We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensione La Calcina
Nearby Hotels
$334
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,005
$561
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$366
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$486
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,370
$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$261
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
$650
$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$287
$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$322
$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
496
273
51
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
273
51
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgiudecca canaljohn ruskinzattere stopthe hotel's restaurantdorsoduro areasingle roomaccademia bridgeno liftboat trafficrooms are smallshort walkwater bussan marcorooftop terracethe hotel offerseach morningyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 854 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I was really disappointed at the quality of the meal on the Terrace at La Culcina. I don't mind paying for a good meal at all, but the main course which we had was very sparse.
5 king prawns, asparagus and a few vegetables. One bottle of house wine. The plates were cold, the food was cold. The cost for 2 people - 73 euros!
Such a shame as I thought the hotel looked lovely and the position of the restaurant was beautiful. Without doubt the worst meal I had in Venice over 5 days.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank mygardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We really wanted to like this small hotel....but we cannot recommend.
Good things: Nicely situated in Dorosduro, beautiful rooftop deck for private use, loved the concept of the private appartments. Adequate free wireless in the main building, nice restaurant. Some staff were quite delightful.
Problems: We reserved La Viola based on the photos and description on line. Unfortunately, the decor was removed to leave a very stark but adequate space--not as advertised. More seriously, there was a major construction project going on just outside the door, and the balcony opened onto a children`s school playground that was active until early evening. Service was really a problem. We received no room cleaning after our first night even though we returned the keys promptly each morning...and when we found bed bugs the staff were in complete denial. We insisted on removal of all linens, but they remade the bed with the same pillows and bedspread, and made us feel terrible about insisting that the other items be removed. The bed bugs were present during our entire 3 night stay and my husband and I had bites all over us. Heat and air equipment were missing batteries and took 2 days to get operational; washer instructions were incomprehensible and required intervention from staff. The hotel did not proactively warn us of a vaporetto strike....we purchased 24 hr tickets only to find that they were completely useless with no refund and only vague indication that a small sign was posted in an inconspicuous place. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Excellent and friendly small dimension hotel, well located, very dedicated employees caring for guests. Great breakfast..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon last year. We had a small but well presented and comfortable room. Very clean and the all important view of over the water - gorgeous! A couple of times we went up on the top roof to watch the sun set. Great location as it is very close and convenient but a bit out of the way!
Perfectly good breakfast but better places to eat in Venice than the restaurant here - may be different in summer when you can sit out - but average food and atmosphere in the evening when we were there. Odd as the rest of the hotel is really rather atmospheric.
Lovely, helpful staff and all in all would happily return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in Venice at La Calcina for four days. The hotel was charming, the breakfast delicious and the staff more than helpful. It was during "High Water" and the additional work for them seemed to be handled smoothly. Everything was clean and in good repair

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordphaeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews