We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #141 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really like the Bernardi. It's very clean and well organised and in a great location. The annexe is very quiet at night with good air con and pleasant rooms.
The Osteria opposite is good as is Casa Mia just a bit along. The S.Apostoli square is a good place to sit by the canal with something from the other Osteria in the Square. All the area up to F Nove is a great break from the San Marco crowds.
Breakfast is basic but more than adequate. Ideal if you like to be somewhere different, and a bit cheaper.
The site is a bit cramped but that goes with the location. One small point..it would be nice to be greeted on arrival rather than just the" passports please" that we got.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are a little more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimleamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
grazie mille for your post. We are glad to read that you choose the Bernardi for the 5th time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 946 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice hotel with everything we needed and private with nice communal lounge area. Excellent value for money as Venice is extremely expensive. Main entrance of street and staircase area needs some work, but when you go into the apartments they are nicely decorated in period furniture. Would stay here again as great location for seeing Venice. Breakfast was aweful and we had some toast and cereal just because we were hungry. The breakfast staff were not welcoming at all. Also the breakfast is located a short walk from the apartments which I didnt mind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuesyQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive comment.

We are working to improve out breakfast, so thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Since it has been a very long time since I booked such rooms with shared toilet and shower I was naturally quite apprehensive doing it with this hotel but still did for the reasons that such rooms were the only ones left, were very affordable (for Venice) and the hotel had excellent reviews overall. Well, no regrets whatsoever in spite of the fact that all such rooms were on the ground floor (noisier than the rest, plus the communal showers were in the higher floors). The hotel management seems to value cleanliness a great deal and that shows. Also, both cable TV and wireless internet worked perfectly from my room plus there is a nice working fan which keeps the room airy enough. For an unpretentious two star hotel this for me was a satisfying experience even though I was quick to move to a more "upscale" room (and hotel): Self contained and with A/C for a warm city such as Venice. Worth adding that the hotel location is quite good for sightseeing and if you have a hard time finding it, it is probably worth knowing that it is very near the only McDonald in Venice!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms seem more inviting (and more self-contained but cost more.... of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madjid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Grazie mille,
we really appreciate the time and the words you dedicated to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed only for one night and I had a private room with shared bathroom which I should say it was cleaned.
In general taking into account the price and the place it was very nice and people were also very nice.
I would suggest this Hotel.
If I'll go back to Venice => I WILL STAY THERE :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Olta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

dear guest,
thank you for your post, we are happy that you would come to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Bernardi for two nights and we barely could sleep. We read some reviews before selecting this hotel, thus we didn't expect this to happen. The bed was so uncomfortable, it's just hard to explain. Very cheap mattress on springs base which cause a huge back pain in the morning. Furthermore, the the acoustics is so bad that you can hear everything that is happening in your neighbor rooms and stairways. Practically we had to wake up at 7am with the first people who woke up, or the cleaning service. This really harmed our vacation in Venice. I would NOT recommend to stay in Bernardi even though it's located in the heart of Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank svovaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

dear guest,
we are sorry if your stay was not as you expected.

Our mattresses respect the Italian norm, and we change them often.
About the noise, we are sorry, but Venice is built in wood, so it is not possible to find perfect soundproofing, but we will do our best to improve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location is good, the rooms are big and clean, and suitably equipped. Unfortunately that is where the positives for us ended.

The breakfast selection is the worst we have had in Europe, so if you stay here I'd recommend budgeting for a cheap McDonalds breakfast down the road as well. It consisted of one cereal (cornflakes), yoghurt, dry brioche, those packet bread/cracker things and what we call dinner rolls. They do serve tea and coffee and the waitresses are nice enough, but the breakfast was not at all satisfactory for us compared to what we have come across in every other hotel.

Despite being told via email that our room was in the main building, we were put in the annex a few mins walk away. So in addition, you had to go to the main building for breakfast.

Also in the annex building, the wifi does not work. It did not work on any of our four days. They initially told us to try it in the corridor, which still didn't work. After further enquiries we were told that they have problems with American/Australian devices. Yet they had put us in the annex anyway! So we were told that any time we wanted to use the wifi, we would have to come to the main building, which is annoying and not really acceptable when you are trying to arrange Skype times with children etc back home. So if they tell you they have got you a beautiful room in the annex, say no!! Also, the TV reception in the annex didn't work on two days.

We found the desk staff to be not overly friendly, like they really are just manning the desk.

Whilst the location is good, we wouldn't stay here again. Wifi, TV reception, and breakfast may seem like small things, but when they are all bad it really hinders the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your comment and photo.

We really are happy to know that you find our rooms large, clean and well equipped.

About the wifi, as we told you, we were sorry, we had a problem, it happens sometime that machines do no work properly and we offered you a solution.
As for as the breakfast, we are a 2 stars hotel, and if you book with us it is included in the price. we offer an Italian breakfast, coffe, milk, cereals, hot chocolate, tea, cappuccino, espresso, fresh bred, yogurt, chocolate, croissants, cakes, butter, jam...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked a standard double room but ended up with a room with 3 beds (a double and a single) in the annex, which I had thought was only for the superior rooms, so it seems that we were upgraded. Our room was clean and spacious with matching furniture. The annex is located just a short walk away from the main building (like a 2 minute walk). There was a wireless router in the annex with free internet, but we could not get our laptop to connect and were told by staff that computers from the US would not work. Not sure why. However you could go and use the internet in the lobby of the main building, and that did work fine. There is breakfast every morning in the main building. There were croissants, some type of cake/pastry, yogurt, cereal, coffee, and juice that you serve yourself.

The location is decent – close to the Rialto Bridge and close to the Ca d’Oro Vaporetto stop. It is also close to the Vaporetto stop for doing day trips to Murano/Burano, and also the stop for the Alilaguna Boat (to get to the Marco Polo airport). At night, the annex is quiet as it is not located to any restaurants/bars, but I am not sure what the situation is for the main building as that appears to be located right across from a restaurant (crowds tend to gather right outside the door with people chatting, drinking, and smoking). There is a main-ish road not too far away with a lot of shops and other food options, as well as multiple ATM’s. A few of the other reviews commented on friendliness of the staff and it seems that it does vary depending on the staff. We found some to be kind and helpful and then others to be colder and less helpful.
According to the hotel, the superior rooms are bigger and more modern. Since we never saw the rooms in the main building, I can’t comment on those – it seems to be just luck that we were upgraded for free to the annex. Reviewing some of the other traveler’s reviews though, it does seem to be the pattern that the rooms in the annex get better reviews, so it might be worth the additional 10 euros to guarantee a room in the annex.

Overall, we would stay here again. The price was the best that we could find that had a decent location and included an attached bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#94 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#232 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#97 of 385 in Venice
504 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#182 of 385 in Venice
531 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#155 of 385 in Venice
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $62 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing