We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione La Calcina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensione La Calcina
Ranked #31 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife & I stayed at this hotel in June 2011. We are both 60. This hotel is an old house and is every bit of 300 years old, we guess. The rooms yes, are small. The bathrooms are... small and yes, when you shower, it is difficult to not get water all over. However, we would come back to this hotel in a heart beat.

The location is on the water in the quiet, Academic area of Venice. Morning breakfast in the floating restaurant allowed us to relax, watch the frenzy of boats go back and forth along with an occasional cruise ship. From this location, it is a 5 minute walk to the Academia bridge over the grand canal. The vaparetto stops both here as well as closer to the hotel.. very convenient. We also walked a great deal including an easy walk to St. Marks Square. No fear and no issues in walking in the evening as Venice is beautiful at night. We would have disliked the noise and crowds surrounding St. Marks Square so our opinion is to stay here, enjoy the quiet and venture out to do crowd battle when you wish.

We had a number of dinners in Venice and we found the hotel's restaurant to be as good as any and better than most. The blue cheese and green bean lasagne sounded odd but was amazing!

The hotel was alos a short walk to the Verdi concert and an opera. Two wonderful nights to go out, walk to the concert, and enjoy a gelato on the way home.

We would go back even though the rooms were small. We spent so much time in Venice, the rooms are there to sleep. No issues with evening noise, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Some rooms had water views. We opened our windows to look directly into the building 2 meters away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomasrydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    255
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
86
391
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
moon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. Easy to get to from the train station. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The only negative is the bathroom is small and the shower is so small and in an awkward corner, that it's nearly
impossible to take a shower without
getting water all over the floor. I still would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huckleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

...and you better reserve early.
Pensione la Calcina overlooking the Guidecca canal is in a quiet neighborhood virtually free of tourist crowds and shoppers. The restaurant in la Calcina serves delicious meals. The vaporetto stops less than a block away from the front door. Santa Maria della Salute, the Peggy Guggenheim collection, and Accademia museum are only five minutes away via a peaceful walk through a beautiful neighborhood. Only minutes further is the Accademia Bridge over Canal Grande to the San Marco district.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed here 4 times and probably shall again. We usually rent one of their apartments that are nearby. We start each glorious morning with breakfast in their excellent floating restaurant overlooking the Giudecca canal. Their service and comfort, located a little away from the main city areas have given us a sense of haven in this much visited, tourist intensive city. In the mornings until 10AM when the 60000 enter the city from cruises and the mainland, it is like having the city to ones self and again after 6PM when most of them leave. I recommend it highly but not so much that we, personally, would have trouble booking there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank borborigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I was recommended this hotel by a friend, read the reviews and was totally sold.

And La Calcina did not disappoint.

Excellently located, friendly, approachable & knowledgeable staff, very comfortable beds in spotless rooms, with great traditional well made furniture.

Touches such as flowers in our room, a bottle of prosecco (it was a special occasion) awaiting our arrival coupled with knockout breakfasts overlooking a sunny Giudecca canal in the morning all added to our wonderful holiday. We didn’t take advantage of dinner in the restaurant, although cocktails at sunset were unforgettable.

Everything worked in the bathroom and very reasonably priced. Next time (and there will most definitely be a next time!) I am going to fork out extra for a room with a view over the canal. I believe room #2 was the actual room Ruskin stayed in, but not sure if that is correct.

Venice is not cheap but this Pension is most definitely a real gem, I guarantee you will be happy you read this review!

Room Tip: As above, I reckon you should shell out for a room overlooking the canal if you can afford too, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

An attractive location overlooking the Giudecca and easy walks to all main sites. A family run hotel and so with character, no lift and quirky. The rear room we got was small and dark, looking onto a blank wall and fairly oppressive in august. However we enjoyed drinks on the top terrace and the floating restaurant was hospitable with good service and fresh seafood. Ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allotmenteer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at La Calcina based on recommendations here and on Fodor's Forum. It was wonderful to be away from the crowds of San Marco - which was only a 20 min walk away. The hotel is on the Dorsoduro and on the Giudecca canal. We had a corner front room with floor to ceiling high balcony doors (although no balcony, per se). Restaurant is perched over the canal, and we had our breakfast there each morning (included) as well as one dinner. Staff is friendly and helpful; arranged for water taxi to pick us up at the airport, and another to take us to the train station the day we departed. Our room was clean and large, as was the bathroom.

Room Tip: Although a perfect vantage point for watching canal activity, the first floor front corner room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellygreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#32 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#18 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Property: Pensione La Calcina
Address: Campiello de la Calcina Dorsoduro 780 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing