We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #147 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Surabaya
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

walking from st lucia to this hotel was easy and interesting: so many shops along the street
close to rialto, which means not far from san marco: we could go back to the hotel to rest a while in the afternoon
annex building was very quiet
allesandro at the reception was very kind and he speaks good English too
the room price included breakfast: good enough to start the day!
the triple room was super huge and the bathroom was super clean
for 104 euros a night: this was a real bargain in Venice
tip: buy your stuff in the morning / afternoon. by 6 pm the nearby "supermarket" (not coop) closes for business

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaySiauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
grazie for your post, we really appreciate the words you spent on us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    415
    162
    42
    32
See reviews for
190
414
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Central location with great value, especially since Venice accommodation costs can be horrendous. Annex room with A/C was so welcome during a heat wave when we arrived. Clean with wonderful bathroom, lots of towels. Easy walking to many attractions and restaurants. We love browsing all the little cobble stoned side streets. Santina was a great help before and during our stay with restaurant suggestions, directions, etc. Breakfast was good. I would come again.
Only con was that for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed, we had a drunk guest next to us, and he kept us awake until the wee hours of the morning, both nights. The first night I pounded on the wall, to no avail, and the second night, I actually went in to the hall and knocked on the door. Quiet after that. There was no staff downstairs, so they didn't know, but I was told that I could have called them, and they would have dealt with it. You always hope that you don't have to do that. The 3rd day, as they were leaving, the man apologized to my husband. Says he was overexcited on
vacation. I don't blame the hotel, but if it happened again I would call someone...to save our sleep.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are quieter....without noisy drunk guys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your comment.

we feel sorry for the situation, sometime not all the clients are able to respect the few implicit rules of sleeping in a Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel: it was clean and neat, the location was great with main city attractions nearby (eg, Rialto bridge), many restaurants and shops are right there. The staff was very nice and helpful (we were initially lost when we first got to Venice, so I called the desk and they explained in detail how to get there). Room was very nice too, a bit smaller than expected, but very clean, an A/C was working properly. The hotel was certainly worth the money for us.

One thing I have to mention: there was no elevator, so you have to use a staircase. Also, the hotel is located on the very small street which you have to enter in from the bigger street (Strada Nuova) and it's near SS Apostoli Place. If you are arriving to the city via Piazzale Roma, you should take the vaporetto to Ca d'Oro and it's relatively easy to find your way from there; or you can simply cross the Canal Grande and walk about 20 mins to the hotel and admire the city at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Tanya,
thank you for your feedback.
We are really happy that you appreciate our cleanliness because it is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really like the Bernardi. It's very clean and well organised and in a great location. The annexe is very quiet at night with good air con and pleasant rooms.
The Osteria opposite is good as is Casa Mia just a bit along. The S.Apostoli square is a good place to sit by the canal with something from the other Osteria in the Square. All the area up to F Nove is a great break from the San Marco crowds.
Breakfast is basic but more than adequate. Ideal if you like to be somewhere different, and a bit cheaper.
The site is a bit cramped but that goes with the location. One small point..it would be nice to be greeted on arrival rather than just the" passports please" that we got.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are a little more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimleamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
grazie mille for your post. We are glad to read that you choose the Bernardi for the 5th time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice hotel with everything we needed and private with nice communal lounge area. Excellent value for money as Venice is extremely expensive. Main entrance of street and staircase area needs some work, but when you go into the apartments they are nicely decorated in period furniture. Would stay here again as great location for seeing Venice. Breakfast was aweful and we had some toast and cereal just because we were hungry. The breakfast staff were not welcoming at all. Also the breakfast is located a short walk from the apartments which I didnt mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuesyQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive comment.

We are working to improve out breakfast, so thank you for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Since it has been a very long time since I booked such rooms with shared toilet and shower I was naturally quite apprehensive doing it with this hotel but still did for the reasons that such rooms were the only ones left, were very affordable (for Venice) and the hotel had excellent reviews overall. Well, no regrets whatsoever in spite of the fact that all such rooms were on the ground floor (noisier than the rest, plus the communal showers were in the higher floors). The hotel management seems to value cleanliness a great deal and that shows. Also, both cable TV and wireless internet worked perfectly from my room plus there is a nice working fan which keeps the room airy enough. For an unpretentious two star hotel this for me was a satisfying experience even though I was quick to move to a more "upscale" room (and hotel): Self contained and with A/C for a warm city such as Venice. Worth adding that the hotel location is quite good for sightseeing and if you have a hard time finding it, it is probably worth knowing that it is very near the only McDonald in Venice!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seem more inviting (and more self-contained but cost more.... of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madjid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Grazie mille,
we really appreciate the time and the words you dedicated to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed only for one night and I had a private room with shared bathroom which I should say it was cleaned.
In general taking into account the price and the place it was very nice and people were also very nice.
I would suggest this Hotel.
If I'll go back to Venice => I WILL STAY THERE :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Olta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
dear guest,
thank you for your post, we are happy that you would come to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#151 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#171 of 385 in Venice
525 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
356 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
792 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#96 of 385 in Venice
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Property: Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#128 Family Hotel in Venice
#152 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing