We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Doni
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Villa Igea(Venice)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Campiello(Venice)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lux(Venice)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
81
113
68
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
113
68
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationminute walkdoge's palacethe ground floorfirst floorbridge of sighswater busst markstrain stationsinkcanalcreakyhallwaycenturyensuiteboatcheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 303 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location can't be better. Maybe less than 5 min walk to St Marco. The down side: wifi not available in most of the rooms. Maybe if you stay right above the check-in desk than you can have wifi. Otherwise, you have to use it in the common area. There is a sink in the room so no need to go outside just to brush your teeth. Breakfast was ok. Nothing exciting but they did have hot milk! I think shower and toilet (separate rooms) are shared by many rooms. But I only had to wait once for the shower.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice location, close to San Marco. Clean. Our room was at the second floor and there was no lift nor someone to help with the luggage. The bathrooms were in a different floor also adding to the problem of comfort.

Room Tip: choose a room in the lower floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is sad. We have been staying at the Doni since 1988, and have recommended it to friends many times. We found it in an old Frommer's tourbook, and now it is in the Rick Steves book, but it is time for them to reconsider including it.

Our last two stays were at apartments offered to us when the main hotel was full. Our stay in the two bedroom apartment a few years ago was ok, but we had a miserable visit this weekend when we stayed in one of the "Leoncini" apartments that the Doni offers. Three big problems: The room was infested by mosquitos, and we returned from our trip covered with bites. The room was not clean -- the cups and cooking utensils were dirty, as was the floor. And sadly, the next generation staff does not seem like it wants to be in the hospitality business.

We told the management about the mosquito problem and they tried to help by giving us a plug-in mosquito repellant. We still got bitten, a lot. I was awake half the night with the sound of a mosquito buzzing in my ear. Part of the problem is that the room faces a back alley, and the bathroom window faces a filthy pigeon latrine. There are no window screens, and no air conditioning, which, to be fair, I would not expect in a one -star property.

There was no excuse for the room not to be clean. And our unpleasant interaction with the proprietress made it clear she was not in the mood to interact with guests. The room was filled with signs about what we were not supposed to do. (Don't touch!) They made us feel that the management was angry with us rather than welcoming us. Although the location is great, and this pensione is full of family memories for us, we won't subject ourselves to it again.

We paid 120 Euro per night for two adults and one older child. Breakfast was not included.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartments. Bring insect repellant. Choose a room in another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SofiaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

perfect for those who don't want to stay outside of the old town venezia and also dont want to pay a fortune. clean but old rooms, friendly staff. We stayed at the room B, which had only shared bathroom and a sofa-bed. therefor it was really cheap in compare with other places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebiceren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews