We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #102 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first trip to Venice and we stayed here 2 nights post cruise. A beautiful room on the second floor overlooking the canal. The room was spacious with two large windows, spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very large and also spotless. Breakfast on the terrace with still warm croissants and wonderful coffee - heaven! A courtyard to sit in and sip a glass of wine after touring all day, another slice of heaven. The gentleman at the desk even helped us print off our boarding passes for our flight home.
We had to leave very early in the morning (5:30 a.m.) and the night clerk helped carry our luggage over the first bridge - many thanks. If we are ever fortunate enough to visit Venice again we will be staying at Casa Verardo.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a room overlooking the canal - looking out the window and seeing the streetlights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 667 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am scared of writing a review for this hotel, they don’t seem to be very welcoming to even mildly negative reviews. But I will give it a try:

1.I stayed in the hotel’s nearby building. It was nicely refurbished and the décor was beautiful. Problem was, It had no reception so guests would need to let themselves in; and the door of the building had some issues so it would make a harsh noise when people would open/close it. I was on the first floor and I’s wake up a couple of times during the night.
2.Breakfast was very poor. No hot food.
3.Pillows were hard.
4.Staff were mostly helpful, one was a bit nervous and would frequently forget he is in service industry and guests are paying for good service which includes a smile and good attitude.

Apart from this, it was a OK hotel and overall I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast isn't good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkhosrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely little hotel. It is excellently placed for the Piazza san Marco, and was very easy to find from the water bus stop. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, always acknowledging you when you entered or left the hotel. The room could have done with some drawers though - not a single one, which was a little inconvenient. The bathroom was very clean and bright, and the room itself although on the small side was very attractive. Breakfast was lovely, especially the fresh croissants, and it was nice to be able to sit outside on the terrace. Would love to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buntyschlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Perfectly located near S. Marco but off a side street so very quiet and private.
Staff was extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly. Esp. Ranil who oversees the breakfast service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmh212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent location just back from san Marc. This hotel was true quality. Having stayed in Venice many times before I now wouldn't stay anywhere else. Room had no view, as to be expected! But inside was just the right space to fit a comfy modern bed. Lovely decoration with aircon, fridge and a lovely power shower massive bathroom. The hotel staff could not do enough for us, any information we asked including train times they were more than happy to help. The hotel even had outside space and a small bar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knibbsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A short walk from the San Marc (San Zaccaria) vaporetto stop, with only one bridge to lug our suitcases over, plus the summer crowds to navigate through. Found it relatively easily and was greeted by friendly reception staff.

Our room was delightfully cool, a blessing in the summer heat, and though small and fairly old it was clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom and view overlooking the canal. Tucked away in a quiet location but only moments from the square, great shopping and restaurants. Definitely recommend dinner on the rooftop terrace at Sangal Lounge Bar near San Marco, only a few minutes walk away.

Decent in-room wifi, pleasant staff and a wonderful courtyard oasis in which to read and escape the crowds all made for a lovely stay - definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from an unforgettable trip to Venice including a two-day stay at the Casa Verardo that we’d like to forget.

1.The hotel would not arrange transportation for us from our cruise ship to the hotel. This could have been accomplished with one phone call.
2.The hotel informed us that a professional porter service would be available when we arrived at the water taxi stop near the hotel, but there was none. We had to lug four bags several long blocks through the back alleys of Venice to reach the hotel.
3.When we arrived at our room, I noted to the clerk that the drain in the bathroom was clogged. He replied, “This is normal and prevents rings from going down the drain”. The sink remained clogged for two days.
4.Worst of all, the bed was as hard as a rock and it was impossible to sleep.
On the plus side, the room was large and clean, the hotel is relatively close to St. Marks Square and breakfasts were generally OK. However, why serve canned fruit when fresh fruit was available nearby?

Obviously, we would never return to this overpriced and undervalued property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaVerardo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Yes, you are right, a simple telephone call could have booked for you a private water taxi from the cruise ship to the hotel but you never asked for this kind of service.
The same happened with the public porter…
As we remember, you only asked us about information in general as so many of our guests usually do.
However, at the port of entry a long queue of water taxis are waiting for guests landing from the cruises, ready to bring them to their hotels. For you it should not have been so difficult getting on one.

Regards,

Front office staff of Casa Verardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 385 in Venice
918 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,881 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#133 of 385 in Venice
813 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#77 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $98 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing