We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value”
Review of Palazzo del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo del Giglio
Ranked #83 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This small hotel is perfectly placed in the most expensive part of Venice with easy access in all directions, and it is reasonably priced. We had a suite of two rooms overlooking the Campo, with a small kitchenette . The beds are small but there is masses of cupboard space and decent bedside tables with proper lights. The décor is old, in fact the whole place has a distinctly and charming 1960's feel to it. We loved it. The breakfast is adequate and although there is no room service they left fresh fruit in the room and a bottle of Prosecco. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the campo is quiet at night. Plenty of hot water and efficient air-con if a bit noisy.
Free wireless which went off and on a bit but given that the Mayor of Venice and over 30 of the council members had just been arrested, it was a wonder the electricity was still working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 328 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

A short 50m walk from the vaporetto gets you to the door of the Palazzo del Giglio. We arrived in the morning before the room was ready and checked out late in the afternoon. The staff did well to accommodate this complication. I'm pretty certain that had the room been available the night that we checked out that they would have let us back in to make ourselves comfortable before the flight.

The room, was small (but it is Venice!), but comfortable. Welcome bowl of fruit was pleasant.
I couldn't get the Jacuzzi bath to work, and we work woken at 7.30 am by the neighbours removing the render on their exterior walls with a team of hammers (hence why I scored sleep quality at 3/5)

Breakfast was average - much more 3* than 4*.

I would probably stay here again because I thought it was an excellent blend of value of money versus location, and the staff were very friendly and the rooms comfortable.

Service at the restaurant next to the hotel was poor, venture further afield!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights, good size room, champagne on arrival, fruit in the room, good size bathroom, staff speak English very well and were very helpful, terrific breakfast, many choices. It was a little noisy outside our window, but we were in the heart of Venice in an excellent location and it was a minor detail. We stayed on the first floor, good wardrobe space to unpack, we enjoyed our stay very much and would be happy to return. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parisitaly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. the best thing about this hotel is the location, it's very close to vaportte(water taxi) station and St. Mark's square is also very close...our room was very small, which was expected since venice is a small city and buildings are also not that big. the washroom was of good size. the room was clean with a fruit basket, breakfast was ok, one can skip breakfast and eat a hearty breakfast outside....the room rate was a bit high but that was expected since venice is a hot tourist destination. front desk staff was very helpful. venice in september was still hot, outside it was pleasant but rooms were hot. air-con was not working at all, at night it became hot, upon checking i found that the air duct was clogged with dust. out of courtesy we didnt inform the hotel staff but if u r planning to stay in this hotel during summer months then do check the air-con....apart from this everything else about the hotel was great...will definetly stay at this hotel again but with a room with good air-con....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIGLIO2013, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comment which we have found helpful.

In relation to your observation about the malfunctioning airconditioning, it is unfortunate that you did not bring it to our attention. As Venice is very hot during the summer months, we prioritise an effective airconditioning system and regularly inspect it. We have in the past observed that some of our clientele were unable to operate the system properly which we quickly resolved.

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope that you will visit us again soon and would urge you to immediately bring to our attention any issues that you are dissatisfied with.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booking.com had given this a 8.5 rating. Not sure why, but i presume the friendly staff and the location had much to do with it.
When i say the rooms are small, i am not exaggerating. The shower was the smallest I have come across in all my travels.
We were not told that we are a couple of alleyways away from St Marks, instead had to take the boats too and fro.
Not value for money :(

Room Tip: Unsure, but ask for the biggest room. Don't get seduced by the promise of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIGLIO2013, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your observations. I would like to add that in relation to the room sizes, the hotel rooms are accurately described on booking.com in square meterage and the pricing of the rooms is also a fair reflection thereof.
The room that you choose is the economy room which is the hotel's smallest and cheapest option. Upon booking the rooms, all room sizes are clearly indicated.
In terms of the hotel's location, its geographical position is clearly shown on the website map and is indeed a five minute walk at a reasonable pace. Whilst we are extremely sorry that you did not ask for directions to the hotel's reception desk, the hotel's central location and extremely close positioning to St Mark's square are one of Palazzo del Giglio's attractions.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved everything about this beautiful hotel. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The rooms were beautifully decorated and we were greeted with a fresh fruit basket on arrival plus a bottle of sparkling Italian wine. The breakfast was nicely presented and the location was just a few minutes walk to St Marks Square and only a couple of minutes from the Vaporetta. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in Palazzo del Giglio in Venice last weekend in a junior suite. We originally had a reservation for 3, but they let us bring a 4th person with a small additional charge. The living room in the suite had a sofa whick converted into 2 separate beds, which was great for my friend and I. The staff were wonderful, the breakfast was great, and the location was perfect--very close to San Marco and San Stefano piazzas while still being quiet. This is a great place to stay in Venice!

Room Tip: The junior suite afforded a lot of privacy--we were 2 adult women, friends, travelling w/my elderly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 387 in Venice
929 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#140 of 387 in Venice
632 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 387 in Venice
1,317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Giglio

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2462 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Venice
#56 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $125 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo del Giglio 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Giglio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing