We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensione La Calcina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveler rating
495
273
51
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
273
51
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiudecca canaljohn ruskinzattere stopthe hotel's restaurantdorsoduro areasingle roomaccademia bridgeno liftboat trafficrooms are smallshort walkwater bussan marcorooftop terracethe hotel offerseach morningyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 853 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We just came back from 4 days at La Calcina. It is the very best location, you can walk easily to San Marco, use the water buses, I would stay here again. The rooms are small and musty, and our room had a view of a wall. The breakfasts are great. The restaurant is also great and the person I remember best with the greatest love for his job is the head maitre 'd. He goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The rest of the staff while always polite are very reserved, seem uninformed about tours, etc and can not be used as a concierge. Despite all this, I would go back again, because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank FemelWita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A delightful hotel in the perfect location, quiet, comfortable and a short walk or boatride from everything Venice has to offer. The view of Giudecca across the water from the rooms with a view is stunning.

Breakfast is very missable, but there is a cafe a few doors along the Zattere that does the ideal 'stand at the counter, slugging back excellent coffee among a crowd of locals on their way to work' thing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWanderingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed in room 8. No view which is fine as we spend very little time in our room. Bed comfortable, room clean and bathroom spotless. 2 fold out luggage stands which we appreciate. I hate having my bag on the floor. Hanging space in a wardrobe and a desk and chair.
Staff friendly and always helpful. Hotel convenient to vaporetto and airport ferry. Area quiet at night and we slept undisturbed. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast simple but very good. A boiled egg only cooked option but lovely bread, ham, cheese and pastries. Also cereal and yogurt.

Had tea on outside deck over the water every afternoon. Served yummy shortbread cookies and great to just sit and enjoy the view.

Reception will lend plastic overshoes so check with them if you need them on high tide days.

Only downside is that I like to open window for fresh air but the extractor fan for kitchen is directly below the window so a bit noisy and kitchen smells.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluenanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'm astonished that the reviews are so good! We loathed it. We had a second floor room overlooking the Guidecca, pretty view, but tiny room with rubbish shower, not redecorated in YEARS it seems, and tatty furniture that reminded me of boarding school. No lift and no help up or down with luggage.

Price outrageous at Euros 330/night and we bitterly regretted not having booked enough months ahead to have been able to stay on in the Hotel Flora (same price) in San Marco district. Convenient for Zattere but the vaporetti ran to the stop only 80 yards away until 2 a.m. and restarted at 6 a.m. so it was like dossing down in the engine room! Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

La Calcina is a wonderful place with much to offer the weary traveler. To begin with, it is well-located, just a short & interesting stroll to the Vaporetto. Altho the rooms are somewhat small, they are bright, clean, comfortable & well-appointed. Our corner room had a truly wonderful view of the Giudeca & the passing boats, which offered additional delight & indeed reward. We were also most pleased with the restaurant: its service, attention to detail, & its delightful menu (breakfast & dinner). We were never rushed in any way. Service was excellent, as was our stay. We will return.... And, oh, by the way, how marvelous to have stayed in the once home of John Ruskin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agolfpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews