We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #44 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great place to stay although the room was small; enough for two people but only if they didn't move around a lot. BUT clean as a whistle. Bath also small with an adequate shower. though the doors, elegant Italian design which leaks no matter how careful one is. But these nits do not attract from the charm of the garden, the lounge and the general tenor of the spaces. The staff is exceptionally helpful, friendly and charming. Breakfast is a full and plentiful buffet, more characteristic of a high class American hotel than a European operation. The location - about four hundred yards from St Mark's Square and a three minute walk to either of two vaporetto stops make it an ideal base for exploring Venice. If we ever get to go back to Venice, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    358
    60
    16
    13
See reviews for
240
528
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our 3 days in Venice was wonderful and especially because this hotel.. what a treat to come into the ivy-covered courtyard for breakfast each day and be spoiled by the attentive waiters. Our room wasn't as per the webpage but it was immaculate and when asked for more pillows they arrived within 5 mins... we overlooked the courtyard so it was very pleasant if not a little small. Very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: If you want the larger rooms make sure you ask for this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherF514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Flora. The hotel is superbly located - a few minutes from San Marco and Accademia. The breakfast buffet is awesome. Fresh fruit salad and anything else you may wish for. Quite the contrary to the normal Italian breakfast with capuccino and hard rolls. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I had a late arrival and was spoilt with a caprese and some wine. And thank you for letting me partake in the prima uve grappa. My room was very clean; small but that is also common in Italian hotels when you travel on your own.

The only thing to comment about was the poor lighting in the room. Reading a book in bed is totally impossible. But again this is rather common in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July- we had requested a quad room for two adults and two teenagers. Thank goodness it was the beginning of the journey and we were jet lagged so the single pull out couch they considered a double bed did not seem so bad because our daughters were so tired. The room was really run down, and the bathroom was really tired. The men at the front desk and the back room are very grouchy and not very welcoming- if you read some of their responses on this site you will see what I mean- not sure they do well with constructive criticism. The photos on the website are very misleading. The courtyard is beautiful and the location is great but the dark/ dingy halls and furniture need a makeover. Could not wait to move on from this place-would never recommend this to anyone of our friends.I think Rick Steve must get the royal treatment when he comes- maybe he needs to send in a decoy to get the real deal.

Room Tip: don't request a quad if you have 4 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you Tripadvisor and Rick Steves for sending us to Hotel Flora, our Venice home for 3 days in mid-September! Our small, well-appointed and spotlessly clean room overlooked the ivy-covered walls of the charming courtyard. The newly refurbished bathroom was well-equipped with good water pressure for hot showers following a long afternoon of touring. Breakfast was quite tasty with fresh baked goods, scrambled eggs, a variety of meats, cheeses, cereal and yogurt ... and great coffee served by cheerful and personable waiters. In our opinion, an outstanding feature of this hotel is the opportunity to have breakfast, afternoon beverages, or a light dinner in the lovely courtyard just steps away from the upscale boutique shopping streets. The interior common rooms are equally charming, however with the beautiful weather that we experienced, the courtyard was our go-to choice every time. The staff was cordial and consistently profession and helpful. This hotel in the San Marco region will always be our choice to stay when visiting Venice and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard and you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_ToGo_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Flora in Septmember and definitley chose the right place to stay in Venice. a perfect location in San Marco. This very charming little Hotel is tucked away off the busy street.. it is like walking into another world from the hustle and bustle of the crowds in Venice. The location could not be better and yet you certainly feel like you are somehwere else when you enter the hotel... beautiful garden courtyard where breakfast is served outside each morning ( you can also dine in if you chose to) by very friendly staff. We looked forward to coming back to the tranquil settting after a long day and enjoying a glass of wine in the courtyard. They serve light meals in the evening with some advance notcie and it is well worth trying.. the gentleman (I wish I had asked his name) who served us was amazing, I ordered wine and left it to him .. great wine, salad and pasta.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor it was very quiet and comfortable... if you go cross the to the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htaylorbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everyone says the same thing about Flora. We stayed there 10 years ago and were happy it was as good as then. Tall husbands have trouble with baths, but that is Europe. The desk is so helpful and it is the best location for San Marco, la Fenice and l'Accademia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#53 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing