We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Apartment Mori”
Review of Albergo Doni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Doni
Ranked #229 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed 8 nights at Apartment Mori, which is owned and run by Nikos at Albergo Doni, in Venice. It is very close to Piazza San Marco and is convenient to everything. The apartment overlooks a small canal with a view across to San Giorgio Maggiore. The apartment has a large bedroom/living room, a good kitchen with gas stove and a good, clean bathroom. Towels are changed each 2 days. The price was good and we found Nikos very helpful. Contact Nikos at [--]

Stephanie Miller
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank StephanieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2008

Doni made our stay in Venice so memorable!! It is in the perfect location, quiet and calm but just around the corner from all the major attractions.

I visited the hotel twice, the second time my friend and I were not staying in Venice for long and the Doni family helped us out, their hospitality and service was great! It was greatly appreciated and we thank you so much!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LlKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We spent one night at Doni. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes from San Marco and in a low traffic area with just a small courtyard beside it and a narrow canal in front.

Our room was decent sized with a king sized bed. A bit hard, but we found that to be the case all over Italy. Our room had a pre-fab bathroom in it with a working toilet, sink and shower. Nothing fancy at all, but were more concerned with its location and price. We were in Venice for about 35 hours and spent less then 7 in the hotel.

We booked directly by emailing the owner. They were friendly and helped us with directions around Venice and gave us a great walking map that we used to get around.

When you go to Venice, do you plan to spend a lot of time in the room? If so, this is NOT the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for budget accomodations right next to the biggest tourist areas in town then I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RMSTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We booked to stay in Venice on route from treviso airport to our camp site in cavelleno. We choose the Doni as it looked just what we wanted and the price was right. The position of the hotel could not be better, just 2 mins from St Marks Square and down a quite side street away from the hustle and bustle.
The hotel staff were very helpfull, the breakfast was ok but could have had a little more imagination.
The only down side was that we had to change rooms for our second night and had to leave our baggage in the dining room, our second room was not as nice as the first, and we got bitten to death by mossi's.
Being an ex palace the features were appealling, liked the nice little Romeo and Juliet style balcony on the first floor over looking the canal.
No need to travel far for food the restuarants in San Zaccaria are perfect, one thing to watch out for is the pricey ostaria's (wine bars) stick to the cheap wine from the supermarket.
Best way to travel around Venice is to use the vaporetto (water bus), they are great, the number 82 is best gives you a grand tour of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Rick Steve's recommended this hotel in Venice. When we got there, Venice was experiencing an unprecedented heat wave. The room they had for us was not in the main hotel, but around the corner. The room was a small apartment with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and sitting room. Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning and there was a stinky dumpster right underneath our window. The room was hot and musty smelling.

We found another hotel that had vacancies and AC and checked out immediately. They still made us pay for the first night.

We will never book there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank rustyjdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We only had 2 days in Venice and wanted a convenient hotel that allowed us to see as much as possible. The Doni is perfect, close to St. Mark's Square, the Vaparetto, a quiet and clean establishment with a friendly and helpful staff. Host Nikos is wonderful. Recommended for those on a budget and who mostly are interested in easy access to all the sites Venice has to offer.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank ppeterma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

A very nice place with a very pleasant and helpful staff. Concierge advised us to maximize the use of our ticket by going here and there and it was all worth it. It's so close to everything. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank MarvLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#140 of 385 in Venice
944 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#336 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#342 of 385 in Venice
276 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#146 of 385 in Venice
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Doni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Doni

Address: Calle Del Vin 4656 | Castello-San Zaccaria, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $58 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Doni 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DONI family has managed the hotel since 1946 and has been recognized for its professional activities. Nikos,Tessa,Gina and Annabella will let you breathe a family air, making you feel at home in the most beautiful city of the world. This building is an ancient palace of 1700 in Venetian Gothic style that overlooks the canal of Vin where you can hear the serenades from the gondolas and is located at only two minutes walking from the most beautiful square of the town: St Mark's Square. The hotel is also in front of the main boat station of Venice "San Zaccaria" where you can take the public transport to the airport or to the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Doni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Doni Venice
Albergo Doni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing