We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, each time better”
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pausania
Ranked #174 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On business trips, I appreciate this palazzo-hotel for its location, and for the family feel of the Reception team (sorry to forget one name!). Everything is beautiful, secure, cosy, also spacious and grand. The heating/cooling systems are excellent; bathrooms new and clean; the cleaning staff very obliging and helpful; beds very comfortable; the major sounds are the nearby Santa Maria dei Carmini church bell and the lapping of the canal of San Barnaba just outside the main entrance and stunning cortile. There are nearby vaporetto stops for two main lines, and it is a 15-minute walk to the Piazzale Roma, and about the same to the Rialto markets. The local caffès and restaurants and boat-vegetable-markets are frequented by many Venetians, so despite the presence of tourists, this locale will give you a chance to sample the real life whilst having a home sweet home to return to...for work, WIFI, siestes, end of day crash, or a lovely sit and stare in the characteristic 14-c piano nobile...

Room Tip: Make email requests and Reception Team--Martina, Mauro and Maria Grazie-- will help select a room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 463 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Previously we stayed at The Bauer, and Palazzo Sant'Angelo - good quality hotels close to the tourist hubbub of Piazza San Marco and Rialto Bridge.
Roll forward to our recent budget stay at Hotel Pausania - an all in BA deal at a really low price. The hotel is ten minutes walk from Piazzale Roma (for airport bus or cab), ten minutes from the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, ten minutes from the Accademia gallery with its bridge across the Grand Canal to San Marco, and ten minutes from the cafes along The Zattere.
You don't need a water bus or water taxi, as all you might want is within easy reach. Hotel Pausania is in the University area of Dorsoduro with a vibrant bar/café buzz on your doorstep and Venice Jazz Club almost opposite. To travel further afield Ca Rezzonico Vaporetto stop is a few hundred yards away.
The hotel itself is I think an architectural one-off - a lot of fascinating details. The proprietors couldn't have been more helpful - gave us two keys to make our own room choice. We turned down the cherub frescoed ceiling, and opted for a good sized attic room with three windows and a newly furbished bathroom.
Breakfast was an adequate contintental, and the hotel didn't stint on heating - we had to turn it back down each time we returned to our room.
All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room you can ask for another one - as long, I guess, as they are not full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JackOfTheGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

When we arrived, the hotel was full and we were put into a very small room on the first floor with a view of the basketball hoop in the courtyard. We spoke to Carlo and Mauro at the front desk and the next morning, they moved us into a beautiful room on the 3rd floor with a splendid view of the canal. Just stunning. They couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The walk up the slightly tilting stairs to the 2nd floor is not for those with hip problems, but it is definitely worth the climb. The sitting room at the top of the stairs is just perfect. The sound of the bells from nearby Santa Maria del Carmelo were so romantic and lovely. When we finally had to leave, Maria at the front desk took care of booking our Water Taxi. Everyone was just so nice and welcoming. Plus, they have a nightly free drink in the lounge for guests! We would happily go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandbhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. I had the panic of waking up in the middle of the night and remembering that I left a painting in Florence. The next morning the man at the front desk was wonderful at coordinating us with the Hotel in Florence and helping us use the internet , their keyboard is different. We managed with help of staff, to get our painting shipped home from Florence. They also helped us to get a water taxi ride to the airport at 4:15 A.M. for a very early morning flight.
The breakfast room was not impressive , but average and got us going in the morning. We would have liked an earlier start to be able to beat the vaporetto mob a bit . We were there in April near a holiday and Venice was busy! Thankfully not flooded or odorous. We loved hanging out on the balcony of the community room , overlooking the canal at sunset. The main stairs are a little nerve wracking with their inward tilt , but this definitely has the look and feel of an old Venetian Palace. It is not for people with leg or hip problems. We enjoyed the glass work of the lighting fixtures and the high painted ceilings. We found it charming.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Charming hotel, situated in an elegant heritage building beside a small canal. Rooms are nicely decorated and of adequate size. The neighbourhood is quiet yet has easy access to most attractions. Our issue was with the inconsistent service. The initial receptionist was polite and friendly but the alternate receptionist was incredibly rude leaving a bitter note. Also the photos showing a manicured lawn and breakfast area were a little misleading as this area was off bounds. Possibly due to the December floods. As a result the alternate breakfast area saw everyone packed like sardines into a tiny room. This you can forgive, but bad service is inexcusable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastianFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of November 2012. The hotel is nice and located in the heart of Dorsoduro, which is kind of my favourite "sestiere" of Venice. The hotel is very close to a lot of well-known sights and to the Vaporetto stop and not too far from San Marco, but on the other hand Dorsoduro is not as crowded with tourists as other places in Venice.

Yes, the staircase up to the second floor is somewhat crooked, but we actually didn't mind too much - it somehow adds to the charme of the hotel. In my opinion the courtyard of the hotel actually might have originated right out one of Donna Leon's novels...

During our stay Venice suffered from one of the highest high tides in decades - the water came right into the hotel lobby! It was quite admirable how the staff handled this situation. For us as tourists it was even kind of fun putting on wellies and managing our way around Venice at "acqua alta" for one morning (the high tide was gone by about 12:30pm, so even without wellies it wouldn't have been too much of an issue for us), but of course for people living and working in Venice this is a different matter!

We would probably stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Venice.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get one of the rooms up in the 2nd floor (the "piano nobile")
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaVo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We liked our stay at the Hotel Pausania, but thought that the decor of our room was extremely dated. The shower leaked all over the floor, even with the shower curtain closed all the way. When my fiancé took a shower, he flooded out the entire bathroom! The beds were typical European mattresses, uncomfortable and hard, but that was to be expected. The breakfast buffet was nice, and was exactly what we expected of a European breakfast: croissants, coffee, assorted meats and cheeses. It wasn't a four star hotel, but that wasn't what we were looking for. It was a nice hotel for our needs.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#66 of 385 in Venice
530 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
937 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#96 of 385 in Venice
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Address: 2824 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta Gerardini, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Venice
#130 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $69 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This palace was a rich and magnificent residence of an aristocratic Venetian family, now it is an elegant and refined 3 stars Hotel, completely restored. The Hotel enjoys of an interesting position, preferred by the intellectuals and artists, searching for quiet and inspiration. Inside the Hotel, at the entrance, there is a stoned staircase that goes from the lobby to the second floor, once called "piano nobile", where there are some rooms. The intelligent restoration has effected a correct and balanced compromise between aesthetical demands and the non-renounced functional requirements, essential an hotel that wants to keep step with the times. The rooms, in typical Venetian style,are furnished with elegance and good taste, with all comforts (private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, cable TV, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioned, coffee and thea machine). Our clients can also enjoy of a lightly and roomy sitting-room on the second floor, a bar on the ground floor with a free internet point, and a nice and big veranda overlooking the garden, where the buffet breakfast is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing