We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #23 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room was a little small but aside from that all was good. Nice and clean, good breakfast, helpful staff and a location which is perfectly situated for the Vaporetti and within easy walking distance from the centre. Great view too. Book here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebarnhamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    226
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
183
885
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Great location just a few metres from the Arsenele stop from the airport water buses. Get off the boat turn right and it's right in front of you across the bridge. Really nice service from everyone at the hotel, from reception, the porter and the ladies serving breakfast were brilliant. We had a room on 4th floor with 3 windows a great view and didn't find it noisy at all. In fact we loved hearing the boats passing so much nicer than rush hour traffic. Not sure why the previous reviews have complained about boats and bridges ( you are in Venice).
Room had all we needed and more, safe, lovely bathroom, dressing gowns, slippers and so much more. There was also tea and coffee making if you wanted it and we had chocolate truffles and sweets on arrival as well which was a nice touch.
The location is very good very close to everything and quiet enough in the evening. You can walk to most things and we took the boat to Lido and Murano from just outside.
I cannot recommend this hotel it's a very very nice place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice hotel - great service -- we liked it as it was a bit away from all the tourist attractions but close enough to walk everywhere.
Rooms were a good size for Venice.
Would stay there again, breakfast was buffet style and OK.
Not easy to find the first time - so bring your map :0)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We checked the previous reviews before booking and after spending 4 nights in a standard room found the previous reviews accurate, great staff, good lcation 10 minutes but 6 bridges to cross before you arrive at St Mars square and the Doges palace. good views from the room and everything was clean, plenty of variety for the buffet breakfast. There is however no facilities for making tea of coffee and we did find the room a litle noisy this was due to the boats loading goods to the hotels, therefore i guess all the hotels in this area will have a similar problem. Like many books say it is easy to get lost in venice which in some ways makes the hotel in a good location since it is near St Marks square and eveyone knows wher this is.
There is a cheap italian eating house (not sure if you would call it a restaurant) if you turn left out of the hotel over a bridge turn left and it is the first eating house on the right, many italians eat there which i always believe is a good indication.
I made it 4 stars because of the noise

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed three nights to celebrate a special anniversary. Having done a lot of research looking at other reviews, we choose the Bucintoro and weren't disappointed. Here's why:
1. Really easy to find, water bus or taxi from airport goes past the hotel and the vaporetto stop is minutes from the hotel so no chance of getting lost or lugging cases up tiny streets.
2. Slighly set away from the main tourist centre, so you don't step out your hotel into huge crowds, but still within easy walking distance.
3. Fab views of the lagoon (especially if you get a corner room).
4. A good nights sleep - comfy beds and sound shutters to keep noise and light out.
5. Nice buffet breakfast with friendly service.
6. Free wifi and printer so you can check out places to eat on tripadvisor and print off your boarding passes for the flight home.
7. Close to three nice bars with lots of locals and lovely Prosecco or Spritz.
8. Nearby walk up along waterside path (leading away from the centre) with children's park and grass if you want to get away from the crowds.
9. Room has a safe for valuables, hairdryer, fridge and kettle - all useful!

Only downside was our 'junior deluxe suite' had a rather small bathroom with a shower rather than a bath. Beautifully fitted out and enough hooks and shelves etc but just small. It also had a sliding door that didn't lock which wasn't ideal and kept sliding open. Not so romantic...

Room Tip: go for a room on higher floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHolidayThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The location is great. Just off the beaten path, so away from the massive crowds of St Marks. 2 minutes to a vaporetto stop, 10 minutes to St Marks square. Great views of the open lagoon. We had the suite on the 5th floor which has a balcony onto the rooftop. Wow!! All by yourself with views of everything.
Friendly and helpful front desk. Delicious breakfasts were included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdrew_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from staying 5 nights here and were very pleased with our choice. We were in the least expensive room (called "comfort" on the website but “classic” on the booking receipt), but this was perfectly adequate, being nicely done out with smart wood decor and a modern bathroom suite, complete with rainfall shower. Breakfast was included and was of a good quality, served in a nice room and with linen napkins. All the staff were friendly and helpful. But what really makes this hotel is the location. We had not appreciated the difficulty of negotiating one's way round car-free Venice, up and down numerous bridges, with luggage, so choosing somewhere just 100 or so metres from a Vaporetto stop (and on the fast, one hour Alilaguna Blue line to the airport) proved inspired. Not forgetting the views across the water, either to San Giorgio or St Marks Square. Any gripes? The comfort rooms have no tea and coffee making facilities. And the website lists dressing gowns as being provided - they were missing from our room, but soon provided upon request. Minor points and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColWarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#17 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#24 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#46 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing