We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bucintoro to your Saves list
Hotel Bucintoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We loved the hotel and the staff. Helped us with every request. Room 101 was great, but be forewarned about the bed being two singles pushed together. Also, the hotel is located directly across from a mooring point for large boats which can obscure the view of the lagoon, but not the city. Several very good restaurants located near-by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oilerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    215
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
164
817
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel Bucintoro is a comfortable, well-run hotel that provides a classic view of the Grand Canal and the Giudecca Canal. Located near the Arsenal vaporetto stop, Bucintoro is a relatively small hotel and provides a convenient, but less hectic location. It is about a 15 minute walk to St. Marks Square. It is located near a number of restaurants and a park. The staff were very personable and helpful. The rooms were well-appointed. Bucintoro has a small elevator, rooms have refrigerators.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the western side of the hotel to get a spectacular view of the Grand Canal, Giudecca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbmmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We loved room 304. Quiet, spacious for two, lovely bathroom with all amenities. The view was spectacular and the hotel within easy walking distance of St. Mark's. Could not have asked for a better location or hoteliers. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was wonderful - varied, tasty and filling. The coffee was delicious and the juices fresh. We will come here again when we visit next time and thank all the staff for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304, a corner lagoon view suite with windows on both sides so we could see the lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in May. Took a water bus straight from the airport and followed the instructions on what stop to get off at etc very easy to find. Was fantastically located just 5 minutes walk from st marks square so central enough but far enough to be away from it all. Room was fantastic and so were the views! Staff couldn't do enough for you and were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again when visiting venice next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyHodgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullaghbawn nul United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would recommend this hotel as being friendly and dead easy to find. I rang from home to seek directions and it couldn't have been easier. We got off the Vaporetto (waterbus) from the airport at Arsenale, turned right over a bridge, and arrived in 5 minutes.

It's worth asking for a room with a view of the harbour to view the giant luxury cruise liners that regular visit Venice.

The hotel is walking distance from St Mark's square (10 minutes) and you can happily get lost on the canals and side streets that are everywhere to be seen. A map is essential and it you follow the directions "per Marco, Rialto or Accademia" you can regain your directions fairly easily to major landmarks. Gondolas are a rip off at 80 and 120 euot for half and hour but I did see signs near st Marks at the harbour for cheaper rides.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of harbour. There is breakfast but no restaurant facility and no swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Before we went we found a brilliant website (Durant Imboden) that (among many other great tips) recommended choosing your hotel wisely – so that you don’t have to drag your suitcase down narrow alleys and over many bridges. And this hotel ticks those boxes wonderfully. It is just one wide bridge away from the Arsenale stop which is used by most of the vaporetti and also the Alilaguna boat that operates to and fro the airport. It is in the much quieter eastern end of the island, but just a short walk to the bustle of St Mark’s and other central areas. The nearby Via Garibaldi has several eateries and bars as do the various alleys behind the hotel/Arsenale. The rooms are on the small side (I gather all Venetian hotel rooms are small) but it is beautifully decorated (in the style of a classic ship – wood, brass and cream) and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Check out is at 11am but you can leave your bags there for free if your flight home is later in the day. Breakfast is continental - but there is plenty there to give you a good start to the day – it is served in the small dining room where you sit quite close to your neighbouring breakfasters, which can give an opportunity to share tips and tales. Room tip – ask for the fourth floor and a view over the lagoon towards the Grand Canal and St Mark’s. Superb!

Room Tip: 4th floor looking west towards St Mark's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A super little hotel in the best tranquil part of Venice. We snatched a last minute deal so the value was amazing at 40% less than usual. We had a corner room on the third floor (304) which had the most amazing views through the four windows, over the lagoon to the front and St Marks Square to the side. We were not that lucky with the weather so when it rained, we retreated to our room and enjoyed what must be one of the best views in Venice. One day a tall ship moored up right outside! Spectacular! (see photos) The room was small and compact but very comfortable. If you like large hotels with lots of communal space then this is not for you but we loved the small intimate feel and the personal attention that this tiny hotel gives you. Located at the far end of the lagoon, a 10 minute walk from St Marks square. Venice has become so busy with tourists that everywhere seems overcrowded. Bucintoro is just a short walk from the center and as you stroll back along the lagoon to the hotel you can feel the tension easing away as you leave the madness behind you. We arrived in Venice by train and getting to the hotel couldn't be easier. Just outside the station we got on the number 1 vaporetto which takes you to Arsenale, just outside the hotel. If you are not in a hurry, this is a wonderful way to arrive in Venice as the vaporetto travels down the grand canal under all the bridges so you get a good idea of where everything is. It takes an hour though so don't be in a rush!
If you like classical music then take advantage of the many concerts around the city. We strolled along the lagoon from the hotel to Vivaldi's church (5 minutes) and enjoyed a superb performance of Vivaldi's Four Seasons. The acoustics in the church made the music sound so beautiful and the surroundings were ethereal. 20 Euros well spent.
For such a good hotel we felt that breakfast was a bit basic and could have been a bit more varied but having said that it was fresh and good quality and the staff were attentive and quick. Free wifi in your room but slightly annoying that you have to keep entering the password but I am really being picky now! Would certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#24 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#23 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#15 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing