We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must stay”
Review of Hotel da Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel da Bruno
Ranked #49 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Family run, the rooms are good but the service is fantastic. Very helpful and they go out of their way to make the guests comfortable. They also have about 20 condo's that you may rent in the 200euro a night range. The staff went above and beyond what most did and really helped us out. They also have a free shuttle to Murano. You have to get your own way back but that is easy. And you go on one of Venice's famous taxi's for free. My wife and I went and it so happened that we were alone on the trip. As we came from the hotel we got a personal tour of one of the glass making facilities and then up to the private show room (honeymoon might have helped) FANTASTIC. Its right in San Marco so you are literally right between San Marco square and the Rialto bridge. Water taxi's are 1 block away around the back. Centerally located. About 3 vaporetto stops from the termini. I would highly recommend this hotel. There is many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

A brilliant base to visit all of Venice, the Da Bruno is right in the middle of the city making sightseeing easy. Breakfast is very good (avoid the eggs and enjoy the different meats and cheeses), the bed comfortable (but the pillow was hard) and staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for value for money with comfort without frills.We stayed four nights and it was great to have such a pleasant base to return to after days out. It was also very pleasant to be offered a fruit juice when we checked in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel DaBruno over Easter 2012 and were delighted with our room and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel was very clean, the bed comfortable and the hot shower very welcome. The hotel itself is very quiet, but our room looked out into the street and obviously there was a lot of noise from the passersby, however once the windows, and most importantly the shutters were closed it was nice and quiet. The fridge and safe were very nice comforts. The breakfast was very good and with the high prices in Venice, it set you up for the day.

Room Tip: If your room overlooks the street, ensure the shutters are functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I recently stayed 8 nights at this hotel in March 2012. It more than met my expectations:
Room: Pretty, clean, with a good bathroom, strong flush to toilet (yes! this can be an important aspect of a good room). Bed: firm which I love. Hated the pillow but then does anybody like a pillow that is not his/her own? The only improvement could be that the ceiling fan in the bathroom needs dusting. An added benefit was that there was a computer where people like myself not travelling with a computer etc. could use to check email.
Thin walls, but all other guests were very quiet so no problem. Some noise from street but that can't be helped.
Breakfast: Wonderful selection - rolls, pastries, cheese, salami, granola, cereal, milk, juice, fruit bowl, yogurt, jams, melba toasts/crackers etc. Everything was fresh. A great way to start the day.
Staff: Reserved but always, always, always polite and pleasant. If you ask for help it was forthcoming and excellent.
Location: Location! Location! Location! - It couldn't have been placed better being half way between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Also, with their map it is easy to find.

Room Tip: I and a friend stayed in twin room - room 133. Very nice. No elevator but hotel staff carried bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were at this hotel for two nights a couple of days ago, the location was very good, the room was great and the breakfast was good too, it is probably the best hotel we have been on our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We caught a water taxi from Venice airport to Venice central (worth the 110 euros for an amazing first look at Venice).
We were dropped off fairly close to the hotel and it was an easy walk.
The hotel is within a 5 min walk of the major attractions. The room was tastefully decorated and looked out onto the main street below. the bathroom was very small, but functioned well.
Free wifi was great.
Breakfast was average, but there are so many great places tp buy espresso and pastries that we ended up skipping the included breakfast at the hotel and venturing outside.
Front desk were very helpful with directions to restaurants, bookings, and our onward journey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a review done in March, so be advised that if you go to this or any hotel in Venice you will be one of the 20 million that visit, and in summer you will put up with crowded streets, mosquitoes and very humid condidtions, surfice to say I will never visit Venice in summer.
The Da Bruno is centrally situated 5 minutes from the Rialto and 10 minutes from St Marks.
Its small, friendly, clean and the staff are all excellent.
Our room was dead quiet, had a safe deposit box ( foc ) small satelitte tv and a mini bar, the bath room was perfect with a decent shower. And the ceiling had wooden beams.
Breakfast was perfect as much as you can gorge coninental style.
This is a fantastic ( 3 star) hotel, and to anyone thinking that 3 star means roughing it think again.I emailed the hotel asking for a quiet room, they emailed back saying that it had been done.
Over all I have no complaints about this place and will 100% return.
Just a quick word about Igor, he is one of the managers , this man is a legend, nothinh is to much troble for this guy, he will go out of his way to help you in any way he can, and he loves the Bee Gees sorry Igor the public have a right to know :)
10/10 thanks Igor you made our stay even better than it could have been.

Room Tip: Room 134 o ver looks the small side street , very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,115 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 387 in Venice
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 387 in Venice
1,174 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
787 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bruno

Address: Sestiere Castello 5726/A | Salizada San Lio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $78 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bruno 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bruno Hotel
Da Bruno Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing