We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, nice buzz, very authentic, but the food is just ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Al Sacro & Profano

Osteria Al Sacro & Profano
Ranked #231 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Zurich
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice bar, nice buzz, very authentic, but the food is just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The restaurant (located right in the middle of the town) is very small and crowded. Replace "small" with "intimate". It's the perfect place for a date, but not for a large family gathering. I liked the bar area which seems to draw a large crowd of non-eaters. The service was excellent. The menu is limited to authentic local fare...it was good, but not great. Concretely, I had better Fegato all Veneziana.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    162
    42
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We heard about this by our hotel hosts.
It wasn't that hard to find.

It's a very small restaurant, more like a bar than a restaurant.
We didn't see any tourists, only venitians having a drink there at the end of the day.

We has tasty chichetis, wine glasses and risottos of the days, it was delicious.
The jazz music selection was great too.

All in all, a very good place I'd recommend for the food and the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ffllrrnntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Little gem in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were looking for a great lunch and looked at 5 places before we found this place. Only 10 seats, but a nice little place and absolutely fantastic! Very cool vibe to it and everyone there was loving it. My wife had the tagliatelli pesto pomodora and I had the lasagne bolognese. This was my birthday lunch and it was amazing. The owner, Valerio, was excellent, as was the bread and oil (believe me, this makes a big difference).
A couple of glasses of wine and dessert, and we were one happy couple. Good prices, literally the best lunch we ever had, and a gracious host. Don't pass by this place without going in. You'll be glad you did!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, Again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stumbled upon the tiny Osteria Sacro e Profano several years ago, and were glad to find it's still there on a visit to Venice last month. They offer a small printed menu, as well as a hand-written menu of more seasonal choices. Simple, authentic and tasty - especially good "black" risotto. We enjoy watching their little service window onto a side-street, where local guys stop by for a glass of wine in the early evening. Very low key and friendly, with a neighborhood feel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We found by accident. We were off to a show and they did dinner quickly

Tasty and reasonable

Fun little spot

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drillerkc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Sacro & Profano also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Sacro & Profano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing