We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wouldn't stay anywhere else...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione La Calcina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pensione La Calcina
Ranked #33 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at La Calcina for the 5th consecutive year during Carnevale 2013 and wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else (having done so twice before discovering this wonderful small hotel). Absolutely everything about it suits us. Excellent and quiet position, yet within an easy walk of Piazza San Marco, very friendly staff who speak English, and a tremendous bonus: wonderful food in their restaurant. We never eat anywhere else in the evening. Why risk ending up somewhere mediocre when we know that at La Calcina we will eat well? After a full day on our feet, no need to wander around looking for alternatives. Quite often we have Italian friends come to eat with us while we are there, and they are also very complimentary about the food. So all in all, the perfect place for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Friderika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    255
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
86
391
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this lovely old world hotel while enjoying the high lights of the carnevale. The hotel is very well located in the quiet district of Dorsoduro and just brilliant for visiting the art galleries of Venice. Its a relief to return to the relative quiet of the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of St Marks. The hotel exudes old world charm and has interesting literary connections . the staff really couldn't have been more helpful in organising our various transport needs. The catering staff were also brilliant and the breakfast buffet was delightful and plentiful.
So refreshing to stay in a place where one doesn't feel ripped off for every little additional extra. WIVI was complimetary, as were the bottles of mineral water provided in the rooms.

Room Tip: The small single rooms are really very small, and some of the doubles are also on the smallish side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marzenna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I love LaCalcina. We have stayed there many times over the years. The staff are always extremely helpful and have excellent English. The hotel is tastefully decorated and furnished. The rooms are clean and comfortable and many have superb views - just ask the staff when you're booking to make sure you get one of the best ones. There is a lofty roof-terrace right on top of the hotel that you can book for your own private use! It has extraordinary views across the whole area. The hotel is only 10 minutes from Piazza San Marco on foot and only 3 minutes from the Accademia gallery (or about 5 from the Guggenheim if modern art is more your thing). The Zattere is a very convenient place to stay but doesn't suffer from the crowded feeling of San Marco district. The stops for the vaporetti (water buses) are also close-by, so you can get to San Marco, Rialto or indeed anywhere else pretty easily if you don't feel like walking. Nearby Nico's is a must for the Gianduiotto ice cream. We have tried other Venetian hotels, but only because La Calcina was fully booked when we wanted to go and, to be honest, we wouldn't stay anywhere else again.

Room Tip: We'd strongly recommend rooms 2 and 4 on the first floor and room 22 on the second floor (we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful location by the canal and in a safe distance from main tourist tracks. I have stayed there in winter and the hotel was peaceful and cosy. Smiling receptionists made me feel welcome each time I appeared in the hall. I asked a lot of questions and required some assistance because couple of places I wanted to visit were closed for the holiday season in December. I received all the help needed in finding a proper restaurants and booking tables. Needless to say, I would love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second stay at La Calcina. The entire experience was very pleasant. The restaurant was good, the rooms were pleasant and their staff was very helpful. If possible, avoid room number 9 due to an unfortunate smell, the source of which we failed to identify.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the canal seem to be worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was full when we booked, but they have a self contained apartment a few blocks away, a 2 minute walk. The apartment can sleep 4, with 2 people on the sofabed. It is well equipped with air-con, TV, mini bar, lounge, bedroom with twin beds and bathroom.
It was really like your own home in Venice. But one could use the hotel for breakfast. It was absolutely ideal.

Room Tip: Choose this self contained apartment, rather than the hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_t00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 days over the 2013 New Year. Our favorite part was the great breakfast that was included with our stay. The food, coffee and little sitting room felt cosy and the staff was extremely welcoming. The location is right by a water taxi stop, and along a big canal that's beautiful. It is a short walk through tiny alleys and canals to get to the main tourist area, but far enough away to be quiet and find some great little local restaurants. Our room was in the Iris, an apartment style room in the separate building around the corner from the main entrance. Nothing fancy, but it was comfortable and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#19 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Property: Pensione La Calcina
Address: Campiello de la Calcina Dorsoduro 780 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl and Travelocity so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing