We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite average for the price you pay”
Review of Hotel Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spagna
Ranked #217 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quite average for the price you pay”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Quite a good location from the train station - less than 5 minutes walk. I was happy to book near the train station because the food in St. Mark's Square is SO expensive. It could be a good 2 - 5 Euros more compared to this area.

I booked the single room and it is quite sufficient, pleasant to stay in, quiet and with good wifi signal. I was on the second floor. There is no lift so it is good that I wasn't allocated too high up the building. Breakfast is provided but it is rather simple - 2 rolls and a croissant for 1 person with tea, coffee or hot chocolate with a glass of orange juice. The front desk people are quite friendly. You need to take wifi password from them as it expires in 10 hours. 1 gadget for 1 password.

Overall, I am quite happy with the stay. Although the price is slightly at the high side, but I guess the whole of Venice is expensive.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are not facing the main street. Could be noisy. I had a room facing the back (no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolyene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    106
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
72
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good accomodation, thirty minute walk from St Mark Square and five minutes walk from the Station. Very clean and comfortable room and very good service. Staff extemely helpful and courteous. I recommend it.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel was average to slightly below average. We had to climb four flights of stairs to get to our room. Could not get internet even though we were told we could. We were traveling as three couples and booked well in advance. Somehow they overbooked or lost one of our reservations so one couple had to stay at a different hotel - not good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primusix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

For the world travellers who want to be waited on and have all the amenities of a North American hotel/motel, then this place is not for you. Here is what we found:

1) A good price considering that Venice is a pretty expensive place to visit. We were there for 2 nights, right on the cusp of when tourist season was ending at the end of October so 1st night was 140 Euro, and second night was only 117.

2) We came to Venice on a Cruise ship and had to find our own way to the Hotel so we explored the surroundings on day 1. Discovered that (once we took the People Mover tram from the ship to the bus station), the Hotel was only a 10-15 minute walk in total. You go past the train station, and down the street parallel to the Grand Canal. For getting around Venice it is quite conveniently located since you can walk to the bus station, train station, and all the various water taxis, water busses etc within 5-10 minutes. The hotel is, however, at the opposite end of the city to the main tourist attraction, St. Mark's Square. If you choose to walk everywhere in Venice from this Hotel, be prepared to get lost... all the time.... even with a map.

3) The Hotel is an old building on a main thoroughfare and is 4 stories high with about 6-7 rooms on each floor. There is NO elevator so you have to lug your baggage up full flights of stairs. Even the lobby is on the 2nd floor (and this is where the rooms start ... although that is considered the 1st floor for the room numbering). So if anyone uses a cane, a walker, a baby carriage, a wheelchair etc. then you might want to consider another hotel. You have to walk up one flight of stairs just to get into the lobby to begin with.

4) Our room was large but definitely had dated décor. The bed, (we requested a King), was simply 2 twins pushed together. Pillows were flatter than a pancake.

5) Very small bathroom with pedestal sink and one small shelf so space was extremely limited to put your toiletries anywhere. Small shower stall with no shelving (so soap, shampoo, etc had to be put on the shower floor). A big person would be hard pressed to get in the shower and bend over to pick up these items.
Toiletries included soap, shampoo and a showercap. No facial tissues anywhere.

6) No ice machine, no in-room refrigerator. They do offer free WIFI which was nice.

There is a closet safe, bedside tables and a shelf above the closet however there were no dressers or drawers to speak of to put your clothes in if you were there for a longer stay (which we weren't).

7) Breakfast (was included) and served in a small dining area off the lobby. There is table service where you are offered coffee, tea, café latte, hot chocolate and orange juice. Also available is a selection of 2 cold cereals, fresh croissants, small rolls with jams/honey etc.

8) Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and advice on our daily excursions and how to take the water transportation (vaporetto).

9) Room had a heating/cooling system on the wall but I'll be darned if I could figure out how to get it working... and the air vent on the ceiling looked like it had several months of dust collected.. don't think it had been vacuumed in a LONG time. Fortunately we were there at a time of year where the room temperature was fine with the windows closed. Not too hot.

10) Our room was 2nd floor right above the (pedestrian) street... so pretty noisy with windows open as people went about their day. At night we just closed the windows which kept the noise out... but don't know how stifling it might get in the summer if the AC doesn't work :(

Overall, if you are just looking for an inexpensive place to hang your hat while you are out exploring and aren't looking for all the bells and whistles then this hotel will do. It is well located for restaurants, train/bus station, vaporettos, water transport to the airport and also Murano Island if you want to go to see the glass-blowing factories.

Room Tip: If the hotel isn't full when you check in, you might want to ask to SEE the rooms that are avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DardarJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

let's just make it simple:
1- Location is just 250 m away from venice S.Lucia station and very easy to find
2- Just walk few minutes and you get to cannaregio and feel the venice's local life.
3- A lot of restaurant/ gelatery and snack bar around.
4- If you plan to see San mark square on foot, you need to walk about 1.5 km
5- Hotel doesn't have lift. consider this esp. if you have a lot of luggage or baby stroller etc
6- Staff are nice and helpful
7- Interior is old. people who are very allergic to odor and dust mice like me pls consider this.

Room Tip: the hotel is on busy street but since most venice businesses close almost at 9 pm i think it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a five minute walk from the train station and many vaporetto lines so the location is exceptional. Hotel is on a very busy street but if you close the windows it is quiet but then the room is warm. Room is basic and somewhat worn, but clean. Staff is excellent, internet is good and breakfast is basic continental - coffee, orange juice, croissant, cold cereal and some rolls.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Since the hotel is very near to train station it is very easy to find. Rooms are big and clean. Noisy but i liked to hear the city sound :). You can walk to the san marco from different routes app in 20 minutes, also close to vaporetto for murana

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Derya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#254 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#193 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#245 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#164 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#291 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spagna

Property: Hotel Spagna
Address: Lista di Spagna, 184, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spagna Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing