We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pausania
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ca' Turelli(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
B4 - Zattere(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palazzo Stern(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
142
235
70
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
235
70
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsca' rezzonicostone staircasesanta margheritagrand canalsan barnabaquiet canalcroissantsbars and restaurantswater bussmall supermarketno elevatorlovely hotelshort walkvenetian charmfirst floorbreakfast roomaccademia bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 483 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Pausania in Dorsoduro is a nice hotel located in a very old Palazzo next to a small Canal. The location close to the Vaporetto station Ca' Rezzonico and walking distance to the Piazzale Roma and Accademia is perfect for sightseeing. The hotel staff is very nice and supportive. The breakfast buffet could be a little better, especially the coffee is not at all Italian. The rooms are nice, some of them smaller than others, but all of them very clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room on the 1st floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comaxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on 27 & 28 June and then again on 7th July. We wrapped our stay around a cruise which left from Venice.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the calla rezzonica water bus stop. It is on a quiet canal but is a 2 minute walk from piazza margarita where there are restaurants and bars and a small supermarket along with a few market stalls. It is within easy walking distance of all the usual Venetian sights.

When we arrived at the hotel late on a Thursday night, we were offered a choice of rooms; both identically furnished. We chose a room upstairs to avoid being disturbed by guests returning in the wee small hours. The room was clean with the usual mini bar but also with a kettle and coffee. The first time we have encountered this in Italy over many visits. The bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast was continental style and offered plenty of choice - meats, cheeses, croissants & pastries, fresh fruit & yogurts, cereals and hot drinks & juices.
Staff were friendly and courteous.
We would stay at the hotel Pausania again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaspersmum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Pausania is a 3 star tourist hotel in the Dorsoduro district, which is quiter than San Marco but only a short walk from the Grand Canal in one direction and Zaterre in the other. The building is apparently hundreds of years old and was once a private house. When we checked in the friendly receptionist checked our passports and commented that it was my partner's birthday that day, which was the reason for our trip. When we returned to the hotel after going out for dinner that night we found a note and a small bottle of prosecco in our room, which was a really nice touch. Access from reception to the first floor bedrooms is by a steep stone staircase inside a courtyard which would not be great for the less mobile. There is a large air conditioned lounge on the first floor overlooking the canal. We were in room 208 which was quite small but the very high ceiling meant it didn't feel confined. The room had air conditioning and was traditionally furnished. The room was clean but would probably benefit from a lick of paint in the near future. There was a TV, safe, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was well appointed and clean but the bath with shower over was in an alcove so there isn't a lot of headroom for taller people. Breakfast (served 8.30-10.30am) was the usual contintental fare of fruit, cereals, croissants, bread, cold meat and cheese. Not the best European hotel breakfast we have had but by no means the worst. We slept well on all three nights and were not disturbed by any noise from inside or outside the hotel. There are couple of squares nearby (San Barnabus and Santa Margherita) with a selection of restaurants bars and shops and its a 10 minute walk to Academia Bridge over the Grand Canal or the restaurants of the Zaterre. All in all this hotel was good value for money. If you want somewhere very modern its not for you. Likewise if you want 4 star luxury pay for it elsewhere. For our part we had no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clemenceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I went to Venice (2nd visit) in March, 2012. This hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures on the website. The "common area" pictures were all "staged" to make them appealing. I can assure you: they are not [appealing]. The hotel is shabby, dilapidated, worn-out, dingy and dirty. The furniture is cheap, rugs are worn - not classy at all. The garden outside the breakfast room was being renovated and was dirt and piles of garbage bags. I stayed upstairs and there were mattresses, furniture, pictures stacked against the wall. The furniture and fixtures haven't seen a dustrag or cleaner in ages. There were dead plants everywhere, burglar bars on the 2nd story window INSIDE the hotel, so I guess the burglar would have to scale the wall. The ashtray on the balcony contained piles of butts that were never removed and multipoed the 3 days I was there. The steps were treacherous, steep and uneven, and that beautiful red carpet in the pictures must have been sent out for cleaning because it wasn't there. The breakfast was nothing special, very stingy about the food that was set out. When I checked in, as I looked over the hotel, I went to the computer in the lounge, pulled up their website, asked the clerk to come look at them, then asked if I was at the SAME HOTEL!?! I took pictures, and sent them to the agency, asking them to remove this hotel from their offerings. When I complained, I was immediately "upgraded," and the room was lovely - but the rest of the hotel, no. As I walked around Venice, I noted so many beautiful hotels in the 3-star range that were so much better, and was saddened that I was stuck at this dump. BTW, I am a seasoned traveler who has been to Europe 11 times, and this is the first and only time I've filed a complaint.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maribeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpausania, Proprietario at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are really sorry to read this review because we do our best to let our guests have the most pleasant stay and it is a very big frustration to know that all our efforts sometimes (thankfully very rarely) are not appreciated at all!
The pictures we have published have been made in late summer 2011 and reflect exactly our hotel! During the last low season (January, February and March 2012) we had some renovation all around the hotel, we changed part of the air conditioning system and the carpet in all our rooms and common areas , something we consider absolutely necessary to improve our hotel but that, unfortunately, can be a little bit annoying because, even if we did our best to give to our guests rooms in parts of the hotel where there were not maintenance works, it is possible to see people inside the hotel working during the day (9.00 a.m. to 5 p.m. , as required by Italian law) with their tools and tackles, but the inconvenience was absolutely acceptable.
A part from the maintenance works, it is evident that the garden in March cannot be the same that on summer!
About the stair’s carpet, it has been removed because we thought that it was much better to show the stone stairs original from the XIV century (something that we are so proud about) then a common red carpet you can find everywhere!!
All our single rooms have a single bed, as perfectly shown in our pictures, so we cannot understand why someone that reserves it checking the pictures before making the reservation has then to complain the size of the bed and the room, when, at the moment of the reservation, had the possibility to book a double room for single use, with a double bed and bigger then a single room (but, of course, more expensive!). Anyway, once again, during the stay of our guests we do our best to make them the most satisfied we can, and, in this case, as we had some free rooms, we gave a free upgrade from the single room booked to a double deluxe room with canal view and finally everything was seeming to be fine, but, evidently, it was not, even if we did all we could do in response to the guest’s requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews