We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #147 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Budget Choice”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After hyperventilating over the cost of hotels in Venice, we were relieved to find this option and prepared to endure some discomfort to economize. On the advice of other reviewers, we stayed in a deluxe annex room with ensuite bath and were very happy with our choice. The room was large, aggressively but tastefully floral, and relatively quiet considering we slept with open windows. The bathroom was clean but smelled — maybe because of the standing water in the floor drain, and maybe this is a common Venice issue. Hotel staff were perfunctory but always helpful. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the coffee was divine. Wifi was hit and miss in the annex, so we got in the habit of checking e-mail over breakfast in the main building. We are walkers and found it quite doable to walk to the Giardini and Arsenale for the Biennale, and to the train station when we departed (allow time to lift your suitcase up and down many bridge steps). We had a couple of good, inexpensive meals at the almost-next-door restaurant that I think is owned by the same family. Unless the plusher hotels halve their prices, we will stay here agin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woollymammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
dear guest,
grazie mille for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    402
    157
    42
    31
See reviews for
184
399
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were anticipating a family run type operation but did not get that feeling -- no morning greeting by the owners and light, friendly conversation at some point. Most, if not all, our interactions were with staff. The lady on the desk in the evening who greeted us when we arrived was friendly and helpful. Other staff did their job but did not add to the experience. In a bigger hotel, I would not think twice about this, but it just seemed a miss in this small, intimate environment that promotes it is family run. Our room was as expected and did the job. There was a problem with the toilet constantly running at first. I reported this to the person on duty and was told it is a known issue and they would fix it the next day. The next day it was still not fixed and so I told a gentleman who I believe is the owner. It was fixed when we returned that day. It was only slightly annoying and did not affect our stay.
I did not see any information booklet in the room, which would have been nice since there are things that would be good to know. In particular, I was told all the doors are locked between 1:00am and 7:00am and we would require a key to exit between these time, which we did get and use. This raised some concern for me that we had been "locked in". In an email exchange after the fact, I was told that there are emergency doors you can exit without a key that trigger an alarm which sounds. Specific instructions in each room concerning this would be good.
Overall, it was a good location and met our needs at the right price. If it were a little more guest friendly, my rating would be higher.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
dear guest,
we always try to be very friendly and kind, sometime especially in hight season, we are really busy but it doesn't mean we do not care.
In our free maps we suggests which sites to visit and there are several itineraries depending on the days people are staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We followed the helpful signs from the Ca'd'Oro stop to the hotel to check in and were informed that we would be staying in the annex two blocks away. Fine, but why couldn't they have informed us ahead of time? It created a feeling of immediate disappointment. The man who greeted us walked us there (after placing the prosecco we ordered in a bucket of lukewarm water) and directed us up two flights of stairs with all our luggage, never offering to help. When we reached our room he explained no details (except that breakfast was in the main hotel from 8-10), and I had to ask him to explain the set of 4 keys he gave us for the 3 doors we needed to unlock in order to get to our room. We eventually discovered the wi-fi password when we happened upon the wi-fi explanation sheet in the "lobby" of our annex. There was very little information in our room, except a sheet on a desk explaining how to use the heat. The fire evacuation route posted near the door seemed to highlight a different room than the one we stayed in. We checked out early in the morning (6:30) on our way to the airport, and the lobby is not 24 hours. We rang the bell and the same man who showed us to our room opened the door and admonished us for not reading the materials posted in the room explaining we should have checked out the night before. We partook in the breakfast one of our mornings, it was the least impressive of all our hotel breakfasts-very little variety, but fine enough. Overall our experience was disappointing and we would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FiercelyIndependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
dear Guest,
we are really sorry if you felt disappointed.
We are sorry for the complaining of our staff, we will find out who was working that day and we will speak with them.
Our hotel is a 2 stars hotel, so we do not offer some services you were aspected to.
We do not offer a porter service, but if we see some people with difficulties with their luggage we always try to help them. Moreover our lobby during the day is always opened and our receptionist is really helpful with all the questions our guests have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not a chain, but a little family-run hotel tucked in a narrow street in a great location. We had a standard room in the main hotel: the room was small, but not unusually so for Europe; we are average-sized Americans and we felt we had plenty of room! The room, including the bathroom, was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was good with plenty of hot water. The wi-fi was great - much better than we usually encounter even in corporate hotels. I wish we had recorded the name of the friendly, professional woman who staffed the front desk during the day - she was very helpful, to the extent of helping us haul our luggage to our third-floor room when she saw that one of us had an injury. Our one caveat is that, like many older properties, it is not soundproof. When visiting cities, we always travel with earplugs: that's all it takes for a good night's sleep and a great stay. One more note: the hotel's website offers excellent directions to find the hotel from the train station. When you're travel-drained and tired, that is very helpful.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have mobility issues, you might want to avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasualFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
dear guest,
thank you so much for your opinion.
the young lady's name is Santina, she is very happy to read your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights in an annex room (shared bathroom). Wonderfully quiet location, with a comfortable double bed. The room was tastefully furnished, but a bit overcrowded which made it hard to move around. There are quite a lot of stairs leading up to the annex, so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Bedroom & bathroom were very clean. Fresh bath towels were provided but not changed during our stay. No hand towel or bath mat.

The wifi was patchy, and unusable for long periods of time.

Overall we had a good stay. We appreciated having breakfast provided, and loved the location as it was central, yet quiet. Would definitely stay here again, as it was very good value for money in Venice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
dear guest,
thank you, we are happy to know that you felt comfortable with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

location is close to rialto bridge and good restaurants. rooms were huge and clean as we were upgraded to the annex. breakfast was average with limited choices, most of the pastries are sweet. the wifi was not functional on one of the nights and the annex, instead of fixing the connection, we were told to walk over on a freezing night to the main building to use the wifi. when asked if we could turn on the heater, we were told that the system was centralized and to cover up ourselves with more blanket instead. there were mosquitoes at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
dear guest
thanks for your nice review.

We are sorry if the wifi didn't work very well, but the modems are machine, and sometimes they broke or have problems. So the best solution we could offer you is to use our connection and computer at the main hotel, so you could connect.

About the heating, again, we did the best we could giving you more blankets, in Italy by low we can't open the eating as we please, it is centralized, there is a policy we have to respect in order to be sustainable.
About the mosquito, they live when it is hot, we highly recommend our guests to keep always the windows closed because Venice is an island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ahh beautiful Venice. This is one of the few places that completely meet everyone's expectations, so matter how lofty. It's really just as gorgeous and breathtaking as you imagined it would be. Real estate here though, is probably premium and hotel prices are steep, steep, steep. Hotel Bernardi offers a smokin' deal that won't completely kick your budget in the teeth. We opted for the double room without a private bathroom (70 euros/night I think). Awesome price, but sharing a bathroom is reminiscent of college or hostel days, and not in a good way. A tip - keep your windows closed and use the AC - mosquito are plentiful (durrrr given all the stagnant water)! Very convenient location, walking distance to Santa Lucia, and you'll have no problems getting to any tourist attraction from here. Overall, totally worth the price but spring for a private bathroom if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrillhouse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
dear guest,
many thanks for your review. We appreciate your tips for other travelers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#244 of 386 in Venice
72 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#108 of 386 in Venice
459 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#82 of 386 in Venice
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#102 of 386 in Venice
398 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 386 in Venice
323 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#163 of 386 in Venice
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Property: Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing