We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #101 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a fantastic location. It is 100m away from the number 1 TA rated restaurant in Venice (Alfredo's) and right near a great little quick take away pizza place and many other TA suggested eateries. There's also plenty of shopping nearby and very close to St Mark's square. You can hear the bell from the square in your room, but it's not so loud to be disturbing. The rooms are sufficient in space (don't expect to be able to find much floor space, just enough for your bags. The double bed we had was obviously 2 singles as you could feel the divide in the middle of the bed. Great view from our room of the typical Venetian alleyway, nothing of the canals due to location.
We stayed here 2 nights and this morning the shower decided to vary between hot and cold. The room temp isn't easily controlled, but you can bump up the radiator in the bathroom and leave it on during the day (unlikely that many people will have issues with the room temp, i'm just sensitive to the cold). I'm an average size person and i can barely fit in the shower, which is seperated from the rest of the bathroom by a curtain which i had to leave open to have sufficient space. So if you're bigger than the average 24 yo woman, good luck to you.
Noise can be intrusive. You will hear the toilet of the next room and people walking above you. If you are unlucky enough to be on the second floor, you'll also hear breakfast being set up and people coming to and from. My boyfriend manages to sleep through it all, but i am not a deep sleeper.
The breakfast room is lovely and you will get a decent feed. The cereal looks less than inviting but having your selection of chocolate, cream or jam croissant as you arrive and having your choice of hot drink made for you as soon as you get there was great. You also get fresh rolls and you can get yourself some ham, cream or tasty cheese and plain yoghurt to complete your meal. I would've liked some fruit and juice that wasn't from concentrate, but like i said, you really get what you pay for. Wifi is not free and there are limited nearby restaurants which supply it (i think i saw a few pizzerias that did, they make it obvious on their front windows).
Stay here for the location and breakfast inclusion, not for a spacious bathroom or decent sleep.

1  Thank Brea B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 843 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 days in Venice staying at Hotel Orion. We were pleasantly surprised by how handy we were to St Marks Square, shopping and attractions without paying a huge price. We had sops literally right below our first floor room yet had no noise problems. Beautifully decorated room. A good breakfast which set us up for the day plus friendly helpful staff who spoke good English. All of this was just what we wanted! Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Orion for 4 nights and would highly recommend to anyone who wants something cheap but central! The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is literally around the corner from St Marks Square and so easy to find! There are some lovely restaurants around this area too and not as expensive as I expected! You're a short walk from the Rialto Bridge aswell where there is a huge fish and fresh fruit and veg market. Shops tend to be a bit cheaper around this area too.
We walked right up to the top of Venice and found a lovely restaurant (can't remember what it was called!) but we had a lovely massive salad! We got the water taxi back down to st marks which only cost us 7 euros each and took about 45 minutes but you see some lovely sights!
We also found the Mcdonalds which was an experience!
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and spoke good english so were very helpful. The stairs going up to the rooms are really steep so I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with walking difficulties. We were on the second floor, room 27. The bathroom was small and was more of a wetroom, but it was all we needed for two of us! The room was lovely, we had a big double bed, a sofa area, tv, big wardrobe and a dressing table. The TV only had two channels - BBC world news and CNN. The breakfast is lovely and just what you need, choice of croissants (cream, chocolate, jam), a choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit teas, cappuccino, then there were cheeses, ham, yoghurts and fruit juices.
Would highly recommend this hotel, it's perfect for exploring beautiful Venice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was wonderfully situated close to the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. Our room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of choice for a 'continental' breakfast. It also appeared that they could supply gluten free bread, although if this important to you, then you need to check.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and there were no complaints when we returned with soggy footwear after a flood. Although we didn't use them, there were umbrellas available in the lobby.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the 2nd visit to the Hotel Orion as decided it was such good value and so close to all attractions.
The Hotel is 2 star but it is very charming with lovely character rooms, very clean and a nice little breakfast room.
It is tucked away in a little cobble street just around the corner from St. Marks Square, it is above the shops with a glass door to the street & a lamp outside with Hotel Orion written in red, was difficult to find first time as we arrived late at night, this time was daytime so no problem.
Hotels are expensive in Venice so this is a lovely find very reasonable rates especially as the location could not be better.
Breakfast was served in the quite small but charming room, croissants, fruit cereal, ham cheese rolls juice coffee & tea etc.
Twin room was a not large but not too small either ,the shower room was small but adequate with a radiator which was on as we stayed in November, handy to dry out wet clothes as some flooding whilst we were there !!
Staff helpful..would definately recommend.

Room Tip: lower floors no lift so hard work with luggage on the stairs (although a porter took our bags up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked for 7 nights, firstly the location is ideal, right behind St Marcs Square, across from Cartier Jewellery Shop, but ideally I would advise staying for 3 or 4 nights no more at this hotel. The room (28) quite small, bathroom small, toilet in way of shower/bath, makes difficult to get in and out, bath too small to sit in, but was a good hot shower, no english channels on tv, breakfast the same every day very poor, same cereals (tasted awful) and crossaints, cheese, ham. I'm sure we could have had different cereals, or plain crossaints just once. The worse thing is not having any tea or coffee facilities in the room. There is a fridge in the room so if you have a travel kettle take with you, and your own hair dryer, the one in the bathroom was rubbish, the bed hard and two slabs for pillows. Probably would not stay again, staff not very friendly either

Room Tip: Room 28 was round the back, unfortunately there was builiding work going on, but this would only be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Orion, like Venice itself, is expensive in terms of what you get (we arrived after a week in Rome, which was far more affordable). It is very close to St. Mark's square, and that is a big plus. The location is superb.

Part of our group was on the third floor and the noise from the room overhead was difficult to ignore. Street noise was easier to manage by closing the windows and shutters.

Although the rooms are clean, the beds are hard, and the pillows harder still. The room was tidied each day, but toilet paper and tissues were not replaced as needed. Breakfast was ready for us each morning, and the staff in the breakfast room were attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the 5th floor, and it is the best choice. It is cheerful, comparatively ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi1125427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#123 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 387 in Venice
464 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#98 of 387 in Venice
506 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#104 of 387 in Venice
896 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Address: Calle Spadaria San Marco 700/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $78 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orion 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orion Hotel, the ideal meeting point for the people who want "to live" Venice. Close by S. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge, the most important terminals and the departure for the escursions, the promenades and the sightseeing tours of the city, it is your hotel in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing