We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione La Calcina
Ranked #36 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It is difficult to pick a room based on reviews. After having stayed here I can tell you all that this hotel is worth the money. It is well located to the action. It is on the water. It has a lovelyrestaurant on the water with a great breakfast. The rooms are well appointed and quiet. There is a frig in the room. It is seconds from the vaporetto and walking distance for even lazy folks like me to St Mark's. The staff is helpful. The cost is worth it. I say....stay...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    262
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
89
403
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naarden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although the room is not big and pricely, but with the magic view over the canal made it worthwile.
The service was excellent and breakfast was good. Even having lunch or dinner on the terrace was magnificant, very good food and. Romantic.
After 3 days we even prolonged our stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford choose a room with a canal view, highly romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeDF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

There are many famous critics and artists, but I am not familiar with all of them: maybe I am just too narrow-minded. The fact that La Calcina was 'Ruskins house' therefore initially meant nothing to me. But you cannot help but appreciate the cute 100-year old type writer as you walk up the stairs. Nor can you ignore the beautiful pictures on the wall.

The rooms are cute, with wooden floors and homely furnishings (a welcome break as I am a business traveller too accustomed to generic and heartless big chain hotels). The aircon works wonders for the body after a day in sweltering Mediterranean heat. The beds are comfortable and as if by magic, the bathroom is constantly topped-up with the essential shower gel. This is a hotel where there is more than one visit by housekeeping per day; a rarity among small hotels.

The breakfast is vast and continental (who wants full English in Italy anyway?) and the service very attentive. On sunny days, you can sit and eat on the floating pontoon. Which reminds me, the restaurant is also worth a visit one evening. The hotel guests' menu is a little confusing, and needs some explanation, but the meals are nice and filling, and very prompt. The Head Waiter--not to be confused with George Clooney--knows his wine and nothing is forgotten. Even if you do not stay in the hotel, the restaurant is a destination in its own right.

The hotel is a little bit off the beaten track, but is ideal insofar as it is well away from the impersonal tourist-trap that is any city centre (albeit less so at St. Marcos square than, eg, Rome or London). I would go as far as stating it is 'real Venice'. In any event, you can easily walk to the centre or get the water bus.

So all-in, we enjoyed our stay. With so much to choose from in this day and age, it's not normal for me to stay in the same place twice. But here I may make an exception. So who was Ruskin again?

Room Tip: Only get a waterfront room if you want to wake up to sunlight and amazing views of the waterway. Of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fresh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recommend anyone visiting Venice to consider a stay at this hotel. The positives - great service all round, especially from the waiters at the restaurant, and excellent location right on the waterfront. It was also conveniently located within 5 minutes walk from 2 vaporetto stops yet not noisy at all. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a stunning view of the canal - be sure to try to get a canal facing room if budget allows.
One downside is the lack of elevators so those with heavy luggage would be well advised to avoid getting rooms on the higher floors.

Room Tip: Get a canal facing room Avoid high floors - there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoochPooch777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel Calcina is a very good little hotel in Venice. We stayed ther before and after a 7 day Meduterannean Cruise with Costa, it is only 2 stops by water bus to the terminal, it is located at the Zaterre stop and is only 50 meters from the stop, this means a short flat walk to the hotel with bags.

The hotel was ver comfortable and affordable, air conditioned, good bathroom and good hosts, fantastic little floating restaurant right out the front. All in all ver good value, only one bad point was the steep stairs in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I want to visit Venice again AND I want to stay here. Everything about this hotel - location, staff, ease of access to all of Venice - was perfect for our group of 7. The included breakfast was served waterside and the view from the room we had was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesa240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 385 in Venice
1,553 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#182 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Property: Pensione La Calcina
Address: Campiello de la Calcina Dorsoduro 780 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing