We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in all the world. The Hotel Flora.”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #47 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love the Hotel Flora. If it weren't for this lovely, friendly, beautiful hotel, I wouldn't keep going back to Venice! Whenever I think of going on vacation, my first thought are of the Flora. I have stayed there nine times, and I am already thinking about my next visit --- even though I just got back from there less than 3 weeks ago! The Flora is my home away from home. I have recommended the Hotel Flora to so many people over the years, and they have never been disappointed. If you appreciate good people, enjoy wonderful service, and love feeling special, this is the place for you. A great place to stay for business or pleasure, with friends or family. And it's a romantic spot for couples yet perfect for the solo traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub if this is important to you. Ask for a room on the main floor if stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyH422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Nancy,
it has been a great surprise reading your sweet and enthusiastic review! I would tell that you are "the guest". You tell that the Flora is your home away from home...of course we are always waiting for you as we would do with a dear friend!! We are so proud that you continue choosing our hotel for your venetian vacation! We are looking forward to see you again soon!!
your sincerely
Gioele and all the Staff a

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

LIke one of the previous reviewers, we were attract by picturesque exterior and also by a recollection that a friend had enjoyed staying at the Flora, so just asked for coffee in the courtyard. We were the only people in the gorgeous, green, tranquil space, full of wrought-iron furniture, old stone statuary and trailing plants. It was a real oasis pf peace and quiet, two minutes' from the bustle of St Mark's Square. We were given two (silver) jugs of coffee 'so that you can enjoy it' and cushions were brought to make the seats more comfortable. Like your previous reviewer, we felt that if this is how we were treated spending a few Euros on coffee, we can't imagine how it must feel to be an actual resident of this lovely hotel. I'd love to stay and sample the accommodation and it would probably be great for a honeymoon couple.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated 2 minutes walk from St Mark's square down a narrow street away from the noise of the Main Street. The room was small but this is often the case in Venice. The room was spotless and the decor was nice with antique furniture, TV, phone and a safe.
Continental breakfast was included and was very nice in the small lounge area or in the garden if you preferred.
The hotel was such good value and when we return to Venice we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattytheshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is nestled back off a busy street around a small garden patio. It was wonderfully quiet and a terrific location just steps away from St. Mark's square, restaurants and shops. The room was nicely set up but oh so small even by European standards. The hotel was pricey but they all are in Venice. The best part was the location. The staff was helpful and the included breakfast in the morning quite robust and upscale. If we returned we would stay at this hotel again but ask for a larger room. Also, this hotel was helpful in holding and rebooking our room after I experienced fraud on my credit card and it no longer worked even though it was four days before I was able to notify them what happened due to my travels. Make sure you eat across the Street at LaCaravella and around the corner to the left on the canal at Ristorante De Raffaele.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent location 5mins to St Marks sq. Rooms cute and tidy. Staff very helpful (posted some clothes we forgot) and wouldn't take payment for postage.
Breakfast great. One room we stayed in for a night was a bit musty (hey, it's Venice) but it was the last room available as we were stuck in Venice due to weather.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review ! We are so glad rreading that you appreciated all our efforts in making your stay the most enjoyable. We thank you so much for sharing your experience with your friends in order to have the opportunity to meet them at the Flora one day!
We hope to see you soon again.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent four nights here recently. Rooms a good size for Venice and bathroom small but adequate. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was exceptional with fresh coffee and hot fresh bread constantly available.I would not hesitate to stay on next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Anthony,
thank you for your kind and generous review. We are very happy that you particulary appreciated our breakfast. In fact we spend lots of efforts in mantaing a daily high standard in order to satisfy our guests' expectations. We hope to meet you here agai soon!
Yours sincerely,
Gioele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Venice at this hotel and it was very nice! The hotel is nicely located and very charming with great service and their breakfast which was included in the rate was very good. Although we like antique furniture, the furniture was a bit on the dingy side. Maybe polishing up the furniture would make a difference. For the location and price we would recommend this hotel. It's great for couples!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DLTIGOMEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in terms of service and hospitality. I am glad that you appreciated our service, breakfast and location. All our rooms are decorated with original furniture and they are all different. For this reason it would help us knowing in which room you stayed in order to verify the problem and fix it. We are really careful in cleaning the rooms so please accept our apologies. We hope that you will preserve nice memories about Venice and the Flora.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 384 in Venice
1,277 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 384 in Venice
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 384 in Venice
846 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $119 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing