We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilets don't work and beds full of bed bugs.”
Review of Pensione Seguso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione Seguso
Ranked #326 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Where do I begin? Breakfast sucked, the beds were uncomfortable, the toilet broke repeatedly, the bathroom flooded, the shower had no curtain, the handle for the shower sprayer was cracked, the shower head was clogged so the water dribbled out, the door to the room would not shut without slamming, and they charge for extra towels to clean up the flooded bathroom.

But the real joy of this hotel? BED BUGS!!!! Came home full of bites and had to disinfect our luggage and clothes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toujourstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent 3 nights in May at the Pensione Seguso. Excellent location, quiet, but close to all the attractions. Nice room, comfortable side by side single beds and an adequate bathroom. No bed bugs that we could find (and we did look) or feel. Lovely breakfast room with a good breakfast. Expensive but not compared to everything else in Venice. Has wireless internet which worked on the ground floor. Would stay there again if in Venice.

Room Tip: If you feel like not dining out there is a nice place to sit at the front of the hotel where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife, her sister & husband & I stayed here for 1 night in May. Each of us had a room on the second floor. They had the larger of the two with a wrap around balcony while we had 2 doors to a smaller blacony overlooking the front of the building. A bathroom was shared between the 2 rooms.There is a canal to the side of the property and it faces out onto the walkway and water..There is a small area in which to sit at the tables next to a small bridge and it was here that we sat & enjoyed a bottle of wine as the sun set. There are several restaurants in the immediate area within easy reach offering a wide variety of excellant foods. A walk to St Mark's square is approx 20 minutes from the hotel and we were able to take a water bus (#2) close to where we dropped our Hertz rental to the hotel for 6 euros each. It was a great first view of the grand canal. Pensione Seguso is quaint and an affordable alternative to larger and more expensive hotels in Venice. The rooms are quite large and have a handsink in the room for freshening up. The property owner is quite pleasant and more than willing to arrange transfers and or to assist you with any matters. 'We were able to book a water taxi to the airport as we left early in the morning - 110 euro for 4. One tip would be to avoid the baggage handlers waiting dockside to take your luggage at extra cost. If you are mobile the walk to the airport from the dock is approx less than 10 minutes..follow the white roofed walkway to the left as you exit the dock.
All in all this is an excellant choice and well worth the money! We have also stayed at Carlton on the Grand and although it was lovely, this pensione well exceeded our expectations for a quaint clean and afforable night.Do not expect a fancy hotel feel - if you know what to expect you will not be disapointed...

Room Tip: corner room on 2nd floor has a wrap around balcony overlooking the quiet side canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights in May. We really liked the hotel, facilities, breakfast and location. The view is spectacular. Unfortunately after the first night, my daughter had about 2 dozen insect bites on her arms and legs. We didn't report it to management and didn't think to check the room. After we returned back to the states, I looked up photos for bed bugs. Unfortunately they look the same as my daughter's bites. The bites were a little smaller than pencil erasers, red and did NOT itch. They did last for an entire week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda_BWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was a bad bad idea.
I felt terrible- it was my birthday and i had booked this place.. thinking the view that they promised me.. will be amazing. Facing the canal.
points to note:
1. I was not given the room with the view as was promised to me.
2. The rooms are terrible and cracking walls.
3. It has sharing bathrooms.
4. The cultery that was placed at the reception has cracked cups.
5. you will just about fit into the bathroom.
6. There are no toiletries.
7. i wasnt comfortable using the blankets... didnt seem clean

Just a terrible experience.. luckily we were in venice for only half a day.. so we spent 6 hours in the city.. and 5 hours in the hotel and we left in the morning.
Its very expensive for what they are..

Room Tip: dont choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruchi_chopra_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very nice and friendly. Exellent location, rooms and service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here in Oct 10. We loved everything about Seguso it is absolutely charming in every way. It’s like stepping back to a really special place in time. Lovely old world furniture with chandeliers and rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is simple but adequate (thats Italy) and served in the beautiful dining room. We found this place after leaving another hotel because of its very small rooms, but were more than happy with our room with private bath here for the same price. This is a great location close to some nice restaurants and convenient to vaparetto.
Would stay here again anytime...just hope it’s soon....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner
Hotel Messner
#267 of 385 in Venice
764 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,608 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#161 of 385 in Venice
253 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,449 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#266 of 385 in Venice
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Seguso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Seguso

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 779 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $71 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Seguso 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pensione Seguso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Seguso Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing