We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location..!!”
Review of Palazzo del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo del Giglio
Ranked #81 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. the best thing about this hotel is the location, it's very close to vaportte(water taxi) station and St. Mark's square is also very close...our room was very small, which was expected since venice is a small city and buildings are also not that big. the washroom was of good size. the room was clean with a fruit basket, breakfast was ok, one can skip breakfast and eat a hearty breakfast outside....the room rate was a bit high but that was expected since venice is a hot tourist destination. front desk staff was very helpful. venice in september was still hot, outside it was pleasant but rooms were hot. air-con was not working at all, at night it became hot, upon checking i found that the air duct was clogged with dust. out of courtesy we didnt inform the hotel staff but if u r planning to stay in this hotel during summer months then do check the air-con....apart from this everything else about the hotel was great...will definetly stay at this hotel again but with a room with good air-con....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIGLIO2013, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comment which we have found helpful.

In relation to your observation about the malfunctioning airconditioning, it is unfortunate that you did not bring it to our attention. As Venice is very hot during the summer months, we prioritise an effective airconditioning system and regularly inspect it. We have in the past observed that some of our clientele were unable to operate the system properly which we quickly resolved.

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope that you will visit us again soon and would urge you to immediately bring to our attention any issues that you are dissatisfied with.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booking.com had given this a 8.5 rating. Not sure why, but i presume the friendly staff and the location had much to do with it.
When i say the rooms are small, i am not exaggerating. The shower was the smallest I have come across in all my travels.
We were not told that we are a couple of alleyways away from St Marks, instead had to take the boats too and fro.
Not value for money :(

Room Tip: Unsure, but ask for the biggest room. Don't get seduced by the promise of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIGLIO2013, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your observations. I would like to add that in relation to the room sizes, the hotel rooms are accurately described on booking.com in square meterage and the pricing of the rooms is also a fair reflection thereof.
The room that you choose is the economy room which is the hotel's smallest and cheapest option. Upon booking the rooms, all room sizes are clearly indicated.
In terms of the hotel's location, its geographical position is clearly shown on the website map and is indeed a five minute walk at a reasonable pace. Whilst we are extremely sorry that you did not ask for directions to the hotel's reception desk, the hotel's central location and extremely close positioning to St Mark's square are one of Palazzo del Giglio's attractions.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved everything about this beautiful hotel. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The rooms were beautifully decorated and we were greeted with a fresh fruit basket on arrival plus a bottle of sparkling Italian wine. The breakfast was nicely presented and the location was just a few minutes walk to St Marks Square and only a couple of minutes from the Vaporetta. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in Palazzo del Giglio in Venice last weekend in a junior suite. We originally had a reservation for 3, but they let us bring a 4th person with a small additional charge. The living room in the suite had a sofa whick converted into 2 separate beds, which was great for my friend and I. The staff were wonderful, the breakfast was great, and the location was perfect--very close to San Marco and San Stefano piazzas while still being quiet. This is a great place to stay in Venice!

Room Tip: The junior suite afforded a lot of privacy--we were 2 adult women, friends, travelling w/my elderly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed July 7-8, 2013 in a one bedroom for 2 nights with two of our children, ages 11, and 14. Cute one bedroom with separate living room and small usable kitchen. Everything just right. Great location, great atmosphere, on great little palazzo. Great staff. Absolutely no negatives. Go to the operatic musical performance at the palace Giglio only a block away (Hotel has tickets). fantastic complement to your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in May 2013. We were treated like royalty. The bonus there was that most of the employees spoke also French. Management surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our 25th wedding anniversary. We always came back to our room with a fresh basket of fruits waiting for us.
Location is excellent, only a few minutes walk to the St-Marc square and even closer to the Grand Canal and vaporetto (water bus).
The bed was very comfortable. Typical size (small) room for Venice. Very clean, good continental breakfast.
Staff very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend it. A good and well deserved 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have a share property in Palazzo del Giglio in Venice since 1985 and I have been using it ever since, but I also use the hotel facilities during visits at other times of the year.. Rooms are large with elegant furnishings, bathrooms very clean and the air conditioning has always done its job. Personnel is kind and efficient. But the best thing of of all is that you are near Piazza San Marco, in the center of one of Europe's most exiting cities, where culture is continually renovating with dozens of art exhibitions, historical sites and concerts, The Fenice theater in first place with operas and ballets from classic to modern tradition. And, with the n. 1 or 2 waterbus, in ten minutes you are at the lido Di Venezia, with its clean and sunny beaches.. What more could one ask???

Room Tip: I have slept in almost all the rooms of the hotel, my favorite are the two first floor apartments wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loredana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#76 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 385 in Venice
628 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#66 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Giglio

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2462 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $137 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo del Giglio 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Giglio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing