We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Residenza
Nearby Hotels
$334
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,005
$561
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$366
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$486
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,370
$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$261
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
$650
$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$322
$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
73
104
34
24
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
104
34
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain salonquiet squarepiano nobilegrand canalmark's squarepublic roomscontinental breakfast isstay there againyogurtreception deskfirst flooritalian hotelseuros per nightreal venicebread rollsgreat roomspacious room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 255 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose La Residenza because most reviews stated that it was clean, close to everything, and reasonably priced for Venice. All turned out to be true. Some reviews stated the unfriendliness of the staff, but it was not the case in our opinion. At check-in, the front desk manager met us at the door and helped us with the luggage. The room was very clean, comfortable and the AC worked well. The breakfast was simple but adequate. Italians are not big on breakfast anyway.They helped us with choosing restaurants and vaporetto connections during our stay. We left in the morning while the manager, a different one, was still busy serving breakfast, but he took time to help us with our luggage down the stairs and to wish us a good trip. We reserved directly with the hotel through their website.They prefer cash payment, which we found to be true in many smaller hotels and B&B in Europe. But most also give you a 5 to 10% discount if you pay cash, so we considered it a win-win option. Also, there seem to be limitation on electric use, so many smaller hotels in Italy turn their AC on only in the afternoon, assuming that the tourists will be out during the day anyway. This did not bother us either. When travelling abroad it is good to adjust your expectations and you will have a great time. When in Rome do as the Romans do! Take the Arsenale stop if you have heavy luggage. It is only one bridge away from the hotel compared to San Zaccaria stop with 3 bridges to cross.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina50952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here just one night before we departed on a cruise out of Venice. The hotel lobby was beautiful and the staff were all very friendly to us. We chose this hotel for a combination of its location and price. It had A/C which was much needed in late June, and was a very convenient location. We slept well there and they offered a complimentary breakfast that we unfortunately slept through. Oops. :)

A week later after our cruise, we had a few hours to kill before our flight out of Venice. We went back to Hotel La Residenza and asked if they could hold our bags for us for a few hours. They said, yes of course! We tipped the nice man after of course, but that was SO wonderful they helped us out so we didnt have to haul around those big suitcases for a few hours and were able to enjoy Venice one last time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcake472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Clean yes, Comfortable No. The first part of June and three beautiful days in Venice however it was rather warm but we were told that the air conditioning is not turned on until after the middle of June. No exceptions! The front desk managers were less than friendly. We were actually yelled at for walking to the bar/coffee shop accross the square/campo to have a cocktail and cool off because we had failed to leave our room key up at the front desk on the third floor.
The morning breakfast was sparce at best and not worth the trouble. The hallways have very low ceilings and if your husband is tall as mine is good luck he had to duck three times before even making it into our room. Our best friends had the room next to us and it was just as bad. If your on an extreme budget and ask not to get the dungeon rooms we had maybe you would want to stay here but everything is quite a distance from this hotel and no one is friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure if they advertise A/C that they guarantee it will work.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel and room was very clean and spacious. There was a nice woman who occasionally worked the desk and was very friendly and helpful. That's the extent of the good stuff. For the rest, we were greeted by a grumpy man, manager I assume, who seemed to be annoyed to take our luggage up to our room on the second floor; there is no elevator (we didn't ask or expect him to do this so we were surprised by his demeanor). You enter the hotel on the ground floor into a small, dark room. You must walk up stairs to the third floor to the lobby to be acknowledged. The third floor is a large spacious room, which also serves as the breakfast room. The breakfast was minimal and lacking in substance and quality. Everyone was looking around at each others tables wondering if this was it or would actual food be brought out. Our room (216) faced the square, which seemed to be a gathering place for local residents and occasional celebrations. It was loud. If we had wanted to watch the activity in he square, we could not because the one large window in the room was stained glass and we could not see out. It was very hot in Venice when we were there June 20-21, 2013. The A/C in the room was promptly turned off at 10:00 AM. So, we basically had to stay out of the room for the day to avoid a sweltering hot room. There is no place at this hotel to relax and enjoy a glass of wine and visit. The lobby/breakfast room is large with seating, but it is so hot in there and the open window, allowing the heat and bugs to invade, does nothing to help. If you stay here, you should plan to simply sleep (but the bed is hard as a board so good luck with that) and shower and spend the rest of the time enjoying beautiful Venice. Plan to walk a while or take a long vaporetto ride as the hotel is located on the sea end of town away from the attractions, shopping, restaurants and beautiful canal areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

When my wife and I arrived in Venice after a long flight from the U.S. via Rome, we wanted to get to our hotel quickly, get a nice dinner and get some sleep. Hotel La Residenza provided all of those things orchestrated by an exquisite hostess named Fulvia. She was gracious and patient with us even though we spoke no Italian. The hotel itself is splendid in that it is actually a centuries old house converted into hotel rooms, and although there is no restaurant in the hotel, Fulvia assured us at check in that if we would come back after freshening up she would direct us to several very good restaurants close by. When we returned to inquire about the restaurants, we were treated to a gorgeous view of the courtyard outside the hotel while Fulvia drew a little map with three X's on it and the names of three restaurants beside the X's. She explained that the first was good for seafood, the second for seafood as well as pasta, and the third for pasta. To our delighted surprise, all of the restaurants were outstanding both in the food as well as the fact that locals - not just tourists - were there eating with us. The meals were exquisitely prepared and service was wonderful, but the added bonus was that we were only a 3-5 min. walk from our hotel. In addition to the convenience of the restaurants, the hotel was 3 min. from the Grand Canal waterfront and a short walk to either Arsenale or to St. Mark's Square. At the end of our stay, Fulvia topped off her service to us by directing us to the quickest water taxi to the train station and allowing me to use the hotel computer and printer to print a train ticket that I had neglected to print before leaving for Italy. We began our two-week Italian trip in the most enjoyable and relaxing manner possible by staying at Hotel La Residenza, and we would stay there again if we return to Venice. And if we do, we hope Fulvia is there to again fulfill the role of supreme hostess.
Larry Williams, Sugar Hill, GA

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a corner of the courtyard which was a busy place full of tourists and children playing. With the windows open, it can be a bit noisy until about 9:30, so if that presents a problem, you may want to ask for an interior room. However we enjoyed being able to look out onto the courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews