We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
25
86
69
46
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
86
69
46
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomthe actual hoteldouble bedcroissantspanshairdryerkitchenettesquaretouristcrowd
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 267 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at the Pantalon for 2 nights over Easter and payed a whopping 200 Euro per night. We are usually lower class travelers, frequenting (nice) hostels and budget hotels, but due to our late plans and lack of available rental cars, we had to take the cheapest option in Venice (other available options were 300+ Euros). For the price, and according to the reviews, we at least expected a nice hotel.
The location is not bad, a short walk from a waterbus station and in a central area with an abundance of restaurants and bars. As most (probably all) Venice hotels, it is in a tight and very old building without an elevator, which could be expected. The room was tiny with hardly any room to open your suitcase, but even that was expected. Our complaints come from the rest of the amenities/facilities.
Starting with the cleanliness, the room was way under par. There were cobwebs on the lamps, it was dusty, and there was a bar of soap (not far) under the bed. The bathroom wasn't cleaned well on the second morning of our stay. Even the sheets were less than perfectly cleaned.
The bathroom was spacey (almost as big as the rest of the room) but there was no shower curtain, so taking a shower flooded the floor. At first there was no water pressure, because the hose from the faucet to the showerhead had numerous holes. After complaining, it was changed, fixing the pressure problem, but it should have been done before we came in. I'll remark that this is a 5 euro hose, nothing fancy, and it was obviously broken long before but never replaced.
The bathroom problems continued the second morning when after showering we found out we were given tiny towels instead of regular bath towels like we were given the day before.
There was a television in the room - actually a computer monitor - but there was no remote control and I was unable to turn it on manually, making me suspect that it too was dysfunctional. Being in Venice we didn't need tv, so I didn't complain to the receptionist.
The beds were two singles pushed together with separate sheets and douvets. They were on wheels and so separated when lying in the middle. "luckily", the room was too small to have the gap wide enough to fall into :).
And then comes the breakfast. It was horrid. Terrible coffee (in Italy!). You actually had to pay an extra 3-4 euros for an egg! The night before we payed 65 Euros in Verona (hotel brandoli) and had a great breakfast. Why can't they at least match the quality when charging over 3 times as much?
I forgot to mention that the ancient plumbing meant you had to wait 2-3 minutes between toilet flushes. We complained about this and were told that that's how it is in Venice. The staff was okay. The lady there on the first night was nice and recommended places to eat, etc. But the guy there on the second night was very unhelpful.
To summarize-choose a different hotel when staying in Venice. This place would have been acceptable at 50 euros a night, but for 200 euros this was a dump!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hadidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The Pantalon is situated within two minutes of the water ferries operating the Grand canal, a must for sightseers..(San Toma terminal).We had our bedroom cleaned and fresh towels daily.The continental breakfast was good with the option of an extra "pay for" menu.The dinning room like the hotel was small and quaint with very helpful staff.The safe was even free for a small refundable deposit.Restaurants and bars in abundance nearby.
The downside....you can sometimes hear people making their way home at night from bars, but I reckon thats the same in most quarters.Our bathroom was small,having to place your feet in the shower when on the loo,so if your fussy, book elsewhere,but we`d go back here again,in fact we intend too.
We travelled Ryan Air,coached it to Venice no problem.However, arriving in darkness and having to walk across Venice to the hotel (as no motor transport ie Taxis) was daunting,but safe.Please get hold of a LARGE MAP prior to leaving,its a MUST,everyone gets lost through the maze of alleys and walkways that is Venice.Another tip....when leaving by coach,unlike on arrival(paying on the coach), you must get a coach ticket.This is not from their main office in the square, but across the road at the ATVO office.Another tip...dont book a hotel out of city area,you`ll take too long getting in and out each day.We are so pleased we picked Pantalon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjoylife010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My first solo trip, but any anxieties I had were soon dispelled by the warm welcome. Erika on reception was very helpful, as was her colleague, another kind lady. I booked a single room but instead of the usual broom cupboard at the back, I had a front room, over the street, with a balcony and french window. Pure magic !!
A pizza 'take away' just yards from hotel, amazing food made to order, and at 2 euros a portion - unbeatable value.
Dorsoduro is the student area and a residential district. Lovely to walk in and fine at night - I never felt threatened.
There is a great roof garden. No good in winter, but would be a good place to rest in summer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Four of us stayed at the Pantalon over a Fri-Mon weekend. The location is fabulous, being a short walk from San Toma vaparetto stop. Fortunately we only had hand luggage and could trundle our little cases on wheels along quite easily through the tiny alleyways to approach the hotel (itself in a tiny alleyway). The reception was inviting, our rooms ready when we arrived (earlier than normal check in time) and we were impressed by the facilities available nearby - bars, restaurants etc. The rooms are very small but that doesn't really matter if you are out and about all day! My husband and I had booked a twin room and ended up with a room with a double bed and a single, so no complaints there! The bathroom was miniscule but worked OK. The toilet was positioned in the most extraordinary way, meaning that if you sat on the loo your knees were under the (large) washbasin - only solution was to sit diagonally! Our friends had a double room and there was only a small space around the bed for walking, but at least there was space on both sides. Their bathroom was also small but better designed than ours. The breakfast was a help-yourself-buffet of continental items including ham, cheese, cereals, yogart, breads and conserves as well as fruit juices. A waitress served tea and coffee and offered 'extras' like ham and eggs. All in all, it was fine. Our room was very quiet with the shutters and windows closed, although we were on an outside wall. Unfortunately, the high tide alert went off every morning which woke us earlier than we were intending, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. Our visit to Venice was hectic and action packed. We bought the Hellovenezia card at the airport when we arrived and this entitles you to unlimited travel on transport (including airport transfer) for 72 hours and our version had free entry to a number of churches and museums so we were determined to get our money's worth and did the lot! We bought tickets for the Baroque Opera evening (advertised in the hotel but we bought direct) and this was really good quality for a reasonable price. Note that there are only two toilets for the whole hall in which the performance takes place and they close them at 9.30 p.m. (before the end of the show). All in all, we had a good time and found the Pantalon helpful and reasonably comfortable. However, if it's luxury you want, this isn't the place but you will get a very convenient location with pleasant staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel's location looks a bit out of the way but is easy to reach from the train and bus stations. It is actually on one of the main routes to Piazza Roma so there is signposting and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Our room slept three and was furnished in delightful Venetian style. The only downers were the lack of hot water after 9am, the smell of tobacco smoke and the thin walls / noisy beds... Breakfast was okay with a pay extra a la carte menu if you so desired. After checking out we were able to return in the afternoon to wait for our coach and use the nicely kept toilets. With the deal from Asda Hotels this was hard to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cappuccino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews