggage. I don't know why it is called a suite, it is a dark musty basement on the ground floor - in Venice people do not live on the ground floor. Granted it is cheap, but why spoil the experience of visiting a beautiful city when for little extra you can get something much more decent. Truly awful!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YUNATONI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I booked this hotel through an on-line tour company. The place is a real gem. I had a single room with a shared secon floor balcony right on the street, but the double-paned french door and window blocked out all the noise when closed. I don't know how effective that will be in warm weather; there is no air conditioner.
The room was relatively spacious and well laid out. It was beautifully decorated in the Venetian style (blue with gold accents and a Murano glass chandelier).
The hotel is well located and comparatively easy to find for Venice, and the staff is very helpful.
The vaporetto is nearby, but be warned, the cost of vaporetto travel has become exorbitant! A single ride is 6.50 euro = 9.10 dollars and it only gets more and more over-priced. Bring your walking shoes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edjamro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Small rooms, but very clean. Nice staff. But the hot water was definitely lacking--I had the best luck at night getting a warmish shower. Still would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

My main complaint about this hotel was that there was no hot water. Major turn off. I don't care how clean it was or how nice the people at the front desk were, just plain and simple, there was NO hot water.
The room was clean, but small. The breakfast was average as was the staff. They pretty much ignored us on our last morning there when I needed directions to the train station because they were arguing with each other. Then the lady gave me bad directions and we missed our train. Big let down!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, so we were shocked when the desk clerk told us that our room would be a five-minute walk away from the hotel. Perhaps to soften the shock, the desk clerk said he had booked us a "suite"--a kind exaggeration, though we did get more than the room we had booked. It's Venice, where street signs are often missing, so it took us more than twice the anticipated amount of time to find the place. When we finally found it, our "room" was huge: a small apartment with a kitchenette hidden in a closet, a sofa bed in addition to our fullsized bed, and a large bathroom with a heated towel rack that was excellent for drying clothing after rainstorms. The decorations were lovely: exposed brick, antiqued wood, etc. There were also pans and plates, though we did not choose to cook in the room, not having expected more than a normal hotel room. The floor could have been cleaner, and the supplies could have been more consistent (no shampoo or bath gel on day 1, both on day 2), but otherwise the room was very nice.

For breakfast, we had to walk back to the hotel proper, where the breakfast was decent: the option of cappuccino as well as regular coffee or tea, croissants (Italian version, some with jam), rolls, fruit, juice, yoghurt, etc., and the option to add hot items for an additional price (e.g., omelettes). For an affordable hotel, the setting was very nice: white tablecloths, etc.

If the idea of a "suite" appeals to you, be sure to ask for "Momolo," which is what they call that particular far-away room. I still have no idea why we were sent there. You may prefer to insist on staying in the actual hotel: you don't want to pay a water bus or an expensive water taxi to check in, then have to pay for another water bus (vaporetto) or another water taxi to get your stuff to Mamolo (other whatever other distant rooms they may have). Keep in mind that the vaporettos are expensive one-way, 6.50 euros, so don't gamble and get a one-way ticket if you stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMPM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews