We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Pausania
Ranked #166 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was AWESOME.

The location was great, staff was helpful. When we arrived, she already knew and was ready for us. It is easy access to water taxi as well.

Breakfast was just ok but not a deal breaker.

They even helped us to determine what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    218
    64
    21
    13
See reviews for
95
249
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As has been previously stated this is a great location to explore Venice whilst being on the periphery of the busy centre.
We took the Alilaguna ferry from Marco Polo Airport to the Ca Rezonico stop on the Grand Canal, a nice way to enter Venice for the first time. From the Ca Rezzonico you walk down the road away from the canal and come to Campo San Barnaba square and the hotel is just around the corner along the peaceful canal. The Dorsoduro area has plenty of shops and restaurants in a quieter area than the centre. You can reach St Mark's Square in a 20 minute stroll and there is plenty to see on the way.
The hotel itself is clean and has all of the facilities you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The room was spacious and the furniture was well kept. The bathroom had been modernised and everything was clean. The breakfast is a continental offering with cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, bread, preserves, croissants, cereals, juices - all that you need to start the day.
Staff were very helpful and polite, we didn't have cause to ask any questions but they always seemed willing and did provide us with a map and some info when we checked in.
There is a clock tower nearby which chimes on the hour and half hour. It didn't affect our sleep but if you are easily woken then this might be a factor ot bear in mind. Having said that, there are clock towers all over the city so probably difficult to avoid one!
If I was going back to Venice I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would recommend it to others looking for a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in February. The hotel is a few minutes from the Ca Rezzonico vaporetto stop, just off the Grand Canal. It is clean and comfortable, simple breakfast but perfectly adequate and has some nice communal spaces for sitting - particularly the piano nobile accessed up the medieval staircase. Very friendly and welcoming staff who all speak good English.
Having previously stayed in hotels in the San Marco area, believing it to be more central, I will now return to this hotel or to the Dorsoduro area in general as it is completely non-touristy. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, frequented by locals and students. Don't be put off by the students - this is a peaceful area! Highly recommended - the pizza shop in the Campo Margarita, the Osteria Pugni by the hotel and the Artists Bar and sandwich shop in the Camp Barnaba round the corner, which sells delicious tramezzini all at really reasonable prices.
I would happily return and will recommend.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, ask for a ground floor room - the medieval steps are absolutely charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just had 4 nights at Pausania Hotel on my own because my partner realised the day before flying that he had lost his possport :( I was absolutely comfortable here. The staff were friendly and the reception desk is attended 24 hours a day. The hotel (and indeed all of Venice that I visited) felt extremely safe for a woman travelling alone. The location is brilliant. it is very close to a Grand Canal boat stop- Ca Rezzonico- and only 10 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma where the airport bus arrives. There is a Jazz Club across the canal, numerous restaurants in nearby Margherita Square and a small bar serving great wine and cicchetta (Italian tapas) a few doors away. Gallerie de l'Accademia (a must see) is a 6 minute walk away. The room was lovely and warm with a kettle, wi-fi and a TV (CNN & BBC News Channels only English speaking ones). Breakfast was buffet style and perfectly adequate. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My standard double (107) was OK for 1 but would have been quite small for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Pausania, had a fantastic 4 days here! Perfect base to explore the delights of all that Venice has to offer. Very clean hotel with everything you need. Great location close to ca z renicco vaperetto station but a lovely 20 or so minute walk to at marks and Rialto. Some lovely restaurants and bars very close by. Staff are very friendly, multilingual and happy to help. Also no problem leaving your bags in reception if you have a late flight. Breakfast was perfect too, continental and enough to keep you going to lunch. Overall a very very enjoyable stay, would recommend and definitely come back! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Superb location in a great part of Venice
Lots of characterful bars and restaurants nearby
Situated on a very attractive canal and close to lots of interesting sights
Friendly multilingual staff
The breakfast was not great and the garden could be improved at minimal expense
We booked a package with British Airways which was great value
I was concerned that we would end up staying in charmless hotel with poor service......I was wrong
Like another reviewer my wife and I enjoyed the bar ai pugni just along the canal...perfect for a nightcap

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got this place booked through a Groupon deal and we were so happy with it! We loved the location (it's near some great cute restaurants and bars and not touristy at all) and the decor is beautiful and the customer service was absolutely amazing! Everyone was so kind. We experienced "aqua alta" our last day they were prepared for it as well as cleaned everything up as soon as possible. Everything still kept running smoothly as well. Our flight home wasn't until the evening so we were able to leave our bags in the lobby to explore some more.
The only bad thing was that the free wifi didn't reach our room but all we had to was go into the public room just outside of our door to get a better signal. But we didn't mind it so much.
I can't say enough good thing about this hotel! I would definitely go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#134 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#176 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#124 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Property: Hotel Pausania
Address: 2824 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta Gerardini, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Venice
#131 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This palace was a rich and magnificent residence of an aristocratic Venetian family, now it is an elegant and refined 3 stars Hotel, completely restored. The Hotel enjoys of an interesting position, preferred by the intellectuals and artists, searching for quiet and inspiration. Inside the Hotel, at the entrance, there is a stoned staircase that goes from the lobby to the second floor, once called "piano nobile", where there are some rooms. The intelligent restoration has effected a correct and balanced compromise between aesthetical demands and the non-renounced functional requirements, essential an hotel that wants to keep step with the times. The rooms, in typical Venetian style,are furnished with elegance and good taste, with all comforts (private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, cable TV, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioned, coffee and thea machine). Our clients can also enjoy of a lightly and roomy sitting-room on the second floor, a bar on the ground floor with a free internet point, and a nice and big veranda overlooking the garden, where the buffet breakfast is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing