We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable night in a terrific part of europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Ranked #138 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only had one night in Venice and after alot of walking and a very long day, found the hotel comfortable and functional. Nothing outstanding, but good value.
The room was clean, with functional, with furniture and fiitings perhaps a little tired.

The bathroom again was functional but at 6 foot 4 inches tall, did find the shower a bit cramped.

To say it was hard to find would be a bit unfair as everything is hard to find in Venice, this was part of the fun of our all too short stay in Venice

. Thank you for a comfortable one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuphonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear guest,
we appreciate your opinion, thanks for saying the hotel is comfortable, functional and clean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 954 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived in Venice around 10:30am on the train from Florence. It was early but we were able to get into our room right away. We had requested the Annex since there are three of us and we needed and extra bed. The Annex, is actually a separate building about 100 meters down the road, It was a beautiful room, the bathroom was sparkling clean and the air conditioning worked well which was a blessing since it was around 75 degrees Fahrenheit. We left our bags and toured Venice. It's less than 1000 meters to pretty much anywhere in Venice. Walking around is easy if you are going to the 4 main sights as there are large street signs pointing to them and crowds following the main road. Getting anywhere different is tricky because of the narrow winding streets and finding where the bridges are. My GPS was in valuable but it always took a long time to locate us on the map and to figure which way we were facing.

Back to the hotel. We had a view of the street, not any canal or anything and there were shutters across the windows keeping out the heat, and presumably bad weather at other times of the year. So we let them shut, The breakfast was good and all that we needed. The Wi-Fi worked well for us.

On checking out we had a small misunderstanding on the room rate. We had booked online on their web site and got a confirmation of 108 Euros for the night for a triple room with bathroom. Per other trip advisor reviews we requested a canal view room in the Annex. The Annex rooms are larger. They emailed back to say this would be 135 Euros. Too much for us so we declined and asked just to go in the Annex. They said okay but didn't mention any different price. It was reasonable for us to assume it would be 108 Euros so we asked them to hold that when we went to check out and they asked for 118 Euros. After a short discussion they agreed, but I would recommend confirming your room rate when you check in. It seems that your requests for specific rooms may result in additional fees.

The misunderstanding didn't detract from our enjoyment staying there and we would return again.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are larger and some have a canal view, but double check the room rate if you make a requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Paul,
thank you very much for your post.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our annex.
we are sorry for the misunderstanding , normally we are very clear about prices and fees. In the annex we have superior rooms so they are a bit more expensive than the hotel ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I arrived and to my surprise, got upgraded to the Annex which is a separate building down the street, only to find a huge room and very clean bathroom. Walking distance from the main attractions (Rialto bridge, Piazza San Marco) and the breakfast was quite good - standard Italian fare of croissants, breads, yoghurt and coffee. Can't really ask for much more at that price!

Room Tip: The Annex is great and seems newer than the other block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Anthony
your comment makes us very happy, thanks for sharing your opinion about us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June. The place was only a few stops along the water bus. And was easy to find. The hotel is split in 2. Either in the hotel location or around the corner. We were in the other location. The place was very clean and tidy. The wifi was terrible. Only one spot in the room worked. The breakfast wasn't the best. Not much of a selection. Next to a a very good/ cheap restaurant. Venice is small so you can walk everywhere so this hotel was pretty much in the middle. All in all, a good hotel. Just needs minor improvements.

Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Julian,
thank you for the post and for the tips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The reason I rate this room higher then normally would is the location only. It was perfect for us not too far from the train station and in the middle of everything you could hope for in Venice. 

The room was noisy you could hear the room above you going to the toilet and talking ( but it's an old building)

The bed was ok but no second pillow, the service was hit and miss in reception some were super friendly and some were down night grumpy! 

The bathroom was terrifying! My partner went for a shower and said the shower was not clean!! If a man notices an unclean shower I was scared! It was full of mould and smelt if pee ( to think we paid an extra $10 euro per night for our own) The rest of the room was clean though and housekeeping came in each day.

Venice is not about the hotel though, it's an amazing place full of quirky things and it was worth overlooking a dirty bathroom and grumpy staff for the price 

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsChappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment.
i'm sorry if you stay was not as you expected.
We are a bit surprise to read your words because one of our strength is the cleaning.
For us is very important doing the cleaning and we pay many attention on it.

We always suggest our guests to advise us if they have any problem with the room, and, if possible, we can find a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You can actually walk here from the train station in about 15 minutes (but be wary there is cobble stone and steps on the bridges so pace yourself if you have a lot of luggage). We appreciated how clean this place was. Our rooms were in the Annex, a short walk from the office. You can actually have a view of the canal, but you will have to peek you head out of the window a bit to see it. The air conditioning here was by far the best we had our entire stay in Italy. It was nice to come back to a clean and cool room after a long hot day of sight seeing in Venice. It is a close walk to the Rialto bridge and not much further to the square. I was please with this place and for Venice the price and location can't be beat! The breakfast is simple...coffee and pastries nothing amazing but it was nice to have something to get your day started. Do stay here if you want a clean and safe place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mriley78753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to read that you find our place safe and clean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at this hotel for several days in late May, 2013. We stayed in the "annex". Accommodations were very clean, the room was very recently redone, as the paint on the walls was without marks, the floor unmarked and the bath tile with no marks. The room and bathroom were both large and very comfortable. The owners very accommodating. Breakfast was simple and adequate. Great value and good location. I would definitely stay there again. It and all other hotels are hard to find in the maze of streets. I could never find a street name posted, so even if you have a map with street names, it doesn't do any good. If you walk from the train station along the "main" walk-way, you cross 5 bridges, then the walk-way gets wide (when compared to width of some of the way you have just walked pasted), and then you get to a "plaza" with a well about 8 feet in diameter in the middle and a small hardware store with green awning just as you enter the "plaza". .. go on a sidewalk, along the side of the plaza with the hardware store, away from the grand canal and when the walkway begins to get narrow, turn left down a narrow pathway between the buildings, the hotel entrance is about 1/2 way to the next block along this narrow pathway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are happy to read that you enjoyed Venice and your room. thank you for your post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
374 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#102 of 387 in Venice
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#143 of 387 in Venice
336 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 387 in Venice
538 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 387 in Venice
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 4366 | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $61 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing