We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quieter location, friendly staff. Lacks modern facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Seguso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensione Seguso
Ranked #249 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, quieter location, friendly staff. Lacks modern facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is in a pleasant location, away from the main tourist roads. It looks out over the lagoon. We stayed for 2 nights. We were told it is a fifteenth century building; inside there is a lot of wood & glass & it feels old fashioned but quite quaint. Our room did not have an ensuite bathroom, but this was not a problem as there was a bathroom directly opposite our room which was never busy. Our room was fairly large but was dark & quite humid & stuffy as there is no airconditioning, & it was a little uncomfortable for sleeping at night. Breakfast was satisfactory - cornflakes & yoghurt & tinned fruit as well as some panettone-type bread with jams. The staff were polite & friendly, but I wish they had asked us for the tourist charge or told us about it when we checked in, as we hadn't been aware of such a charge & it kind of put a slight negative on it as we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    21
    14
    13
See reviews for
17
62
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you're looking for a modern hotel then this is not for you. Visiting Pension Seguso feels like travelling back in time to the 1930s. The rooms have a charm to them but the hotel ultimately misses out on modern convenience. Our room had a double bed and sink but no en suite. We appeared to be the only people on our floor so walking across the landing to the bathroom was not too much of an inconvenience, and a price worth paying. However, the rooms had no air conditioning or fans. It was almost 40 degrees C when we visited in June 2012 and this was the biggest draw back with the hotel.
En suits are available and the rooms at the front of the hotel had amazing views over the lagoon.
The location is near perfect. It is around a 25 minuet walk to St Marco's square and the rooms are quiet.
Service was good and breakfast what you would expect: cereal, fruit and toast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel had amazing views over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveOldhamCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

On the first day, a staff member showed us how to open the windows. I noticed that there were no screens, and asked about mosquitos; the staff member assured us that there were none.

Riiiiiiiiggggggghhhthhttttt

Then kindly please explain that buzzing in my ear at night. And in my wife's. And please explain all these bites - oh, wait, maybe I don't want to know. These other reviewers are saying "bed bugs". Hmmm....well, the symptoms match! Dozens and dozens of tiny bites, close-spaced.

The noise from the side-canal was amazing, both in volume and in how late it went.

The heat was excruciating. Not the hotel's fault that Venice is having a heat wave, but sleepers should not have to choose between heatstroke and being eaten!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a "quiet" room -meaning not facing the side-canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaPseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Where do I begin? Breakfast sucked, the beds were uncomfortable, the toilet broke repeatedly, the bathroom flooded, the shower had no curtain, the handle for the shower sprayer was cracked, the shower head was clogged so the water dribbled out, the door to the room would not shut without slamming, and they charge for extra towels to clean up the flooded bathroom.

But the real joy of this hotel? BED BUGS!!!! Came home full of bites and had to disinfect our luggage and clothes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toujourstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent 3 nights in May at the Pensione Seguso. Excellent location, quiet, but close to all the attractions. Nice room, comfortable side by side single beds and an adequate bathroom. No bed bugs that we could find (and we did look) or feel. Lovely breakfast room with a good breakfast. Expensive but not compared to everything else in Venice. Has wireless internet which worked on the ground floor. Would stay there again if in Venice.

Room Tip: If you feel like not dining out there is a nice place to sit at the front of the hotel where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife, her sister & husband & I stayed here for 1 night in May. Each of us had a room on the second floor. They had the larger of the two with a wrap around balcony while we had 2 doors to a smaller blacony overlooking the front of the building. A bathroom was shared between the 2 rooms.There is a canal to the side of the property and it faces out onto the walkway and water..There is a small area in which to sit at the tables next to a small bridge and it was here that we sat & enjoyed a bottle of wine as the sun set. There are several restaurants in the immediate area within easy reach offering a wide variety of excellant foods. A walk to St Mark's square is approx 20 minutes from the hotel and we were able to take a water bus (#2) close to where we dropped our Hertz rental to the hotel for 6 euros each. It was a great first view of the grand canal. Pensione Seguso is quaint and an affordable alternative to larger and more expensive hotels in Venice. The rooms are quite large and have a handsink in the room for freshening up. The property owner is quite pleasant and more than willing to arrange transfers and or to assist you with any matters. 'We were able to book a water taxi to the airport as we left early in the morning - 110 euro for 4. One tip would be to avoid the baggage handlers waiting dockside to take your luggage at extra cost. If you are mobile the walk to the airport from the dock is approx less than 10 minutes..follow the white roofed walkway to the left as you exit the dock.
All in all this is an excellant choice and well worth the money! We have also stayed at Carlton on the Grand and although it was lovely, this pensione well exceeded our expectations for a quaint clean and afforable night.Do not expect a fancy hotel feel - if you know what to expect you will not be disapointed...

Room Tip: corner room on 2nd floor has a wrap around balcony overlooking the quiet side canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights in May. We really liked the hotel, facilities, breakfast and location. The view is spectacular. Unfortunately after the first night, my daughter had about 2 dozen insect bites on her arms and legs. We didn't report it to management and didn't think to check the room. After we returned back to the states, I looked up photos for bed bugs. Unfortunately they look the same as my daughter's bites. The bites were a little smaller than pencil erasers, red and did NOT itch. They did last for an entire week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_BWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#173 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#230 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#146 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner
Hotel Messner
#257 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Castello
Hotel Wildner
Hotel Wildner
#194 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione La Calcina
Pensione La Calcina
#31 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Seguso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Seguso

Property: Pensione Seguso
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 779 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Seguso 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Pensione Seguso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Seguso Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing