We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable hotel - and coeliac friendly”
Review of Hotel Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spagna
Ranked #219 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable hotel - and coeliac friendly”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Received a very friendly welcome on arrival with suggestions on places to visit etc. When we enquired about breakfast, on mentioning that my daughter is a coelic, the gentleman immediately made arrangements to provide a selection of gluten free breakfast alternatives for her. As mentioned elsewhere the hotel is on the main street but does not suffer from noise.
Rooms are comfortable and clean - in all good value for Venice.

Plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area with the Basilica an easy 25 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    106
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
72
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best part of this is the location, it is just a short walk from the train station. I cannot imagine being one of the poor people lugging their luggage all over Venice.

The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. The shower is a bit cozier than what I am used to, so it made me work a little harder than I would normally like, but that is fairly standard for Italy from my prior experiences. The room was cozy but comfortable, with a small TV that we never watched.

The A/C worked pretty well, but the power is shut off to the room when you are not there - so it takes a bit to cool off in the evening. Again, par for the course for Italy based upon my prior experience.

The staff locked the doors at night to keep out the night crawlers. I had one walk in on me while I was checking my email late at night, he then locked the gate because "there are too many bad people who will come in". That helped me sleep a bit more comfortably.

WiFi is available in the lobby and some rooms, is a good connection and if you buy bulk - relatively inexpensive (for Venice).

The staff was friendly and helpful for the most part.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a bit of luggage, ask for something on a lower floor. Also, WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acme, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located close to train/bus/water taxi. Clean and spacious rooms. We would have given this hotel a good rating, BUT when we went to check out at 4 am to catch an early flight, the hotel
corridors and stairs were dark, no concierge was available at the desk and the main (and only)
exit doors were locked! After trying several hotel phone numbers, and knocking on service staff doors, we had to search through the concierge desk for the main exit door keys, unlock the door
and leave without properly checking out. The fact that we were locked in is really frightening because what if there would have been a fire or another type of emergency?! This would have
been illegal in North America! Cindy B

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Convenient location. Easy to get to train or bus terminal without lugging bags a long distance. Several shops and restaurants within a block or two. We walked only one block to catch the vaporetto to take us anyplace we wanted to go. The man at the front desk provided us with a good map and suggestions about the vaporettos and navigating Venice.

Continental breakfast was cheese, croissants, packaged toast and biscuits, jelly, rolls and coffee/tea/cappucino. This was fine with us, as we expected this. But don't expect a full American breakfast.

We felt this was a good value for Venice, as rooms can be quite expensive. If you want to stay in a five-star fancy hotel, then pay the price. We had a double room and a triple room for the 5 of us, and we were satisfied with what we received.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best part of this hotel is that it is close to the train station and parking lot. The rooms are clean and spacious. For Venice the price isn't bad either. There is no elevator to get up to the "first floor" so this may not be the best hotel option if you have a lot of luggage.

The staff, for the most part was good. We did have one night where the night attendant asked us to leave our key at the front desk which we thought was odd, then when we returned later in the evening they were no where to be found. So we had to wait around for 10 minutes to get our key back. This was very annoying, but we never saw them again later. For the rest of the stay we felt like we were sneaking out after hours like kids at their parents house. Just to avoid having to give up our room key again.

There really isn't anything special about this hotel. Its just a good location for a decent price. You are really just here to sleep anyways.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street. Can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pretzeldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May. The room was clean and comfortable, but basic/small. The bathroom shower was very tiny, but manageable. There was a nice view of the street with pedestrians walking from our window. The room was rather cold at night time and we had to use the extra blankets provided in the closet to keep warm. The hair dryer is not the best, but works fine for a quick job. The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was basic, but good. It consisted of bread and croissants with orange juice, tea, coffee, jam & spreads. My only complaint was that they did not offer free wi-fi. I would recommend this hotel to those wanting to stay close to the train station in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofshalott306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed in April. A short walk from train station, a breeze with luggages as there are no steps. Room decor rather aged although room was big with a double bed plus a single bed. We had booked a double for 2 persons. We requested and was allocated the lowest floor so we only needed to lug luggage up one floor. Same level as check in reception.Rate high for quality but that is the norm in Venice. Stay here for its location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#254 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#193 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#246 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#290 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spagna

Property: Hotel Spagna
Address: Lista di Spagna, 184, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spagna Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing