We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, shame about the food”
Review of All'Aquila

All'Aquila
Ranked #1,199 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Valletta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice decor, shame about the food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Decor was very nice in washed out antique design. The staff were friendly and the wine was very good.
We had the "Tourist Menu" something I never normally do, and something I won't do gain. The pasta was too aldente for my husband, who is mediteraenean I didn't mind it too much. I then had Escalope in lemon sauce with salad, The lemon sauce was all corn starch, and the veal was very small. Not bad, a mediocre meal, nothing to write home about.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensionerposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    81
    89
    67
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“old style rip-off”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stay in Venice every year but until this visit had not been to this restaurant. Unfortunately being tired my usual 'rip-off radar' was on the blink. Too bad -caveat emptor indeed.
Yes the food was very good however you really do pay for the friendly waiter - who despite being chatty couldn't tell us how much our bill would be - and 89 euro for a two course meal for two with some very mediocre wine was way over the top. So be warned. This restaurant advertises a 'tourist menu' outside and if you are on a budget make sure you stick to that - otherwise best avoid. There are plenty of other good places to eat all along this street.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buch am Buchrain, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“check prices!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

again, problem with pricing!! what we had was good, but the waiters fail to remind you that if you order a steak, it doesn't come with anything. anything extra like french fries or vegetables come at 5 euros a portion!! had the same problem with the sea bass!! service was good, waiter very friendly with good English, but felt that we were ripped off!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buch am Buchrain, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“rip off in venice”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Last evening in Venice was spoilt by our experience at this restaurant!!! 45 EUROS FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE!!!!!!! was only lambrusco so nothing special. know that we should have asked the price, but didn't think we would get ripped off!!! my sister and her husband opted for a fish dish recommended by the waiter (who was very helpful and was probably rubbing his hands with glee and greed) cost 64 EUROS - one fish for two people, filleted at the table - with a few veggies on the side!! ALWAYS ask prices!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laurie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I ate at this restaurant with a group of 8 other people. Our waiter spoke fluent English and was very attentive and the food was "OK" although the portions were smaller than most of the other restaurants where we had eaten while in Italy. The problems began when the bill came and we had been charged 45 euros for a bottle of wine (we had drunk 3 bottles). We had requested red wine but failed to specify house wine (we had been doing this same thing for the previous week while in Italy and was always given the house wine). Our waiter had shown us a "local" wine and asked if it was alright, never mentioning that it was 45 euros. He also did not point out that the fish was priced based on weight and that the smallest amount of sea bass that you could get was 300 grams making it 24 euros rather than the 8 euros listed on the menu, although truthfully the menu did list it as 8 euro per 100 grams. We all felt that we had been taken advantage of, including our tour guide, but there was little we could do about the situation other than warn other to be careful of what you order if you go to this restaurant. There is an excellent restaurant just across the street from this one than has seating on the canal and a fixed price menu that is only 15 euros with a liter of house wine for 14 or 15 euros, wonderful staff and sparkling clean restrooms! I highly recommend it....Ristorante Trattoria Povoledo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank OSUPT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All'Aquila also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to All'Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing