We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falsehoods or bait and switch?”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have very much enjoyed the Flora on two occasions going back more than twenty years, and we have recommended the Flora to numerous friends over those years. So, our experience this May was both surprising and incredibly maddening.
Last December, my wife and I, along with another couple booked, and paid for, two “superior double” rooms based on the very appealing picture on the Flora’s website.
When we arrived in May, we were shown to room 22. Astonished, we returned to the desk and then to the duty manager to report the mistake. But he claimed that there was no mistake, that room 22 was a “superior double.” Given that the room was very small, that the only chairs were straight back wooden dining (kitchen) chairs, that there were no shelves for clothes, and that the bathroom was approximately 5 ½ feet by 5 ½ feet, we concluded that there were only two possibilities: either the duty manager was telling falsehoods or the Flora is in the habit of employing what is known in America as a bait and switch. The next day, on our insistence, we were moved to another room, also said to be a “superior double,” but it too bore no resemblance to a premium room and even less to that shown on the Flora’s website as a “superior double.”
That same day, our friends arrived and were assigned to room 34. Unless my eyes deceived me, room 34 is the very room pictured on the Flora’s website as “double room comfort,” not the booked and paid for “superior double.” According to the Flora’s website a “double room comfort” sells for some 45 € less than “superior double.”
Upon our return to the USA, we emailed the owner of the Flora, pointing out the above, seeking an explanation and asking for the return of the price differential between the rooms that we paid for and the rooms that we got.
The Flora did not respond.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
8  Thank LittleDidsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice and this beautiful hotel set the tone for our visit. We absolutely fell in love with Hotel Flora and Venice both. Our room was absolutely stunning with windows facing the courtyard. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and I can't think of a more romantic spot. The staff were friendly and helpful, old-school in a way that is nearly impossible to find now. Our Wi-fi connection was absolutely horrible, so they recommended we go to the third floor to use it. That was the only inconvenience of our stay -- but who wants to check e-mail when you're in such a beautiful place?

Tips: bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. We loved our room facing the courtyard and would absolutely request it again, but breakfast takes place out there and some fellow travelers were letting their son throw gravel and scream and run around at 7:30 in the morning. We also peeked into a room that was being cleaned right next to us -- it was quite a bit smaller. I think ours was a "comfort" level and I definitely recommend reserving a room with that extra space.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Thirty years ago I when I was working here, I visited and have some fond memories of The Hotel Flora. Touring with friends from Sweden, us from NYC with our dog, somethings stay the same, some things need improvement. The location is convenient to everything with its beautiful garden is an oasis in the chaos that is Venice. Breakfast was abundant with delicious coffee and wonderful pannacotta. The beds were comfortable and seemed newish. However, the Family Suite implied a common area to us which it did not have and, in general, the hotel needs a lot of updating. Forget the "Turkish Spa Box" and just use the gym. The service ranged from kind and friendly to less than thoughtful dinner recommendations, but most staff were accommodating. Sometimes you just can't go "back in time to Venice".

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPPJLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest, I read your review with interest, as always, and I am glad that you appreciated our efforts in improving our breakfast ( the panna cotta, as well as all our cakes are home made ) and service. I am happy that you enjoyed our gym. But please I would be very interested in knowing what kind of updating you are mentioning, in order to understand wether there is anything that still needs to be ameliorate. Do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If this is your first, or even second, visit to Venice you cannot choose a better location for touring. The hotel is a small oasis off St. Mark's Square and an easy walk from the vaporetto, which brings you into the city from the train station, car park or airport. As you enter the hotel's small lobby you look out onto a delightful garden where drinks, coffee and breakfast are served. The staff are polite and helpful, although when we needed help finding a good restaurant they waffled with suggestions. The rooms are on the smaller size and filled with venetian furnishings. The beds are soft, not my personal favorite, and have small tiled baths. But, if you want the true "feel" of Venice and its charms the Flora does not disappoint.

If possible, enjoy your breakfast in the garden as the small indoor breakfast room is drab and also holds the buffet so there's quite a bit of foot traffic. The buffet itself is sufficient and the waiters bring cappuccinos to order. Venice is an expensive city and the Hotel Flora is of good value considering many other hotel options within the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

At the suggestion of our travel agent and the confirmation of Trip Advisor, we stayed at Hotel Flora for two nights in May, 2013. The hotel succeeded in exceeding our expectations in every way. As noted in other reviews the concierges and the barman (there 34 years) were charming and helpful in ways so rarely found today. Our room (28) was spacious and looked out on the little garden below. The bed was very comfortable. Every morning there is an excellent breakfast provided either inside or out in the garden if the weather permits. We requested a dinner suggestion on our first night, and the concierge directed us to Mercanti, near La Fenice, which was reasonable and had excellent food. As it rained throughout our stay, the joy of Hotel Flora shone through the bleak weather, and we hope to return someday soon again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and on higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Travelled with friends who had stayed here before and we were not disappointed. We knew to reserve the only 3 large rooms as we stayed for 3 nights and were grateful for the space. Th e bed was very comfortable with high quality bedlinen, two single duvets made all the difference!
Sergio was very helpful and his suggestions and organisation added much to our fabulous stay in such a beautiful city. breakfast was an elegant affair with excellent coffee. Room service was prompt. Very friendly service. Garden terrace was a quiet oasis.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 15 and ?28 are the only large bedrooms, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our family (including 2 children) stayed at Hotel Flora during spring break and had a great experience. The location cannot be beat, the prices were affordable, and the best thing was the friendly, helpful service. Very accommodating for English speakers as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbc4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
1,281 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
846 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $119 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing