We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Canal and Terrace Apartment”
Review of Hotel da Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel da Bruno
Ranked #49 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Our adult family of 4 stayed in one of the apts managed by the hotel. It was a lovely apt with a great location near the hotel and many shops and cafes. The terrace was sunny and overlooked 2 intersecting canals with boats and gondolas passing below. A local bookstore was right next door and not to be missed. Location an easy walk to Rialto or St. Marcos but located in a local Italian neighborhood. I miss the yummy pizza squares from the corner shop and beautiful Venice. Right next to 2 squares, the local hospital with ambulanzas, and very close to Forte Nova vaporettos which was a 5 minute ride to the lovely island of Murano. I recommend the apt and riding all the vaporettos routes, so scenic.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can't beat this hotel for location - right near Rialto Bridge in a busy street. Unfortunately this was the only downside to my visit, our first floor room was right above the street so it was very noisy at night. Small rooms and bathrooms but what can you expect for Europe, overall a good place to stay. Clean, and staff very accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 861MareeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location, by the Rialto bridge and near San Marco Piazza in the middle of a very busy street full of shops, gelato shops and restaurants. The service was very good, we were greeted with lemonade as soon as we arrived and the staff took care of us immediately. On our last day we had to leave very early in the morning, before breakfast time, and they managed to provide us with some fruits and yogurts for our trip. We had a nice room to accommodate the 3 of us. The only drawback was that the shower was badly clogged and they didn't have a plumbing service available when we reported it by Sunday PM. Other than that, this is nice and well located hotel with very good service.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estibalizko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Prime feature of this hotel is its position, right between Rialto and St Marc, can't be better. Nice street, with plenty of shops and nice restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. We had a quadruple room on the top floor, no noise or disturbance. Only inconvenience: the stairs. Four flights of stairs to get to our room, so you 'd better be in shape!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very close to Rialto bridge and St. Marks square, nice and lovely hotel, very clean hallway and good interior, the room is kinda smallish and same with the toilet, was used to be moving around the shower so I end up banging my shoulder all the time to the wall but was used to it and aware the 2nd day till our last day of stay(we stayed for 4 nights) Breakfast was ok...a continental one...Im quite happy with my coffee and croissants but loads of choices from fruits to even a cake...for breakfast???Yes!!!!The room was cleaned everyday and made sure toiletries were all freshly supplied, lots of restaurants to choose from nearby..very close...all in all..the experience was superb...except for 1 thing...Smile or greetings from the receptionists(he is tall and slim with glasses) never even bother to introduce himself...that's the only small yet very important downfall I have to say...otherwise it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My Friend and I stayed here for three nights, directions from Da Bruno website were first class. Room and bathroom were
spotlessly clean, could not wish for nicer staff at reception, buffet breakfast very good and always topped up with a smile.
Restaurants, shops, cafe bars literally on your doorstep, didn't take long for us to reach St Mark's, or Rialto, would not hesitate to recommend it, Excellent. From Jane and Eileen.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We got the water bus from the airport and dis-embarked at the Riallto Bridge.
As promised Da Bruno was a short and very scenic walk from the bridge.

We arrived at midnight to a warm welcome and a smile.

No lift, so had to work up many flights of steep stairs to level 3.

Nice hotel interior. Has the family feel. Clean and bright.

Room was nice. Kept mosquitoes at bay by keeping windows shut at night. But was warm. The air con won't be switched on for another couple of months.

Breakfast, continental and nice variety. No soya milk (anywhere in Venice).

Service kind and helpful.

NB: Irons are not allowed in Venice hotel bedrooms. Not even travel ones. It's the law (we were told).
We were going to a wedding and assumed we could iron our clothes. No.
The hotel helped us find a solution and we arrived at the wedding crease free.

The hotel is in a great location. Very near to San Marco square and the Riallto.

Would recommend. They really spoiled our little girl and successfully diffused a very tense situation with an uppity guest demanding ironing options!!

Room Tip: Parents with small children get lower floor as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,115 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 387 in Venice
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 387 in Venice
1,174 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
787 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bruno

Address: Sestiere Castello 5726/A | Salizada San Lio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $78 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bruno Hotel
Da Bruno Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing