We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Campiello
Ranked #93 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Campiello prior to boarding a cruise. Small but very nice. Situated close to water front with water taxis, water bus right in front. With all our cruise luggage this was a plus. Great breakfast. Marina at the front desk is knowledgable, very helpful and warm. Tuners from Seattle Washington.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    342
    103
    24
    8
See reviews for
241
363
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you want to be near some main attractions then this hotel's location is superb. Just minutes walk from San Marco. San Marco is usually crowded as soon as the tourists have made their way through town, but staying here, I could get up early and walk out to experience the beautiful plaza in the sunrise lighting, with just a few street sweepers doing their job.

Staff was very polite and always helpful. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We had the one-room apartment (at around $300), outside the main building. Very nice to have kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our second visit with grandchildren and our fourth visit overall. This is a gem - the location is perfect for seeing the sights. We stayed once again in Room M, the family suite with the deck on top, a large family room and a bathroom like no other (remodeled since our last stay) - perfect for us. The staff is the best. The breakfast room is a bit cramped and can get somewhat frantic later in the morning, but a minor matter compared to all that is good in this unique place on earth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located a block from the vaporetto stop, in an alleyway alongside the famous Hotel Danieli. Remember this because the directions to find the hotel can be tricky and they do not mention this really obvious landmark.

The hotel is old and does not have modern glitz, but they have invested where it counts. There is an elevator that was very welcome because i could not have dragged my bags up the stairs. The first thing I noticed about the room was the very cool air - yes, a real air conditioner!!
The bedroom was on the small side but handled luggage well. The bed had the flattest pillows in the world but multiple electric outlets conveniently located on every wall (a rarity even in modern hotels). The bathroom was very large for an older European hotel, was updated, and had plenty of hot water and counter space. The free wi-fi was very speedy and had substantial bandwidth. Housekeeping was excellent, they kept everything very clean. The continental breakfast was adequate.

If you are looking for over the top luxury, this is not for you. If you want a sensible hotel, with a fantastic location, and good value for the usual high prices associated with central Venice, then I recommend the Campiello.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoiledtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the action; next to San Marco and almost overlooking the lagoon. We had booked the deluxe double room with 2 extra beds, as we are a family of 4 travelling with teens. This one was a cute loft with a private rooftop terrace. From the terrace we could see a tiny view of the lagoon, however when a cruise ship went by it was amazing, looked like it was floating right in front of the building. The bathroom in this room was fantastic, very modern. We had a small fridge which was great for drinks. The AC worked great, which is important in August. The breakfast was very good, especially the coffee machine.The breakfast room was very busy, but our family of 4 always managed to find a table. We awoke to the smell of fresh baked croissants...Mmmm. The lady at the front desk was very helpful in a matter of fact way, not super warm but we were warned that Venetians are more business like as compared to the warm and friendly people we met in Tuscany. All in all this is a great hotel, it is likely so popular due to the Rick Steve's reviews. I would recommend this to first time travellers to Venice, however I am not sure that I would return. There a better hotel and restaurant deals to be had a bit further away from the congested Center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location could not have been better....very secure, had to be buzzed in day or night but would have still felt safe without it, clean, quiet, nice staff, decent breakfast. Close to St Marcs square and water taxi, would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 865sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is in a little ally just off St Marc's sqaure. It could not be located in a better place. However, the women at the front desk was not very friendly. She did not make us feel welcomed, Rooms were vey small but clean. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,803 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#82 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#92 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Property: Hotel Campiello
Address: Campiello del Vin Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in Venice
#133 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing