We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is key in this B & B”
Review of Hotel da Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel da Bruno
Ranked #48 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast is key in this B & B”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

You can't have a more sumptuous and extravagant breakfast included at a reasonable price than at Hotel Da Bruno. The hotel is lovely and convenient, and the staff is very friendly. It was a great way to begin our 2 days in Venice.

Room Tip: The windows are so wonderful to open in the evening, but beware of mosquitos that buzz around your h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    378
    66
    12
    8
See reviews for
294
446
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CO DURHAM
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and daughter had a 5 day stay at the Da Bruno. as all previos reviews stated the hotel is in the perfect location. At no time during their stay did they feel unsafe or vulnerable. The staff were very helpfull and full of advice. The best icecream parlour in Venice is next door and across the street there are 4 very good restraurants all reasonably priced. The one immediately across the street is ideal for a glass of wine before returning to your room. The manager Lucinano will welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAWS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We appreciated the proximity of the hotel to San Marco plazza ; it's quite convenient when you wear masks or feel really cold. Rooms are quite nice and not noisy breakfast is good but variety is limited, the staff is very obliging and gives easily good advices

We plan to return next year. the only problem is the number of closed restaurants (probably the economic crisis that has noticeably reduced the number of tourists

Room Tip: beware if you wear a mask there is no lifts and you must take care in the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan57-df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket,Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

I've been reading these reviews about Da Bruno and had to comment. Igor was on desk duty when we checked in way back in April 2006. He certainly is a very nice person and made our stay very pleasant, carrying our luggage to our room. His restaurant recommendations were perfect. We ate at them again in 2010. Unfortunately, because we were on a cruise it was not convenient to stay at this hotel, but we always recommend it to our friends.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara31448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Da Buno from August 7-9, 2010 as part of our honeymoon. This hotel is perfectly located right between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto bridge!
The room was the smallest we encountered in Italy, but large enough for the 2 of us. It even had a little Juliet balcony looking onto the street.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and the breakfast was good.
The only warning I have is that they will offer you a "free" trip to Murano to see how they make their famous glass, but what they don't tell you is that if you don't buy anything in their showroom once the demonstration is over, you have to get your own way back to Venice by water taxi. It was pretty cool however to watch the glassblowers and walk around the island, so it wasn't a totally wasted trip.
All in all we had a good experience at Hotel Da Bruno.

Room Tip: Beware the "free" trip to Murano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Da Bruno hotel is located mid way between StMarks Square and Rialto bridge. Reception was welcoming and efficient. Our room a twin room was on the first floor fronting the street. It was small but clean and closing the windows and shutters kept out any street noise. Breakfast was included and was quite good with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals an array of croissants and breads with jams, cheese cold meats and eggs.coffee was good and hotel staff very obliging.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift but Igor who was on reception carried our cases up to the room. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandKWodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bruno for four days in late April. The entire staff was wonderful but my wife and I both want to highly commend Igor. He was friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. He suggested restaurants that were outstanding and also arranged for a great tour of a glass factory in Murano. The location was excellent and hotel reasonably priced. We hope to return and we will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where the street is not directly below the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#56 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#30 of 385 in Venice
940 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#19 of 385 in Venice
971 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bruno

Property: Hotel da Bruno
Address: Sestiere Castello 5726/A | Salizada San Lio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel da Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bruno Hotel
Da Bruno Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing