We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #88 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beds and location”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

What a great location and treat. Very close to St. Marc's square, but yet far enough away to make us feel that we were not just tourists.

The rooms were huge by European standards, very clean and comfy beds. We had 2 triple rooms. The bathrooms, were very spacious and had great showers.

There was some noise from the street but not enough to be a problem. If this is a huge concern, ask for a higher floor for your room when booking.

The breakfast was simple, but meets the needs and was good.

the staff was great help with their restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSBclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    226
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
156
353
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's Venice, Italy, really there's no room to complain! And this hotel certainly didn't give us any reason to. It's location (and location is a huge big deal to me) was perfect!! Less then a 5 minute walk off ( seriously, 5 minutes if you are walking slowly) off St. Mark's square so you are near all the life and action, but can sleep in blissful quiet when you are ready to collapse. Also, on the way to the square you pass some good restaurants and hansathaicatering@gmail.com shopping.
The staff was all very helpful and warm, first time there and yet it felt like coming home.
We had a jr. suite for three people and while the room was not was not ornate it was very comfortable and the furnishings and drapery felt regal. The breakfast was good and plentiful, including freshly toasted croissants, and there is a large dining area and a smaller terrace dotted with lemon trees and beautiful plants.
In addition to the perfect location, we particularly appreciated the staff. When I had a question about times and tours, etc., they immediately researched the issue, provided me with detailed information, maps, and times.
Travel is a luxury that should leave you with incredible memories and a desire to return, this hotel (as well as Venice - breath takingly beautiful!) definitely falls inline. I will return to Venice and will gladly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The triple jr. suite is worth it. I don't know how the cost of this room compares to other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SWilson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford Center, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've been to Venice a number of times and like this hotel best of all. It's in a very quiet location in Castello with tremendously easy access to all the major sites. There's a roof terrace, overlooking the small canal, for a wonderful breakfast and an open air walled area for enjoying the outdoors after dinner. The people running the place are extremely cordial and helpful. The rates are very reasonable given the service and location - I would heartily recommend this hotel!
For arrival and departure it's very direct and flat travel - the only bridge you have to drag your luggage over is directly in front of the hotel. Great restaurants are an easy walk - some just a stones throw away ( try the sea bass ).
Was here last in September 2013 for the Bienalle - don't miss this great recurring event - best contemporary art event on the planet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A short walk, (important with luggage and crowded streets) from the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop. Delicious breakfast buffet, A/C and elevator. Very quiet and peacful; yet very near to St. Mark's Square and major sights. Would definitely stay here again, if I were inclined to return to Venice, but I am not. Interesting place to visit once---hot and crowded. I prefer the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I spent four days at Casa Verardo together with my family in May 2014. We all were very positively impressed by this choice.
The Casa Verardo is very centrally located, just few steps far from San Marco square but at the same time it is hidden in a such a quite corner, overlooking a small canal. We were very happy thereof because we were able to sleep until late in the morning not being troubled by boat or other.
The staff was perfectly English speaking and I was so cheered up by this. My wife is german and at the reception there were two German native girls who chatled a lot with my wife. They all helped us in booking not touristic restaurants, tours and they gave us any kind of service and information.
The room was large enough for three people. It was so nicely decored, with wooden beams and it was overlooking the canal. Both American and German channels were available. Aircondition perfectly working. Roomy immaculate marble bathroom with any sort of soap.
Breakfast was served on the first floor, a huge typical venetian style living room facing on a sunny terrace overlooking the canal. We had breakfast on the terrace as it was so pleasant. A lemon tree as well as an olive tree stand in the terrace and they make the atmosphere so mediterranean. Great choice of food at the buffet: cereals, yogurt, jam, ham, salami, three types of cheese, bolied eggs et cet. Gluten free food was made available to my daughter.
Anyway the best of the Casa Verardo is the location and the service, Staff was always ready to do its best to any of our request and please be sure this is important when traveling with your family for almost a month in Italy!
Of course I will be back soon at Casa Verardo and I will suggest to anybody travelling to Venice not look for other hotels rather than Casa Verardo!

Room Tip: stayed in a lovely room on the third floor! (elevator in the hotel!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everyone's comments about this hotel's location are true! It is convenient to St Mark's Square, main boat docks and a 10 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge. Yet it is very quiet, just over the bridge of a small canal. The area is very picturesque.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were satisfied with the variety of the breakfast. The breakfast dining hall was beautiful with unique old floors. We used both the garden and first floor terrace in the evenings, both were very comfortable places to hang out.

If ever in Venice again, I would love to come back to this hotel and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the annex, which is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The annex has been relatively recently renovated and is somewhat modernly appointed. Can't complain about the room too much. A bit of wear and tear, but nothing too bad. Service was ok. There is a sweet dog who hangs out in the lobby of the main hotel building. Venice is fairly expensive in season, so expect a three star hotel for 5 star prices. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but this has been true throughout Italy, probably a function of me being a gluttonous American. I'm giving four stars because overall it was overpriced and nothing to really push me to rating 5. Basic, no frills, decent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,844 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#30 of 385 in Venice
952 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#141 of 385 in Venice
794 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing