We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensione La Calcina
Nearby Hotels
$289
$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$372
$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$523
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$237
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$197
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$187
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$809
Londra Palace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
502
274
51
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
274
51
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiudecca canaljohn ruskinzattere stopthe hotel's restaurantdorsoduro areasingle roomaccademia bridgeno liftboat trafficrooms are smallshort walkwater bussan marcorooftop terracethe hotel offerseach morningyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 861 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

...and you better reserve early.
Pensione la Calcina overlooking the Guidecca canal is in a quiet neighborhood virtually free of tourist crowds and shoppers. The restaurant in la Calcina serves delicious meals. The vaporetto stops less than a block away from the front door. Santa Maria della Salute, the Peggy Guggenheim collection, and Accademia museum are only five minutes away via a peaceful walk through a beautiful neighborhood. Only minutes further is the Accademia Bridge over Canal Grande to the San Marco district.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed here 4 times and probably shall again. We usually rent one of their apartments that are nearby. We start each glorious morning with breakfast in their excellent floating restaurant overlooking the Giudecca canal. Their service and comfort, located a little away from the main city areas have given us a sense of haven in this much visited, tourist intensive city. In the mornings until 10AM when the 60000 enter the city from cruises and the mainland, it is like having the city to ones self and again after 6PM when most of them leave. I recommend it highly but not so much that we, personally, would have trouble booking there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank borborigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I was recommended this hotel by a friend, read the reviews and was totally sold.

And La Calcina did not disappoint.

Excellently located, friendly, approachable & knowledgeable staff, very comfortable beds in spotless rooms, with great traditional well made furniture.

Touches such as flowers in our room, a bottle of prosecco (it was a special occasion) awaiting our arrival coupled with knockout breakfasts overlooking a sunny Giudecca canal in the morning all added to our wonderful holiday. We didn’t take advantage of dinner in the restaurant, although cocktails at sunset were unforgettable.

Everything worked in the bathroom and very reasonably priced. Next time (and there will most definitely be a next time!) I am going to fork out extra for a room with a view over the canal. I believe room #2 was the actual room Ruskin stayed in, but not sure if that is correct.

Venice is not cheap but this Pension is most definitely a real gem, I guarantee you will be happy you read this review!

Room Tip: As above, I reckon you should shell out for a room overlooking the canal if you can afford too, although there may well be a bit of noise from traffic on canal. Our room had no view, and was v quiet...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

An attractive location overlooking the Giudecca and easy walks to all main sites. A family run hotel and so with character, no lift and quirky. The rear room we got was small and dark, looking onto a blank wall and fairly oppressive in august. However we enjoyed drinks on the top terrace and the floating restaurant was hospitable with good service and fresh seafood. Ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allotmenteer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at La Calcina based on recommendations here and on Fodor's Forum. It was wonderful to be away from the crowds of San Marco - which was only a 20 min walk away. The hotel is on the Dorsoduro and on the Giudecca canal. We had a corner front room with floor to ceiling high balcony doors (although no balcony, per se). Restaurant is perched over the canal, and we had our breakfast there each morning (included) as well as one dinner. Staff is friendly and helpful; arranged for water taxi to pick us up at the airport, and another to take us to the train station the day we departed. Our room was clean and large, as was the bathroom.

Room Tip: Although a perfect vantage point for watching canal activity, the first floor front corner room was noisy. Having the windows and shutters closed, and the A/C on helped muffle the sounds.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellygreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews