We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the bucintoro. The air con was working perfectly in our room and the showers were hot. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were immaculate, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice
The hotel was ideally placed, San Marcos square was a 10min walk away.
Couldn't recommend the hotel enough, if we were ever to return to Venice we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    227
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
183
894
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Start with the bad..
1 - no heating! Middle of the winter and rooms were so uncomfortable due to it being so cool. Air con was not working, they had people working on it for 4 days and still couldn't get it working. What is more annoying is that the staff didn't even offer heaters, they had them because they had one in their front office and in the dinning room.

2 - Luke warm to cold showers, again middle of the winter not good! Staff conveniently couldn't
understand English when we told them we had cold water when showering.

Location was excellent, rooms clean Thanks to Isabella. Breakfast was very good, Mara was the only caring friendly staff member. Always had a smile and couldn't do enough for us in the morning at breakfast.
We had a corner room on the fourth floor lovely view, quiet.

Really good bar, Bar Collo, Modi, 1476 Castello, is just around the corner, friendly staff and make excellent Spritz.

Lots of good priced restaurants close.

I have to mark rooms and service as average due to heating, or lack of it, and the staff not being helpful and honest in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuliano M, Direttore at Hotel Bucintoro, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear customer,
first of all I offer you my sincerest apologies for not being able, apparently, to make entirely satisfactory your stay in our Hotel.
The inconvenience felt by you , was due to the rupture of the main motor of the heating,
thing of all for us, unpredictable and temporary defect, that has been repaired completely so that the showers, as the rooms are now hot and everything is working at full capacity.
in the moment of unease, you have to believe that we have tried in every way to alleviate the 'inconvenience for customers and the concierge was always willing to listen to complaints and find solutions; thought we had done our best, but apparently not we did it at all.
Besides, you didn't make us understand your discontent and didn't give us a way to help you.
At the same time we are proud to have received your praise both for the overall service, the staff and the background of our Hotel
We will therefore pleased, you come back, as our guest to be able to confirm our professionalism
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice location, rooms are very well appointed, staff are very good. Major problem is the rooms are cold (heating does not work) and the showers are just warm at best (showers on our last night, I would describe as cold). Very uncomfortable not to be able to warm up after a cool night in Venice. Even the hotel lobby and common rooms are cold. There is clearly a problem in the hotel yet no one has approached us (instead, they are just ignoring it and hoping no one complains...not my style). Another major problem is the wifi continually drops out (in fact it dropped out before i could finish this review). Not good enough for these times. Not happy.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Hoath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived late evening after several delays thanks to BA. Spirits were raised significantly when shown to our amazing room. The view was incredible, with the Grand Canal and waterfront right in front of us. Great place to stay, staff very welcoming, breakfast good (unlike to rest of the food we ate during our stay!), and it was excellent. A real find, hope they keep their high standards up and don't let things slip. Thanks.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view. We were on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Bucintoro and can only confirm previous reviews that it really is an excellent place to stay in Venice. The view from our room (302) was classic - straight across to the belltower, Doges Palace and St. Marks, and lagoon views too ! The view was so gorgeous that we found ourselves glued to it at times, especially early morning with the floaty light as the sun came up over Venice.

Our room was very nicely decorated, loved the dark wood and marble, plenty of storage spaces tucked away rather like in a boat we thought (there is a nautical theme running through the hotel as the name of the hotel suggests). Good rain shower in the bathroom, plus quality fixtures and fittings.

Everything in the hotel is very clean and tidy, and you get the impression a lot of care goes into keeping things tip top.

Staff - all completely charming and helpful no matter how trivial the enquiry.

Location - excellent, only 5-10 minutes walk from St. Marks along the waterfront, away from the intense crowds which can be overwhelming, on the lagoon which is interesting with all the nautical comings and goings, close to restaurants for the evening, and near a more authentic locals area around Via Garibaldi which gave you a flavour of how local people live in Venice.

Highly recommended, we will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a great spot to experience the best of Venice. This hotel is close to everything and has stunning views. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom even nicer! Lot´s of marble. The staff here are very friendly and when suggesting where to eat one night they were very patient with my husband (who can be a bit slow at picking up directions!). We had water taxis and cruise ships passing by our window which was fun to watch and St.Marks square is like literally 8 minutes away walking. The breakfast was much better than we could have imagined with fresh breads and pastries and fruit and we didn´t need to eat much for the rest of the day till the evening! Good service, nice atmosphere and we had a really special time staying here in Venice. We would stay here again and that is probably the best way of saying just how good it is.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay here! Great location. Amazing service! There was a problem with the hot water in our room and Stefano quickly took care of it and upgraded us to a suite. This place is class, cozy, and well worth the money! An absolutely awesome experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#17 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Orologio
#14 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Property: Hotel Bucintoro
Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing