We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay!”
Review of Palazzo del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo del Giglio
Ranked #80 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. Its conveniently located right next to the vaporetto stop so even with four wheeled luggages we had no problem getting there from the main train station. The staffs there were all very friendly, genuinely helpful. We were also given complimentary champagne and a bowl of fruits when we arrived our room. They even refill the fruit bowl everyday! The staff helped us with our luggages although there is a lift available. The breakfast was not bad at all. Overall I would be happy to stay here again if the rate is good!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ktvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

everything was fantastic, from e.mail after booking (because of some special request ) to the check out.
Staff was incredibly nice, well informed and prompty in their reply in many lenguages.
Kind, friendly, and polite

room is fab, large and confortable, maybe not too modern features but is Venice....need atmosphere. Great position too, when you get lost in Venice you will always end up in the square.

breakfast was very satisfying with choice and quality

i def reccomend this hotel to anyone, was very good

Room Tip: ask to reception all the information you need, they can direct you in good places to eat as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had to find a hotel sort of last minute so the selection wasn't exactly huge, with our criterion being close to St. Mark's Square. So with that said this hotel was pretty good. The staff was extremely nice. Location was perfect. The room seemed very old and very odd style compared to our other Italian hotels. The price was not cheap but good for Venice. The breakfast was great. Notably there were many Italians staying there which always provides some street cred and of course some wonderfully awkward dirty looks during breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent two nights in this hotel. Centrally located on the relative quiet Piazza Santa Maria del Giglio, with vaporetto stop one street away (although we found that almost everything is within walking distance). Staff is friendly and helpful. Room was a bit small and maybe somewhat outdated. No complaints however as everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Across the hotel lies Ristorante Al Giglio where you can relax and enjoy a drink after walking around in the city (or have dinner of course).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel calls itself a four-star hotel, but it is not more than a two-star hotel. The small entrance is dark with two grungy couches. There is no room service or other services expected of a good hotel. Breakfast is minimal. The room is medium-sized but is tastelessly decorated and far from luxurious. My room was advertised as having a jacuzzi, but in reality it was an old bathtub. The positive reviews on this site, which I relied on before booking a room at this hotel, could not have been written by actual guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheynemeydele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for two days at this hotel which is at the end of a narrow street from the Vaporetto 1 Stop (2 minutes) and 5 minute walking distance to the San Marco Piazza. The two ladies at the reception and the lady who served breakfast in the morning were all smiles and made our stay enjoyable. The drinks and the fruit platter were a nice welcome touch. The deluxe room although a bit small was just enough for a couple and the price was a bit on the higher side compared to the room size, but I assume that this is the normal rate during busy summer season in Venice. The hotel is located in a small piazza but very quiet so one can get a good night sleep after the hustle bustle of San Marco Piazza. The wide street leading from the hotel to San Marco Basilica is well lit and safe to walk at night. The only negative about the room was the jacuzzi which either didn't work or we did not know how to operate it. It would be better if the hotel management posts an info on the wall on how to use it. Overall, a good hotel to stay if one wants a peaceful surrounding but close walking distance to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite on the front side. They are bigger and have a good view of the Piazza and the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although this was my fourth visit to Venice , this was the first time I had stayed here. The location is hard to beat and probably half the price of the premier hotels in the city . It's also very easy to arrive and get away from the city and for people who walk a lot and want to explore the city inside out, as well as attend opera and concerts like us, the perfect strategic area to be based at. Service was friendly and helpful - and managed by 4 women! Rooms are a bit on the dark side and the acoustics not great but this matters less if you were out most of the time as we were. They look out to a piazza with an interesting church or inward but they are spacious . Breakfast was generous . My friends have also visited Venice several times before and we all agreed that this was one of the best places we have stayed at - I'll certainly return again.

Room Tip: The suites are very good value if 3-5 are sharing though you would need to be good friends or a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seren2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
751 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#139 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Giglio

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2462 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $169 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo del Giglio 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Giglio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing